We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nothing really that I can add to all the previous compliments - the number of 5 star reviews speaks for itself. The best reccommendation we can make is that we have just enjoyed our third stay with Leontine !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi It was great to see you both again. thank you for your continued support, and the lovely review you posted.
All best wishes for a happy and prosperous 2013
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I separately researched B & B's in Co Down and both came up with this one! We were very warmly welcomed and delighted with our room (four poster at front of building). Spacious, immaculate bedroom and lovely bathroom (although could have done with extra heating). We felt very comfortable and relaxed and if we had had more time we would have used the guest lounge as it was very welcoming. Loved the breakfast room and Irish breakfast was superb (we are experts!). Leontine was lovely & interesting to talk to and is a shining example of how to run a first class B & B - I'm not surprised that people return again, again & again. I would like to think that we will come back on one of our future trips to N Ireland.
PS Our stay was in December and we were disappointed that the adjoining pub stopped serving food at 9.15 and the only other option was 'take away' chinese! Delightful craft/gift shop - Kingfisher - at top of street is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We loved our room with four poster bed - at front of hotel, but no street noise. Plenty of space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arransue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi what a lovely example of the saying "great minds think alike" and how fortunate for me that you chose to stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post such a fabulous review. Sorry the heating was not completely effective will look into it. So glad that you enjoyed your Irish breakfast it's a great way to start the day. Do come back and see us again.
All best wishes for a happy and prosperous 2013
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. We had a lovely stay-the breakfast was sumptuous and plentiful, the electric blankets were switched on to warm up the bed in anticipation of our arrival home from the cold nights outside...the one downside is that we were unabke to check in before 4pm.However, you feel the benefit of that on the flipside when it's your turn to check out and there's no rush to get away.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinkamalinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi so sorry it's taken me so long to responds to your lovely review. thank you for taking theme to post it. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn.
All best wishes for a very happy 2013
Leonine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is such a lovely location,,it is the old ulster bank building..Leontine..the lady who owns and runs the place has done an amazing job..The room that we stayed in was to say in the least fitted out to a very very high standard...The four poster bed was one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in and Linda really enjoyed relaxing in the whirlpool bath..... The main sitting room is a lovely place to sit and chill... Leontine goes that extra little bit to make you feel so welcome and her breakfasts are absolutely delicious. Friendly,pleasant infectiously cheerful and extremely helpful are a few words i would use to describe the lovely Leontine..Both Linda and myself would highly recommend the DUFFERIN COACHING INN to anyone who would be thinking of staying in the Killyleagh area and we will definately be returning in the future

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinburrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Hi Robin and Linda.
Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for deciding to stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. It is very easy to be pleasant and well coming to two such lovely guests. So glad that you enjoyed your breakfasts and the whirlpool bath.
Come and see us again soon.
All best wishes
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our second visit here and we were not disappointed. It's difficult to separate the Coaching Inn from the pub next door. Leontine provides bed and breakfast with old fashioned style and a sure touch. Elegant and understated surroundings, great breakfasts, friendly advice and genuine understanding of, and concern for, guest's needs - without the slightest hint of a grovel.
The Dufferin Arms next door provides the chance to abandon the car for the evening and dive in. Like a box of chocolates you never know what you are going to get, who you are likely to meet or what you'll end up talking about. It'll be fun though if you go with the flow. The food is honest pub fare served by friendly folks and there's plenty of it. On the second evening of our stay a local group were practising for a concert, it was like listening to angels and cost nothing. I think Killyleagh is that kind of place. What more would you want?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelensburghGorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi HelensburghGorb
I really must say sorry for taking so long to respond to your very complimentary review. Breakfast Killyleagh style is the only way to start the day ! Quite agree with your comments about the Dufferin Arms next door.
All best wishes for 2013 and do come back and see us again soon
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We have recently toured Northern Ireland and can honestly say that, in our opinion, this was the best place we stayed in.

Leontine is the perfect host making sure everything is to your liking but without intruding in any shape or form.

Our bedroom was fine in all aspects with heating available when required.

The pub next door serves good pub food and we enjoyed a marvellous evening there when local folk singers and guitarists came together.

Recommended without any reservations whatsoever.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi Simply the Best wow what a lovely review. Sorry for the delay in responding to your review and thank you for taking the time to write it.
All best wishes for a happy and prosperous 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Had a really nice weekend here. Rooms very nice. Breakfast great. Really nice sitting room to sit in and chat after the busy pub next door with a big roaring fire. We brought our own bottle of wine for a night cap there. The pub next door has a restaurant downstairs and the food was excellent there too. Lovely village and really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi I really must apologise for my tardy response to your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching inn and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the sitting room.
All best wishes for a very happy 2013
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
113 reviews
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
366 reviews
18.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,083 reviews
13.6 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range: £73 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing