We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay as ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
carrymat
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great stay as ever.”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have now stayed here several times and every time the welcome has been fantastic, the room spotlessly clean with everything you need.
The breakfast is amazing and her home made bread to die for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    32
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
39
117
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I stayed at the Dufferin Inn at the end of May for 2 nights and was extremely impressed with the room and service provided. Our room was picture perfect just like the rest of the inn itself especially the cute drawing room which greets you on entry. The best thing about our stay at the Duffering Inn apart from the friendly welcome had to be the fresh cooked breakfast each morning which came complete with home baked bread. Has my mouth watering thinking about it again!
The Inn itself is on a lovely quiet street with a great bar just next door that does the best food I've had in ages. Its location is perfect for exploring South Down with a range of activities on the doorstep. All in all highly recommended for a relaxing and friendly stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny29051984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We've just come back from a long weekend at the Dufferin Coaching Inn - we thoroughly enjoyed our time there and are already planning a return trip. We stayed in a different room to last time, and enjoyed it just as much - the room and en suite were impeccably clean and refreshed every day, nicely and comfortably appointed with soft bedlinen, generous and fluffy bath sheets and towelling robes, and the breakfasts are to die for! Given all of that, the Dufferin provides great value for money. Located right next to a warm and welcoming pub (the Dufferin Arms) and just down the road from a superb deli (Picnic) and Killyleagh Castle, it's a great place for a long weekend or longer break. We're looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebrooktrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Littlebrooktrout
Thank you for your very kind words. I am very sorry that I have taken so long to respond to you. It has been a very busy season. I was delighted to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn, also that you found it good value for money.
Hope to see you in 2012
Best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We thought the Dufferin Coaching Inn was absolutely lovely! We couldn't have had a better stay and we would recommend it wholeheartedly. Our room was immaculate, tastefully decorated and very comfortable with an excellent ensuite bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. All in all, a warm and welcoming treasure. The food at the Dufferin Arms next door is highly recommended too!
As for Killyleagh, it is a pretty and very friendly town, nestled between the stylish picture-book castle, which looks like it belongs somewhere in central Europe, and the wilder beauty of Strandford Lough and its wide clear waters.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJL1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

and this is what we received on arrival. The Inn used to be a Bank and has retained many of the fine old features, Our room was decorated and furnished to a superior standard with very big bed and spacious bathroom. The breakfasts were very, very good, the fruity or nutty porriage with honey and cream was exceptional , my favourite was the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - best I every tasted.
We had planned this short break to co-incide with my husband's birthday, and Leontine helped make it more memorable with a little surprise which was very much appreciated..

Leontine's knowledge of the area in terms of us getting the best from our short stay was invaluable, her customer care is second to none.

Next door is the Dufferin Arms, a very popular local bar and restaurant,, and again we were make to feel very welcome. The food was delicious with local sourced ingredients, (try the langustines). My husband enjoyed his birthday dinner, a big thank you to the staff at the Dufferin Arms for putting up a banner, providing a little cake with a candle and everyone sang happy birthday. The bar is renowned for its live music, and we had three of the best nights ever, listening and joining in with some of the best muscians in Northern Ireland, Tom, Michael, Charlie and I think Wayne to name but a few.

A big thank you to everyone for the hospitality shown to us , we will certainly be back to stay in the Dufferin Coaching Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yakpakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Room G is beautiful: spacious and pretty with its own sitting room. The breakfast is fantastic; there are lots of options, and I'm always happy to find porridge on the menu. The Dufferin Arms, just next door, serves great evening meals, even on Sunday. Killyleagh is small, but there's a shop for any little things you might need, and it's very pleasant to stroll along the edge of the lough, a short distance from the B&B. Leontine is a helpful, cheerful and energetic host; her friendly, gentle dog (Tiggy) is really engaging, too. Only down side is the nighttime noise from another pub opposite the B&B; shouting/singing penetrates the windows, but if you're a sound sleeper, it's no problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Always made so welcome and Leontine really looked after me, made sure my room was warm on my return at night and provided a fabulous breakfast to set me up for the day. Beautiful rooms makes this a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Property: Dufferin Coaching Inn
Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing