We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time in Killyleagh visiting family and a lovely 2 night stay at The Dufferin Inn. Leontine was a superb host and couldn't do enough for us and also very helpful and offering local knowledge and insight. The breakfast was lovely and rooms were very comfy and homely. Would stay again and recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dannywp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Hi Dannywp
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post such a wonderful review.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    32
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
117
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I visited the Dufferin Inn on a recent trip to Ireland. I can thoroughly recommend this place. The room was lovely, bed was so comfortable and the best breakfast I've had for a long while. Leontine the owner was friendly and helpful. Can't fault it. I walked down to the lough in the evening and hadn't felt peace and tranquility like that in a long time.Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hi Kenapple
What a lovely review thank you for taking the time to write it.
I totally agree with you about the peace and tranquility. I cam to stay in Killyleagh for a weekend break in the Inn 9yrs ago and ended up buying it.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Only stayed one night as we were just visiting a friend on a trip around Ireland. We felt very welcomed and the breakfast was great. The only downside was we weren't staying longer. Lovely little village too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hi Samantha 712. Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. Do come back and stay a bit longer the next time there is loads to do and see here.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Leontine is a great host. The Dufferin is a renovated old building with a lot of taste. The breakfast was great and it was great talking with her regarding sights to see and places to eat. We ate at the adjacent restaraunt and the food was fabulous and the people friendly. Many locals will eat there.

Room Tip: we stayed in the large double (king size bed), it fronts on the street, but we found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9345hensloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Hello
Hope you enjoyed your drive back to Dublin and have shared your wonderful Sloan ancestry
Thank you for posting such a lovely review I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Have a great time in the Baltic Islands
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Attended a wedding reception here a few days ago! The setting itself it absolutely beautiful and the staff were amazing! Felt very homely and welcoming! The room itself where the wedding reception was held was brilliant. Lovely decor and the perfect place for a wedding. The staff were fantastic aswell! It was so nice to have a chat with them and to see that it is a place where they truly value their customers and appreciate you! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hi VicN23
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was such a lovely wedding and you were all so easy to please it was a pleasure to look after you all. I have to say the craic was mighty as the amber nectar flowed. Do come back and see us again.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed in Room A for one night. The room is quaint and very comfortable and has a four poster bed and whirlpool bath. Leontine did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious - we felt very spoilt. The Inn has a lovely ambience and is a perfect place to go to relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear JDD53
Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for taking the time to post it. So glad that you were both able to Chill out at the Inn. Do come back and see us soon
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My brother was getting married at Killyleagh Castle with the reception held at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. The snow caused some issues with friends coming from England, no electricity etc etc. Leontine who runs the Coaching Inn was so friendly and helpful and given the circumstances made such an effort to ensure the day ran as smoothly as possible. My husband and I arrived late due to getting stuck in the snow and despite the fact that we were supposed to be staying over on the Friday night we were not charged. On arrival we had a lovely breakfast after our long journey. The breakfast was really lovely all freshly made and I had perfect poached eggs with wheaten bread - just lovely. The room we stayed in was great (nice decor, large and clean) and the electric blankets were a definite perk after our journey. A really fantastic and friendly place that I would definitely recommend for weddings or just a general stay to enjoy the small town of Killyleagh which is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hi BirminghamEmm
That was quick glad that you got home safely. It was an amazing weekend between the cold and electricity cuts. Yet the bride and groom and all their friends created an amazing room with quirky vintage decor and flowers. You were all such a friendly family it was a pleasure to have you all to stay. Thank you for deciding to stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn . Do come back soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
15.9 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Property: Dufferin Coaching Inn
Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing