We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Nearby Hotels
Portaferry Hotel(Portaferry)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$477
US$447
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$203
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Denvir's Hotel(Downpatrick)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
240
35
4
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
35
4
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedulster frypub next doorb bsitting roombeautiful roomlovely breakfastguest housea lovely staywarm welcomenorthern irelandfriends weddingset us up for the dayhome from homebreakfast menugreat place to stayfeel very welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Lovely stay. Shame it was only for one night. Warm and friendly welcome and service. Beautiful room with four poster bed.Ideal stop on our road trip. Excellent food next door at the Dufferin Arms. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Hi Andrea G
Thank you for taking the time and posting such a positive review about your recent stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Do come back soon and spend a little more time here. There is loads to see do and visit in the area as well as some great restaurants, delicious food, and Craic.
All best wishes
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our group off four girls stead just one nite,,was welcomed in ,,had good spacious rooms with clean bathrooms and comfy beds,,very tasty breakfast,,home from home,, handy pub/restaurant next door :) over all good time,,perfect for couples or friends,,

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Alison S
I remember the 4 of you what delightful guests you were. Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Hopefully I will see you all again
Best wishes
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Gold medals don't come easy, it takes a lot of commitment,passion and drive to suceed.
Leontine and her team would certainly win gold in the hospitality stakes.
We have stayed at the Dufferin on many occasions and we have always been made to feel at
home (with out having to do any work! fab )
Leontines always has a warm and friendly welcome and her vibrant personality shines through.
We love the whole dufferin experience which is always relaxing and stress free.
The bar is next door were the craic and entertaiment is free. The restaurant down stairs serves excellent fare. Then back to the bar for late night entertainment after which we retire to the a wonderful comfy room which is always scrupulously clean. All rooms have leontines personal touch with period fixtures and fittings in keeping with the character of the building.
The Dufferin breakfast is excellent, using locally sourced produce. We usually opt for the Ulster Fry with scrumptious home made bread which is divine.

When its time to leave it's always with a tinge of sadness and a longing to return. When we discovered the Dufferin we thought of keeping this gem to ourselves but we realised a place as good as this has to be experienced and shared by others.
So Dufferin we award you a Team GB and NI Gold Medal Well Done!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Hi Tomtaz
I was delighted that you took the time to reflect on your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn and give us such a glowing review. "Olympic Gold" It can't get any better than that so a big thank you and see you soon
All best wishes
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed with a group for a friends wedding, it couldn't have been more perfect! The rooms were great, with everything we needed. We had the most delicious full Irish Breakfast. Leontine could not have been kinder- she even put on a later breakfast than usual knowing that we were going to have had a late night at the wedding and not feel like an early start on the Sunday! A really wonderful start to our week in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Hi Travelbug. A big thank you for your lovely review. You were a great group to have as guests full of laughter and fun. So glad that you enjoyed your stay in Killyleagh finding a warm Northern Irish Welcome waiting for you on your arrival. Thank you for taking k the time to share your experience of the Dufferin Coaching Inn with world wide web. Do come back in the not too distant future. Promise another Sunday morning lie in. A very warm welcome awaits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed last Sunday evening. An abrupt host greeted us on arrival. Felt like badly behaved children given the 'do's and dont's' made it feel like a B&B in Blackpool ! To be honest this was the worst example of Northern Ireland hospitality I have ever experienced. Not entirely sure what our party had done but we obviously had caused upset.

Rooms are ok with the usual basic facilities certainly nothing luxurious. Very clean bathroom.

Breakfast was excellent and we felt the owners mood somewhat more hospitable but the damage had been done and certainly think that it was our first and last stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Hi I regret that you found your experience of the Dufferin Coaching Inn so negative . However I feel that I was not abrupt. I greeted you at the front door and showed you around the Inn checking if you had made plans for dinner asking if you had enjoyed your day. You said you had a very enjoyable day having spent time on Strangford Lough on a sea trip. The only thing I can think that has upset you is when I explained that you had booked 2 single occupancy double rooms @£60.00 per room B&B when you completed the online booking form as I did not want you to think that I was over charging you when you settled your bill the following morning for 2 double rooms @£80.00 1 Night B&B 2 adults sharing. There really are no do's and dont's at the Inn that i can think of. Yes I did ask you if you would like to order your cooked breakfast for the following morning before you went to bed by jotting down your choices on a sheet of paper in the sitting room at the same time I also explained that it was not a problem if you decided not to pre-order maybe you felt that was not acceptable. I do feel your review is not entirely fair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews