We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Delightful guesthouse”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Leontine, the owner, was gracious welcoming and kind. We had a short but most enjoyable stay in this lovely guesthouse where both Leontine and her staff made us feel completely at home and nothing appeared to be too much trouble.
Our room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the water hot.
Breakfast the following day was made with local produce and was excellent.
Having found this little gem, we shall be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinEyeforDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Hi DublinEyeforDetail. Thank you for your lovely review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Hope you enjoyed The Titanic Experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn in the not too distant future
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    32
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
117
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed at the Dufferin Coaching Inn with my fishing friend, during the Killyleagh Fly Tying Festival, and were made welcome by Leontine, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our accomodation was warm and comfortable, and the breakfast was wonderfull, good quality produce, wholesome and filling. My friend and I had a fantastic time in Killyleagh during our weekend, and would highly recommend the Dufferin Coaching Inn to all who value comfort and hospitality, not to mention the "Craic" !!! Looking forward to next year already !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Hello Stanley A. The Fly Fishing weekend was a thoroughly enjoyable few days. Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I hope you are enjoying the Dufferin Coaching Inn home made Muesli now that you have the recipe. Look froward to welcoming you back to the Inn next year. Until then Happy Fishing
Best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

On June 1&2 we stayed in this lovely inn. The owners were courteous, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious. The pub next door was full of friendly village people and farmers who made us feel at home with their folk and blues music. The dinner next door was delicious! We highly recommend this inn for travelers who want to enjoy the Ard's Peninsula, the friendly people and who want a taste of beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank binnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Hi Claireven
We are all delighted with your lovely review about your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn and Killyleagh. Do come back soon.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

This was my third stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn, this time in room B. Lovely warm welcome by Leontine on arrival, large big bedroom with a four poster bed, comfortable en suite bathroom (with a large bath!), both very nicely decorated and well appointed (and of course, scrupulously clean). I can recommend the full Ulster breakfast, but also the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, and nothing was too much trouble. One small caution - be aware that Room B is at the front of the building, and therefore you do get to hear some street noise. But the pub next door is so friendly and welcoming, you'll probably be in there most of the evening anyway ... I love Killyleagh and the Dufferin Coaching Inn is a special part of the experience there - I'll definitely be back again for a fourth stay and hopefully many more!

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank littlebrooktrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Hi Littlebrooktrout
We very much appreciate you taking the time to feed back on your recent stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn and delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much that you have returned 3 times. Hope to see you again soon.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a wonderful overnight stay in the Dufferin inn.
We were warmly welcomed by the owner Leontine.She booked a table for us in the restaurant next door,where we had a first class meal.We stayed in one of the larger rooms,it had the right combination of comfort,quaintness and modernity.The following morning we enjoyed a freshly cooked Ulster fry accompanied by the finest coffee ever!
Our fellow guests were friendly and relaxed,their mood reflected the prevailing ambience in the inn.Although we had only travelled forty minutes from Belfast,we both felt as though we were really on holiday.The Dufferin Inn,Killyleagh and its environs have definitely much to offer.We hope to return soon.
The Lynchs from Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi to the Lynchs
I was looking at my reviews and noticed that I had not responded to the glowing review you posted in June a complete oversight on my part. I really do appreciate you taking the time to feed back on your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn in June. Do come back and see us again.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Arrived in a rush,greeted warmly and felt very comfortable and relaxed since we had to book in and be out again in 15 mins. On arrival,found we had been upgraded to a very comfy,large room with great attention to detail and everything very clean and organised. Breakfast superb,the best we have had in a long time and again attention to detail with a muesli and fruit,ready prepared to a high standard. An interesting inn in an interesting area which we hope to visit again in the future,upgrade not influencing our decision at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Hi Barbara
What a lovely review thank you. The Diamond Jubilee Celebrations went very well evryone enjoyed the evening especially the children. Do come back and see us soon you were delightful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Having enjoyed the fantastic Sea Safari on Strangford lough we had a wonderful end to the experience through our stay at this excellent, warm and friendly Inn. Leontine was welcoming and friendly; the perfect Inn keeper. I have read with interest some of the more negative comments about the Dufferin Inn...with surprise, and indeed amazement. My experience was in complete contrast to some of these negative comments...we were made feel welcome; our room was clean, warm and certainly more than adequate. The bed was, in my opinion, most comfortable and the facilities were excellent. Leontine was a very generous and pleasant host...I couldn't fault her in any way. Breakfast was first class...unhurried and of excellent standard.

My thanks to Alex & Phil for this very generous gift and for finding this gem on our doorstep. I will certainly be back to the Dufferin Inn...well done Leontine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesleydonnellstraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Hello Phil and Alex. It was lovely to meet your father he thoroughly enjoyed the Sea Safari. Thank you for writing such a positive review it made me feel quite proud to be the owner of this lovely old creaky Inn makes the hard work worth while
Kind regards
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
321 reviews
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
143 reviews
15.9 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Cuan
The Cuan
#1 of 2 in Strangford
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Property: Dufferin Coaching Inn
Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing