We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I went to Killyleagh in August for a wedding. We stayed at the Dufferin for several nights. The location was perfect, as the wedding was held at Killyleagh Castle which was just up the street from the Inn. We picked the smallest room (something we probably wouldn't do again) and it was very clean and comfy. The common area was inviting and we loved sitting on the big couch as we did our postcards. There aren't enough "wow's" to describe the breakfasts. The first morning we had the traditional fry which was delicious. The other mornings we didn't go quite so overboard but loved every bite. The hospitality and friendliness are things we will always remember.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liberty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at the Dufferin Coaching Inn. It is always a thrill to know that guests have enjoyed their stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

we were delighted to stay at this b&b. It was truly a breath of fresh air compared to most other b&b's in northern ireland. It was very clean, bright and airy and welcoming. The room we had was large and spacious with a gorgeous bathroom. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the bathroom had fresh white towels. It was just great. Thoroughly recommend this place to stay. The actual town also was very interesting.. There was a large privately owned castle at one end of the street and a beautiful loch to explore at the other. Very friendly staff a credit to the owner. Lovely all around. Beautiful large function room at the rear, very intimate and just gorgeous for a wedding or similiar. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonbeames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

What a lovely review thank you for taking the time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked the Dufferin Coaching Inn for our anniversary. We were warmly welcomed from the minute we arrived, Leontine was a fantastic and friendly host.
Our room was spotless as was the whole Inn. We were given a front door key and told to come and go as we please which was great! As for breakfast you can choose when you want it instead of being forced to eat at 8 in the morning like most places we have stayed! The breakfast was amazing with so much choice and everything was freshly prepared, even the bread for toasting was home baked! I would easily say it was one of the best Ulster frys we have had! (and I have had many!)
To top it off we had beautiful weather and Killyleagh is a great place.
We will definately be recommending this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R79NSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

I read your review with great pride. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

A warm welcome, friendly & helpful proprietor, lovely building, clean & tastefully decorated rooms, (some have separate sitting rooms) excellent beakfast - try the smoked salmon! Situated about 30 minutes from Belfast & close to Strangford Lough with its beautiful, interesting scenery. Fully recommended by our family group!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

All I can say is thank you for a great review. It is always inspiring to know that guests have enjoyed themselves and feel happy to recommend the Dufferin Coaching Inn in such a nice way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

As the other reviews say, this place is amazing.
A truly warm reception awaits you, very clean rooms and a fantastic breakfast.
Great location and easy (free) parking directly outside the door.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

Really nice to read that you had returned to the Dufferin Coaching Inn and found all was as good as your first visit. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend stay in the Dufferin Coaching Inn, Killyleagh. From the big welcome, gorgeous breakfast, comfy bed and a friendly informative host, Leontaine we just loved our weekend and will return in the future. Leontaine's hospitality is second to none, she works very hard to make the guesthouse feel more like a small boutique hotel. It is hard to fault this genuine and unpretentious guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

Many thanks for your lovely description of the Dufferin Coaching Inn. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My sister and a friend stayed here for two nights in late June. The rooms were comfortable and well-equipped. There was a large comfortable lounge where lots of information about the local area was provided. The breakfast was very tasty and there was an excellent choice.
Our hostess Leontine was full of helpful ideas about where to go. Without her guidance we would have missed the interesting village of Saintfield where there are excellent shops (household/kitchen shop, a small shop selling beautiful jewellery made on site and very keenly priced, lots of antique shops and a couple of good coffee shops). There is lots to do in the area and we would go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2010

Thank you for your review. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. We all appreciate when guests take the time to write such a lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killyleagh
4.4 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
352 reviews
5.6 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
109 reviews
13.6 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
129 reviews
18.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,777 reviews
16.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufferin Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufferin Coaching Inn

Address: 33 High Street | Killyleagh Downpatrick, Killyleagh BT30 9QF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killyleagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killyleagh
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dufferin Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B and enchanting event venue situated in the picturesque village of Killyleagh, Co Down, Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dufferin Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dufferin Coaching Hotel Killyleagh
Dufferin Coaching Inn Killyleagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing