We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault a single thing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault a single thing!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Visited this beautiful place for a wedding just last night. What a gorgeous venue! Beautifully presented with friendly, helpful staff catering to our every need. Absolutely lovely food served accompanied by ever-flowing drinks and great atmosphere. The inn has a lovely charm and character and the rooms are timelessly decorated and beautifully kept. Dinner and breakfast were both beautiful! A special thanks to Leontine for ensuring we were all well looked after. The staff were friendly and helpful from start to finish and everyone had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMo2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Manager at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear LisaMo2611
Wow what an absolutely fab review thank you. It was a great day despite the awful weather which everyone took in their stride. Great Bride, Groom, Family, and friends made it so easy to host such an enjoyable day.
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    32
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
117
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived in killyleagh.on street parking used. Welcomed to.the inn on a brilliant family occasion. Such a welcome.hot cider on a freezing cold wet day. Felt at home right away. Called from bar to take seats as bride and groom were ready for their entrance. Corker of soup. .squash with spice.mmmmmn.
Beef on mash with accompany of juliette parsnips & carrots. Prosecio for toasts. Red or white chardony for meal .desert was little tarts with custard.
Entertainment. THE HARD CHARGERS. Excellent day at excllent venue

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank darrierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Darrierob
So glad you enjoyed the wedding reception on Saturday. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Posh Nosh produced a delicious meal. It was a very enjoyable day for all of us the Dufferin Coaching Inn the Bride and Groom are such a lovely couple have great family and friends
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

While visiting family near Killyleagh we had a wonderful night at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Leontine made us so very welcome, and was exceptionally accommodating and helpful. We had a delicious early dinner in the great pub next door, and then saw in the new year lounging on the sofa in the lovely sitting room in front of the fire so kindly lit for us earlier in the evening.
Our bedroom was spacious and very comfortable: the lovely bed and bedding making it hard to get up in the morning despite being usual early risers!
Leontine very kindly made breakfast for our family as well as ourselves, making this an extra special new years day morning that we were able to spend with people we love who we don't often see.
We travel a lot, and generally stay in larger hotels, but our new year at the Dufferin was one of the best times.
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Alan
Please excuse the delay in responding to your lovely review I thought I had already posted a reply.Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. It was a pleasure having you to stay
All best wishes
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I'm from Killyleagh originally and it was interesting to find myself back in the town but not staying with family. The Dufferin Coaching Inn proved the perfect alternative. The welcome was warm (many thanks Leontine), the room comfortable and the breakfast oh so good (especially the home-baked bread). The free wi-fi was a welcome bonus. Having discovered this great wee home from home, I look forward to staying there again on my future visits to the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi Ludomcgurk
What a lovely review thank you for your very kind words and, for taking the time to post a review.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Dufferin Coaching Inn in 2014
Happy New Year
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay in one of the large rooms at the Dufferin. The bed was super comfy and the room was filled with light with windows in both the bedroom and the bath. The breakfast was delicious and extremely filling. The location was super for exploring the area. We had two disappointments. Initially when we arrived, we could not raise the proprietor to get in, despite repeatedly pushing the bell. We finally found another door open through the breakfast room and went in and raised her via her phone. The second disappointment was the that the Pub next door had a big sports day that Sunday, so they abruptly closed the kitchen early....before we ate. This caused us to have to regroup and select an alternative outside of the area since there are truly any other options. This was surprise to the owner of the Dufferin, of course, and certainly not her fault. However, since she was again not around, we had to check out options ourselves. Overall, though, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you are there on a Sunday, check out other options for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank natemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Natemom
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I too am disappointed that you found some many disappointing situations during your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. I am not sure what happened on your arrival as I am always around from 3pm to let guests in I obviously didn't hear the door bell. Re: Restaurants in the near vicinity to Killyleagh there is a folder on the table in the siting room with lots of information about where to eat. I can only apologise for the lack of welcome on your arrival and not being around to sort out a Restaurant for you.
Happy Holidays
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a hidden jewel. The rooms were very nicely decorated and comfortable. There was a main room where guests can gather and share stories. The breakfasts were perfection and the best part is Leontine, the owner. She makes you feel like you have been friends forever.

I'll definitely be back on my next trip

Helpful?
Thank Daniel901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I love this place. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are up to date and spotless.

The crowning part of the experience is the proprietor, Leontine. She is so welcoming and warm that you feel not that you are visiting but that you belong here. Her breakfasts are top notch too.

I'll definitely be back to stay on my next trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathnew, Owner at Dufferin Coaching Inn, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Daniel901.
Great to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn and found our breakfast tasty. I would be delighted to welcome you back.
Seasons greeting to you
Leontine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
15.9 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Property: Dufferin Coaching Inn
Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing