We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great package in Main Street Killyleagh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great package in Main Street Killyleagh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our second visit here and we were not disappointed. It's difficult to separate the Coaching Inn from the pub next door. Leontine provides bed and breakfast with old fashioned style and a sure touch. Elegant and understated surroundings, great breakfasts, friendly advice and genuine understanding of, and concern for, guest's needs - without the slightest hint of a grovel.
The Dufferin Arms next door provides the chance to abandon the car for the evening and dive in. Like a box of chocolates you never know what you are going to get, who you are likely to meet or what you'll end up talking about. It'll be fun though if you go with the flow. The food is honest pub fare served by friendly folks and there's plenty of it. On the second evening of our stay a local group were practising for a concert, it was like listening to angels and cost nothing. I think Killyleagh is that kind of place. What more would you want?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelensburghGorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi HelensburghGorb
I really must say sorry for taking so long to respond to your very complimentary review. Breakfast Killyleagh style is the only way to start the day ! Quite agree with your comments about the Dufferin Arms next door.
All best wishes for 2013 and do come back and see us again soon
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    32
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
117
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MATLOCK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We have recently toured Northern Ireland and can honestly say that, in our opinion, this was the best place we stayed in.

Leontine is the perfect host making sure everything is to your liking but without intruding in any shape or form.

Our bedroom was fine in all aspects with heating available when required.

The pub next door serves good pub food and we enjoyed a marvellous evening there when local folk singers and guitarists came together.

Recommended without any reservations whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi Simply the Best wow what a lovely review. Sorry for the delay in responding to your review and thank you for taking the time to write it.
All best wishes for a happy and prosperous 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Had a really nice weekend here. Rooms very nice. Breakfast great. Really nice sitting room to sit in and chat after the busy pub next door with a big roaring fire. We brought our own bottle of wine for a night cap there. The pub next door has a restaurant downstairs and the food was excellent there too. Lovely village and really enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi I really must apologise for my tardy response to your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching inn and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the sitting room.
All best wishes for a very happy 2013
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

A group of 13 ladies on a two day golf trip stayed with Leontine Haines in The Dufferin Coaching Inn. There was a lovely roaring fire in the "common room" which was a treat. We had a great two nights- sharing sleeping- and breakfast was good. The service was extremely friendly and really good value. Great spot for a golfing/walking/relaxing weekend. We all really enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi Keithcairns
Delighted that you took the time to post such a lovely review about your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Hope to welcome you ladies back again for some more golf and craic
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Leontine couldnt have been more helpful both pre and during visit. Inn is really nice and furnishings etc lovely. Very comfortable with great fire in living room returning at night. Breakfast really good. Would recommend. Daft eddies great restaurant 15 mins away. We played golf at spa and ardglass, you could also play mahee island and royal county down if you wanted more golf. Pub next door to inn is great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi Sal
Thank you for your for such a wonderful and comprehensive review. Your group were all delightful guests and good to read that you enjoyed the golf as well as Daft Eddie's
Best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

beautiful, comfortable, clean room with plenty of historical character; parking was not a problem; Leontine, the inn keeper was extremely welcoming without being invasive. Great pub next door.
Absolutely delicious breakfast, in fact I would go back for the breakfast alone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Anonymous 762
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to post it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and found the breakfast so delicious .
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have been reading through the reviews of the past few months and with just one miserable exception they are all so very positive (and rightly so) that I am hard put to think of anything new to say. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfasts generous and excellent. Leontine is the perfect hostess, helpful, knowledgeable, witty and jolly, but never obtrusive. Our stay was delightful and we will be returning again next year. One small suggestion - what about adding kippers to the breakfast menu?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1DBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi David P
Thank you for your delightful review. It was great to get your feed back. Really good suggestion about the Kippers for breakfast. Have added fresh fish to the menu with 24 hour prior notice.
Hope to welcome you back to the Coaching Inn in the very near future
Best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 4 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
15.9 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Property: Dufferin Coaching Inn
Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing