We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a hidden jewel. The rooms were very nicely decorated and comfortable. There was a main room where guests can gather and share stories. The breakfasts were perfection and the best part is Leontine, the owner. She makes you feel like you have been friends forever.

I'll definitely be back on my next trip

Thank Daniel901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

I love this place. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are up to date and spotless.

The crowning part of the experience is the proprietor, Leontine. She is so welcoming and warm that you feel not that you are visiting but that you belong here. Her breakfasts are top notch too.

I'll definitely be back to stay on my next trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Daniel901.
Great to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn and found our breakfast tasty. I would be delighted to welcome you back.
Seasons greeting to you
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent a fantastic Saturday night at the Dufferin Coaching Inn- we stayed in room A which boasted a four poster bed, toile decoration and whirlpool bath! Having come from Belfast, which isn't very far, we felt like we had travelled to another world in terms of relaxation. Right next door to the Dufferin Coaching Inn is the Dufferin Arms. We enjoyed a delicious dinner and were entertained by the live laid back blue grass music. Rounding our getaway to a close was the lovely breakfast in the Dufferin Coaching Inn. I really liked the 3D picture in the breakfast room! Many thanks for a lovely weekend. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Jennidon
Thank you for your lovely review it was a pleasure to have you as guests. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Do come back as see us again
With best wishes for a very happy Christmas and a prosperous New Year
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Dufferin Arms Coachin Inn is an immulately presented B&B in an old bank building on a small village high street, just in the lee of Killyleagh Castle.
Very nicely furnished - our room had a 4-poster bed and rather sumptuous curtains. Nice and well appointed bathroom. Very good breakfast in the morning.
Dinner was available next door in the Dufferin Arms which had a welcoming bar with good banter and served good food at reasonable prices.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place, it was a good choice.

Room Tip: Thoroughly good accommodation in a lovely location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludomcgurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write and post it. The musty smell in the Hall was as a result of me steam cleaning the carpet in the hall that morning !! but glad that it did not put you off
Regards
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Do not be put off by a slightly musty aroma in the entrance hall of this venerable building that has been a bank in its time. The rest of the building, including the spacious bedrooms are fresh and lovely. Leonine is a great hostess. She not only advised us on golf courses locally but made us a booking. Her breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write and post it. The musty smell in the Hall was as a result of me steam cleaning the carpet in the hall that morning !! but glad that it did not put you off
Regards
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at the Dufferin for 3 nights with our 4 month old baby (Erin).
We had a fantastic time over in Killyleagh visiting friends and it was enhanced by our stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn.
Room was clean comfortable and Leontine was the perfect hostess and went out of her way to help in anyway from ordering us a taxi to drying Erins baby grow & vest.
The Ulster Fry in the morning - Brilliant! Leontine's Banana bread - Amazing!

Can't say enough to do this little gem justice, we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hi Katie. Greetings from Killyleagh. Thank you for your very complimentary review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. You have a beautiful baby daughter.
All best wishes
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Dufferin for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Very welcoming, clean and comfy. Would recommend to anyone visiting Killyleagh or surrounding area. Leonine was extremely accommodating especially at breakfast where she would make it if she had it. Bed just too comfy and could have stayed in it all day

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hi Angie.
What a lovely review thank you for taking the time to post it. Comfy beds will be here when you decide to visit us again.
All best wishes
Leontine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
109 reviews
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
353 reviews
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
263 reviews
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
16.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range: £73 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing