We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Clam Chowder, nice location”
Review of Dufferin Arms

Dufferin Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Killyleagh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Dufferin Arms is famous throughout Northern Ireland for its great food, perfect Guinness, live music and the best craic that money just cannot buy! We pride ourselves in the friendly welcome that greets all our customers, come in a stranger, leave as a friend for life! In our restaurant we serve everything from a light bite for lunch, to fresh lobster and langoustine from Strangford Lough, plus steaks, burgers, fish and chips, to name but a few of the dishes on our menus. One dish worth a mention is our famous, secret recipe, Seafood Chowder. We are a family friendly establishment, and if you have any dietary requirements, we will do our utmost to accommodate them. We are also able to provide a venue that is perfect for family celebrations, Christenings, private parties etc. Restaurant Opening Hours: Mon-Thurs Midday-3pm/ 5pm-8.30pm, Fri-Sat Midday-9pm/ Sun Midday-8pm
Devon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Clam Chowder, nice location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Highly recommend the clam chowder if you're a fan of sea food. The atmosphere was great and the service was really friendly. The food took a while to come but it was definitely worth waiting for. Reasonably priced set menu with lots to choose from. Vegetables in the roast over done, but that's my only complaint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurynMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You must try the Chowder”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent a great weekend based around this pub whilst attending the International Irish Fly Fishing Fair that is held at the Pub and the surrounding area.
I has the best chowder i have tasted.
Proper pub with nice food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobym2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A cut above your normal pub grub”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in picturesque Killyleagh village, the Dufferin Arms provides excellent food at very good prices. We went on the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed.
The menu provides a good range that will suit most tastes with a concentration on meat and seafood dishes. A restricted, but very adequate, range of affordable wines is also available if you don't fancy any of the excellent beers.
The food was superb with generous portions - doggy bags are available and often needed - but doesn't cost the earth.
The staff were very busy when we were there and it could be a little hard to get their attention initially but, once you were served, they made a point of ensuring we were happy with the meal.
Definitely somewhere we'll return to.

Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Aengus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We go here for our traditional pub grub. The food is honest and the prices decent. Of course, you need to have a nice pint to wash it all down! The locals hang out here, so it's always nice to be in what feels like really cosy and familiar surroundings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank franziska2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly welcoming Staff”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Dufferin Arms is a pub/restaurant which has remained unchanged and authentic. It is like walking into an old pub. The atmosphere is wonderful and the staff welcoming and very accommodating. The food is excellent and there is a good ranging menu.
They do Banquet nights which I would most definitely recommend. The food is to die for and the lobster fantastic. The range of desserts they host at the Banquet night is mouth watering and you have the ability to sample it all! It's a real belly buster but wonderful.
This is one place you should try at anytime as they food and staff are first class!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dufferin Arms also viewed

Killyleagh, County Down
Killyleagh, County Down
 
Strangford, County Down
Killinchy, County Down
 
Strangford, County Down
Portaferry, County Down
 

Been to Dufferin Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing