We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly very good hotel in Kuala Belait”
Review of V Plaza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuala Belait
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
V Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kuala Belait
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“surprisingly very good hotel in Kuala Belait”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

On a long term stay for work in this small, quiet town, my company booked me into this new hotel. Clean, modern hotel with nicely appointed rooms, it's like a big city hotel. Good service, helpful staff and nice rooms, no other hotel here can match this place. Mostly occupied by oil business people passing through. They also have 2 and 3 bedroom service apartments. Good WiFi, a rooftop restaurant, and good water pressure in the rooms. I give this place a thumbs up. Keep it up V-Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirtyErn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We did not stay at the hotel, but ate at the restaurant on the roof top.

The service was efficient & friendly but the food & drink was only average.

The view is the best part of the experience.
Well worth it for that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Miri_Epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPlazaHotel, Hotel Manager at V Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear The Miri Epicure,

Thank you for visiting the TripAdvisor. I would like to take this opportunity and express my sincere appreciation for taking your time and write your feedback. Your comments are very valuable for us as they represent an important tool of measuring our performance and improving our services where necessary.

I am very pleased that you come to expect from our hotel especially for your average expectation in restaurant. I have discussed your comments with the concerned departmental manager; hopefully you will notice a difference during your next visit to our hotel especially to our restaurant.

Thank you,
Tengku Taufiq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A lovely and very clean hotel, but it is new and still looks like a building site in parts of grounds.
There were lots of "settlement" cracks in my room and soundproofing is not that great as you can hear road noise and noise inside the hotel really loudly.
The decor is wonderful and staff very attentive. We used the Conference Centre which was amongst best I have used. Well equipped and comfortable.
If I had criticism the directory in rooms says there are two restaurants but there is only a roof terrace cafe. The quality and range of food did not match up to the hotel at all - food was disappointing.
Also the hotel is in middle of nowhere (or so it seems) so there is nothing to do - I did go for walk but state of pavements and drains without covers is extremely dangerous. The infrastructure in the country needs some work, the long driveto/from airport was very uncomfortable as roads so poor condition in parts.

Room Tip: Try to get one which is not by the Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wewanttoliveinIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in May 2014, Have previously stayed at the Radisson in Bandar and also the Brunei Hotel.
On the whole this has been the best hotel I have stayed at in Brunei, still very new and along with that fantastic rooms and very friendly. Very near to Shell and the eng contractors. Quite a distance from the airport (1 1/2 hrs drive) but this is something that is necessary if you are in the O&G sector.
The only issues for me was that the Gym is not yet built (2015) and the restaurant although in a great situation on the roof the food was quite poor and not what is expected from this type of hotel, I would recommend walking a couple of hundred yards to one of the many restaurants. If you need a taxi from the airport worth asking the hotel to provide as it is slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPlazaHotel, Hotel Manager at V Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Pete S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and for your constructive feedback. Firstly, thank you for your positive comments regarding the gym facility we will promptly to expedite for the completion of the gymnasium by early next year as you aware that we are currently under construction at the hotel surrounding area. Meantime we will improve the food quality as your comments and immediate action will be taken to rectify this so thank you for pointing this out and helping us to improve our quality.

Once again, thank you for your candid review and I hope you would return to V Plaza Hotel Brunei Darussalam to see the improvements we have made.

With best regards,
Tengku Taufiq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balikpapan, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel before continue journey to my working place the next day. The staffs were nice and helpfull. The room was spacious, clean, and had a great mattress which made me slept well. The hotel had a wonderfull roof top restaurant where you can see the view of the city. The only thing I would like to suggest is to make more local cuisine available.
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VPlazaHotel, Hotel Manager at V Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Bsakti,

Greetings from V Plaza Hotel Brunei Darussalam!

First, thank you for choosing stays at our hotel. It great pleasure to receive a positive feedback from satisfied and I would like to thank you visiting this site and for taking your time to write your comments.

I will be looking forward to welcoming you again to our lovely hotel once again and more in a very near future.

Warm regards,

Tengku Taufiq
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Brand new hotel, excellent service. good location for those involve with oil and gas industry in Brunei specially Shell. room is marvelous 4 star interior, bed was good, room are clean and staff are lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suhaimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Belait
57.4 mi away
Garden Sentral Hotel
Garden Sentral Hotel
#3 of 7 in Kuala Belait
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
58.8 mi away
Hotel Sentosa
Hotel Sentosa
#2 of 7 in Kuala Belait
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Plaza Hotel

Property: V Plaza Hotel
Address: 1300 Jalan Sungai, Kuala Belait KA2331, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Belait District > Kuala Belait
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kuala Belait
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Plaza hotel puts the fun back in your business travel by seeing to it that you're inspired by our touch and feel cared for in every sense of the word. We have stylish boutique that is so comfortable that you will be tempted to hang around after your long business meeting. It might be little too much to hug each guest who checks in. In reality, that's what we try to do in a matter of speech. We are very concerned that you get a proper night's sleep; choice of pampering pillows to make your forty winks, beauty sleep. And we offer you in the morning with a complimentary buffet breakfast and welcome you back by the sea breeze from the South China Sea at Roof Top cafe for our evening 'cocktail'. We will even take you for a jog around Kuala Belait town to ensure you get your daily exercise in. Finally we assure you that you will always feel connected with your loved one and that is why we offer Wi-Fi for free. Who knows? After all that, you may just want to give us a hug and that is fine with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing