We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome awaits.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

and this is what we received on arrival. The Inn used to be a Bank and has retained many of the fine old features, Our room was decorated and furnished to a superior standard with very big bed and spacious bathroom. The breakfasts were very, very good, the fruity or nutty porriage with honey and cream was exceptional , my favourite was the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - best I every tasted.
We had planned this short break to co-incide with my husband's birthday, and Leontine helped make it more memorable with a little surprise which was very much appreciated..

Leontine's knowledge of the area in terms of us getting the best from our short stay was invaluable, her customer care is second to none.

Next door is the Dufferin Arms, a very popular local bar and restaurant,, and again we were make to feel very welcome. The food was delicious with local sourced ingredients, (try the langustines). My husband enjoyed his birthday dinner, a big thank you to the staff at the Dufferin Arms for putting up a banner, providing a little cake with a candle and everyone sang happy birthday. The bar is renowned for its live music, and we had three of the best nights ever, listening and joining in with some of the best muscians in Northern Ireland, Tom, Michael, Charlie and I think Wayne to name but a few.

A big thank you to everyone for the hospitality shown to us , we will certainly be back to stay in the Dufferin Coaching Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yakpakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Dufferin Coaching Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

Room G is beautiful: spacious and pretty with its own sitting room. The breakfast is fantastic; there are lots of options, and I'm always happy to find porridge on the menu. The Dufferin Arms, just next door, serves great evening meals, even on Sunday. Killyleagh is small, but there's a shop for any little things you might need, and it's very pleasant to stroll along the edge of the lough, a short distance from the B&B. Leontine is a helpful, cheerful and energetic host; her friendly, gentle dog (Tiggy) is really engaging, too. Only down side is the nighttime noise from another pub opposite the B&B; shouting/singing penetrates the windows, but if you're a sound sleeper, it's no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Always made so welcome and Leontine really looked after me, made sure my room was warm on my return at night and provided a fabulous breakfast to set me up for the day. Beautiful rooms makes this a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Just back from a weekend trip to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Were recommended Dufferin Coaching Inn as a quiet break and were not disappointed. The Inn is lovely with an old work charm, and our room extremely comfortable. Breakfast was sumptious with ingredients sourced locally - and yes,you can taste the difference! Thank you to our hostess Leontine for making our stay memorable with all of her insider information on local attractions - we'll see you again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keengardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We choose the guest house as a taste of Ireland for both our guests and ourselves. From the first contact we had good service and had no trouble with extra bookings to help the weekend become even longer and better. The rooms were all very clean and smart with very well equiped services. Everything had a place as was found exactly where you would expect it to be. The rooms were cool to start with but had good heating to help with the gentle chill of the season. When our guest arrived they were all welcomed as a group and every need was easily met. Our wedding stay was helped on so many levels from last minute emergency knapkins to help photgraphs, to the most wonderful selection of a pink cover for our youngest guests bed spread. A little princess for the day felt the same all night long. The parents of this child were blown away by the service. We also used the guest house wedding banqueting breakfast for the morning after and they easily managed a group breakfast for 21 people, (more than actually stayed at the venue)this was tasty and warm and the coffee never stopped. If you check the web site you will see our wedding without our pictures and it really is as good as it looks, we could not recomend it high enough for a relaxed wedding.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
Thank thirzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Thank you for your very kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed having you all to stay. It was a wonderful wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I went to Killyleagh in August for a wedding. We stayed at the Dufferin for several nights. The location was perfect, as the wedding was held at Killyleagh Castle which was just up the street from the Inn. We picked the smallest room (something we probably wouldn't do again) and it was very clean and comfy. The common area was inviting and we loved sitting on the big couch as we did our postcards. There aren't enough "wow's" to describe the breakfasts. The first morning we had the traditional fry which was delicious. The other mornings we didn't go quite so overboard but loved every bite. The hospitality and friendliness are things we will always remember.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liberty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. It is always a thrill to know that guests have enjoyed their stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

we were delighted to stay at this b&b. It was truly a breath of fresh air compared to most other b&b's in northern ireland. It was very clean, bright and airy and welcoming. The room we had was large and spacious with a gorgeous bathroom. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the bathroom had fresh white towels. It was just great. Thoroughly recommend this place to stay. The actual town also was very interesting.. There was a large privately owned castle at one end of the street and a beautiful loch to explore at the other. Very friendly staff a credit to the owner. Lovely all around. Beautiful large function room at the rear, very intimate and just gorgeous for a wedding or similiar. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonbeames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

What a lovely review thank you for taking the time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
343 reviews
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
16.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
158 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing