We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasuer”

Delamont Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Treasuer”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are in the vicinity don't miss this park. Excellent playground and some fantastic walks with amazing views over Strangford Lough. It's just beautiful if the weather is nice. During the summer month the little kiosk is open for ice cream and other sweet treats, plus you can pay for a ride on the little train that goes around the park.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank franziska2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed, could be so much more,”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived by lunchtime Easter Tuesday, easy to park, plenty of spaces, weather a bit cold, we had taken a picnic which we had first, we headed then for the garden walk, NO gardens in bloom to see! Took niece to playpark, NO dogs allowed understandably, guess what, disrespectful dog owners, signs up, no reinforcement! Gift shop terrible. This park could do with visible park rangers, more litter bins, a lovely coffee shop, a friendlier atmosphere! Left earlier than expected! :-(

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and tidy with great views”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Whilst not one of the better-known parks in County Down, Delamont is a great park for a day out with the kids. Situated between Downpatrick and Killyleagh, it offers great views of Strangford Lough and beyond. There are a number of waymarked walks, think I ‘ve done them all over the years, the favourite being the full perimeter walk via the pond/nature reserve at the bottom end. There are various gym activities along the way as well.

The play area is excellent, recently refurbished, has a huge slide and loads of other things for the kids. Also a kids train, ice cream stand, BBQ area, good clean toilet block…overall a clean and well-maintained park, and would highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top notch camp site!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

After staying in a few not so nice sites, delamont really pleased me. It's just such a nice place to be. Very quiet at nights and very secure. The grounds are immaculate and the toilet block/amenity block is kept very clean. The grass is kept very well and all grass is lifted meaning no grass being dragged into tent/caravan on bottom of shoes. Location first class. Delamont park is beautiful and short drive away is castle ward. It really is a treat pitching up in this lovely camp site. Thanks for a wonderful stay delamont!!! Only downside is we're not members of the camping and caravanning club, hence we had to pay an additional £7.40 per night pitch fee. Worth thinking about joining if your serious about camping in GB.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenisland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant site - well worth a stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here in our touring caravan for two nights and thoroughly loved it. This is a nice little site, well laid out with plenty of space between pitches and surrounded by mature tress and shrubs. The toilet and shower facilities are excellent and very clean. We were met by hosts from the Caravan and Camping Club who guided us to our pitch and were only to willing to help if required. The kids were able to run around freely and we could see them at all times. The site is located in the country park so you have access to the large play park, train ride, walks and trails. The only one down side was that the gate from the caravan park leading to the country park was permanently locked (apparently to keep unwelcome visitors out) which mean't the long way wound to the play park which was a 10 minute walk. All in all still a fantastic site, one of the best we have been to and we will definately be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delamont Country Park also viewed

Strangford, County Down
Downpatrick, County Down
 
Castlewellan, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Delamont Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing