We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic bed and breakfast”
Review of Roomz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roomz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seria
Level Contributor
354 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Basic bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Very small room for a standard size. One single bed at Brunei Dollar; very tight space which you have just enough to walk. Hmm. ... cob Web at a corner.
Complimentary mini bar which does not have liquor just 2 cans soft drinks and drinking water with some snacks. Hey it's free so shouldn't complain.
Breakfast is limited choice. Fried noodles, fish deep fried, bread, baked beans, hash browns, corn flakes and thankfully they do fried eggs to your request.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolv3rin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

It's in centre of seria city. Just walking distance to ogdc and shops. The minibars are complimentary, also light dinner is free too but until 7pm. They provide dvd player in room. You need bring your own movies since there is no much entertainment in small city and in this hotel. The breakfast is not like a common buffet like others hotel provide. But it's okay. You need bring your own comb too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

It's my first time staying at this hotel and was a little pessimistic about it. However I was surprised as it turned out to be quite good. The mini bar in the room is complimentary. There is also a light complimentary dinner on top of the regular breakfast. The room I stayed was a little small but sufficient since I was there for just a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Clean and modern hotel with pleasant staff.
I stayed there a week and found it very pleasant.
Reasonably priced restaurants in the area with good food.

Standard breakfast (bread, eggs, yogurt) could probably have been more western (fiber and musli).

Room Tip: Recommend: Standard Queen Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvalitetsreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel is very new. And has a Holiday Inn Express (European) feel to it. No bath in my room, but a decent shower. Room and bed was not exactly large, and the walls are a bit hollow.
None the less, ok for a couple of nights.
Breakfast was included in the room price, which was just as well. Not particularly exciting - some rice, a dim sum style thing, just one type of sliced white bread. Eggs to order. Yoghurt (2 types) and machine coffee. Breakfast is served 6am to 10am. I went down at 9-30am on the day I checked out, and was met with some suprise by staff who had more or less packed away everything. There's not mush in Seria to see and do, and therefore few hotels to choose from.
Just ok.

Room Tip: Find out where you might like to eat out, as there is no room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I recently checked into this particular hotel due to a utility outage in my home. It's a newly built hotel in sleepy Seria town(don't know why Roomz thought to describe Seria as 'buzzling' on their website. Buzzling? Mind bottling!)

Check in: quite quick, corporate rate disappointing. On the positive side, I was offered a later checkout at 2pm and complimentary minibar. This hotel only offers 2 types of room, single and queen. It is important to note that both types of room and rate are actually designed
for single occupancy. Because of this, my room rate was only inclusive of breakfast for one. Additional breakfasts cost BN$15.

Room: Lift is a little bit slow, I can see how it can be a bother to some. The bed and the room were clean, which is my most basic hotel necessity. The queen sized room makes a really tight squeeze for 2 person occupancy. I can imagine that it'd be really uncomfortable for Caucasians or people who arent asian as the bed length is short. Management should really think about this, especially considering the number of foreigners who check in for business. As a local, I'm quite embarrassed at what this hotel has to offer foreigners. The view from the room overlooks the sea, which I suppose is a selling point. I must add that there is unfortunately no privacy on the balconies - get a corner room. You'll only have to deal with one neighbor for prolonged balcony time.

There are only two switches to control lighting in the room, the bedside lamp switch also controls a downlight that casts directly down on toyour head. Not pleasant for midnight toilet breaks. Fancy flat screen telly, though aligned very off centre to the bed. DVD player included, though not so useful now that Brunei has stopped selling pirated DVDs :)

Tip: bring your own DVDs or even a media player loaded with TV series to catch up on! Selection of TV channels not so great. Didn't have any meals in this room except for the complimentary pot noodle, shared between two on the bed. Can't imagine how more than one person could eat
a proper meal comfortably in this room.

Bathroom: contemporary design, was surprised when I didn't see the standard Brunei bathroom fixture; the bidet spray/'bum gun'. Upon closer inspection, the toilet had a fancy inbuilt spray controlled by a knob on the left of the toilet. The selection of toiletries are shower gel,
shampoo and conditioner. The shower gel didn't lather up, giving the
impression that they may be poorly manufactured(or maybe it just has less chemicals). The 'shelf' where the toiletries are kept in the shower cubicle are on the complete opposite side from where the shower head is. Stepping back and forth in between wouldn't have been so annoying if I
hadn't seen bits of faeces/vomit(not sure what, I didn't want to inspect too closely) in the spaces between the tiles on the floor below the 'shelf'. Water pressure was low that day, but many parts of Panaga were without water, so that may have been the reason why. Put the 'Please clean my room' sign up before I headed out for work that day, but when I came back, the room had not been touched.

Breakfast: I was looking really forward to this, expecting a good spread for BN$15 a head. There were four cloches with hot food offered at the buffet: fried rice, cut up fish cakes in a brown sauce, toast with cold cuts and one cloche was empty(finished or just not filled, I don't know.).
Not much choice for vegetarians. Bread next to the toaster, yoghurts in the fridge, some cereal. The cooks offered to make eggs any style which I took up because of the disappointing hot dishes. Unfortunately, even the cook couldn't do scrambled eggs right. They were overcooked bits of
omelet. :( Tea and coffee came in an automated Nescafe machine, which I initially thought was a bonus, but the teh tarik that came out of the machine was overly sweet and tasted really bad. Leaving out tea bags/coffee and hot water would have been better.

Final comments/Suggestions: checked out early as soon as I heard my utilities at home were back in order. Management: you manage two other hotels, use that experience and knowledge and apply it. I know not much can be done about the size or arrangement of the rooms, but there are a
lot of improvements to be made in other areas. Firstly, I must commend Roomz for hiring so many locals. It's a positive change to see locals wanting to take up positions in the service industry. I hope the establishment doesn't take my comments too negatively, as my intention of writing this is only to help them improve. Cleaners need to be thorough with the bathroom, besides the bits of faeces/vomit, I also saw lots of accumulated dust and cobwebs in the bathroom. F&B is something
you cannot scrimp on in a country where eating is considered a main attraction. Train your cooks to prepare food better - a bad breakfast is a bad start to the day. Your staff and your customers will thank you for it! Please remind customers of the free flow food available to them 24/7 in the restaurant. I didn't even know this was available to me until I checked the website after I checked out. The queen bedroom rate should really be a rate for two people, do not leave out the second breakfastand include amenities in the room for a second person. Finally, the hotel doesn't need such fancy stuff - the DVD player, the toilet with inbuilt spray, the automatic coffee/tea machine. Concentrate on the basics before the bonuses. I would be happy to stay there again if you
improve the food, at the very least.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room if you intend on spending time on the balcony. Don't bother with the single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seria
8.8 mi away
Garden Sentral Hotel
Garden Sentral Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kuala Belait
17 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Sentosa
Hotel Sentosa
#2 of 8 in Kuala Belait
30 reviews
10.5 mi away
Keoja Hotel
Keoja Hotel
#6 of 8 in Kuala Belait
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Swiss Hotel Apartment
Swiss Hotel Apartment
#5 of 8 in Kuala Belait
32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Roomz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomz Hotel

Property: Roomz Hotel
Address: Jalan Tengah, Seria KB1110, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Belait District > Seria
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seria
Hotel Class:3 star — Roomz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roomz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing