We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas Home for Christmas with family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Christmas Home for Christmas with family.”
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Finally the family arrived for a special all together Christmas and Killyleagh with the Dufferin Coaching Inn provided the complete thanks for coming package. It was truly glorious. Shimmering waters of the Lough to the left, misty coated Castle Turrets to the right, fire in the grate with squishy sofas luring you to sit and relax, Leontine had the Christmas spirit warming all arrivals, rooms delicously welcoming, big baths and wonderful towels. This was exactly how we had hoped it would be and it surpassed our imaginings. In fact we were reluctant to leave, journeys to far sides of the world and all loved the Christmas of 2008. A memory to keep. Thank you Leontine, your hospitality was a gift.

  • Liked — The total package
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dogdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    32
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
39
117
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We discovered the Dufferin Coaching Inn quite by accident approximately a year ago when we were looking for somewhere special to escape to. Since then we have returned many times and intend to continue visiting this wonderful place.
We have travelled quite extensively, throughout Ireland and abroad. We normally stay in 4 star plus accommodation and although the Dufferin has a 3 star rating We believe it to be much better. We love the ambience that Leontine has created, with beautiful furnishings, tasteful decor, which is in keeping with the age and style of the building, ie high ceilings and period features. Everything has always been spotlessly clean.
We have stayed in 3 different rooms and have not been disappointed by any of them. Room A is our favourite with a divine whirlpool bath and gorgeous fluffy towels.

Leontine is we believe the perfect hostess, welcoming, attentive and just so easy to converse with. She had made each visit as special as the one before.

Breakfast in the morning is excellent with home made breads and all locally sourced produce being used. Scrummy!


The pub next door is a traditional pub with a great atmosphere, The locals are very friendly and welcoming.
There is entertainment Friday and Saturday nights, blue grass, folks and traditional Irish Music on Saturday afternoons. Jazz on Sundays.
We normally have a meal in the Cellar Restaurant downstairs, again we have yet to be disappointed. Excellent fresh produce, juicey steaks cooked to perfection, fresh seafood from Strangford Lough, Its heaven!.

All in all we feel this a wonderful place to get away from it all, relax and just chill out.

  • Liked — Everything !
  • Disliked — Whats to dislike!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This house was built in 1803. The floorboards creak, the windows rattle when the wind blows but it is full of character. I had a good night's sleep in a comfortable four poster bed. It is on the main street in the quaint village of Killyleagh with the castle just a few steps away and a view of Strangford Loch in the other direction. Leontine was very hospitable and welcoming. A good breakfast to boot.

  • Liked — Charm and character
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laretal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northern
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2009

My wife and I had our belated wedding party in the Coaching Inn after a romantic wedding in Crete.
Well this was topped by our wedding party and stay at the Coaching Inn, when all our relations and friends "took "over the inn ,all the fabulous rooms ,and the banquet hall,the food and breakfasts were of very high standard.
We couldnt have been looked after better than by the owner Leontine especially the children and all their needs.Nothing was left to chance and the attention to detail unsurpassed ,as seasoned travellers it was great to get such personal and informative attention for a change!
Well if this is County Down,s hospitality ,its at its best and we shall return ,also the crack next door in the Dufferin Arms was great especially the Sat afternoon Irish session ,where we nearly lost our guests to the demon drink before the party got really started.Thanks again Leontine for a fabulous time.

  • Liked — friendly first rate service
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheNorthernJaunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Dufferin Coaching Inn for one night during our recent trip to Northern Ireland and have only good things to say about this place!

We received a very warm welcome by Leontine and she very kindly upgraded us to the larger double room which had a very comfortable four-poster king size bed! (we booked the smaller room at £50 per night but a single guy had made a booking shortly after us, thinking we would make better use of the larger double room with a four-poster bed, Leontine put him in the smaller room and upgraded us at no extra cost - should be £70 per night!).

The B&B has a beautiful setting in this small town with Killyleagh Castle towering over the High Street where the Dufferin Coaching Inn is located. This B&B is immaculately presented with lots of attention to detail and we had a very comfortable stay. The room we stayed in was a very good size and the towels were soft & fluffy!

Leontine asked us what time we would like breakfast and when we arrived in the breakfast room it was lovely and bright with an Easter theme! The breakfast was really lovely, couldn't have asked for more!

I would highly receommend this B&B to anyone! I think it is unfair for someone to discourage people to stay at a place based on a telephone call!

  • Liked — Very comfortable with a great breakfast!
  • Disliked — It was all good, there was nothing I didn't like or enjoy about this place!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

After reading reviews on some other websites I feel the need to share with Tripadvisor my disgust at this hotel.

If you read said other reviews they mention the owner Leontine and how welcoming she is. I'm not sure if "Leontine" has had a personality transplant since these reviews were written but after speaking to her on the phone I am LIVID!!!

She was rude, abrupt, accused me of being allusive when I was merely trying to explain a problem. When I asked if she had certain information with regards to a stay at her hotel she said she didn't have this. One minute later, she did have this... When she put the phone down she walked away and said "bloody hell" which is unbelievably unprofessional.

My colleague rang the hotel back to acquire the name of the manager and Leontine IS the manager. She was just as rude to her!

If I was you, I would not go near this hotel let alone stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
9 Thank NFowkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
15.9 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Property: Dufferin Coaching Inn
Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing