We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality bungalows in a lovely setting”
Review of Jack's Jungle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lipe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jack's Jungle
Ranked #16 of 34 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Situated a bit up the hill and away from the main drag this is a very relaxing place to stay on Koh Lipe. Sunset beach, which is quiet and beautiful, was 5 minutes walk away.

The bungalow was comfortable, clean and provided a good night sleep. The shower was a particular highlight, being more a torrent than the usual damp squib which really refresed after a day on the beach. I really loved the jungle ambience - you felt relaxed and a million miles from the world.

The staff were helpful and knowledgeable. Jack's Jungle serves great food, including a generous breakfast (included) of the usual fare with fruit salad thrown-in.

Great place to stay and well worth the THB2000 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girtholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

Great bungalow that gives you a secluded feel away from other visitors to the island. Very cute, clean, and rustic feel. Nice little bathroom attached to each bungalow. Will definitely stay here again next time we're on the island. The owners are great too!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I have been to thailand quite a few number of times, and this island is not one of the best.
Jack's, is an ok option.
The bungalow is nice, the location feels a little bit off.
The bed is very hard (as always).
They got some nice dogs running around.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIPKavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The hotel itself is lovely. Great food at the restaurant and the rooms are real nice and rustic. No hot water and no aircon. Its a hut in the middle of the jungle with great mosquito nets. Outdoor shower and sink is cool. Hammock on balcony is nice. BRING MOSQUITO REPELLENT.

The only annoying thing about the place is that its a solid ten minute walk into town and maybe 15 to 20 minute walk to sunset beach. Other than that its great.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDisberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Jack's is tastefully done. There is value for money here. The service is also quite good. The mosquitos were a bit of a problem in the evening and morning, although the nets on the beds ensured we slept like the dead. The kitchen makes very nice food.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWBollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We were recommended Jack's & Koh Lipe by someone I work with and so decided to give it a go based on her rave reviews. We had no booking so were nervous when we turned up, but luckily had a room available, so could check in straight away. We ended up doing 4 nights here and then 4 nights in a beach bungalow on sunrise beach.

The bungalows are lovely, really tastefully done, and the outdoor bathroom means you get to shower in the open air which is fab! It was a lovely stay, nice and quiet and surrounded to nature

To summarise the pros/cons:

Pros
> Boutique, welcoming and full of character
> Rooms cleaned daily, bottled water replenished every day
> Quiet, away from it all location
> Food was really nice, and service was excellent

Cons
> The mozzies! they come out in full force late afternoon/early evening, You will get bitten.
> 10minish walk to bars, food etc on pattaya [which sometimes feels like a struggle on way back!]

Overall though - would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Ko Lipe is a very nice little island, although overflown with tourists. Jacks is probably the only place on the island where you can escape and have your own hideaway. His bar is superb, offering great food and you can really relax there. The housedogs can be a little bothersome, as everywhere in Thailand. Concerning the bungalows, they are probably better than most in Thailand (although we stayed in nicer places during our trip). If you are looking for the outdoor adventure with a little bit of comfort, this place is made for you. But: bathroom is outside which means there can be frogs sitting in the toilet, and some critters around. This is not really bothersome, but the mosquitoes are. The shower water goes directly under the bungalow and vanishes there, which probably means excellent brooding place for mosquitoes. Since the bungalows are practically open, the mosquitoes are also "relaxing" inside. Probably 20-30 of these in the room, although you have a good mosquito net above the bed. But this really spoilt our experience there, since every day we got 5-10 bites and you just cant sit in the bungalow to relax. In the night you will hear rustling and bustling from frogs and other critters in the room. If this doesnt frighten you, the place is great ! The towels are not so nice though, Jack could invest in some new ones. Sunrise beach is 10 min walk away through mountain resort, this beach is awesome (on the north tip only). Sunset beach is nice too, 3 min walk, there is a resort there and some bars, although also mosquitoes in the dusk. Pattaya beach is 12 min walk, but there you will have all the longtail boats and you cannot really swim there, although the beach itself has the nicest water and sand maybe of all Thailand. Really, somebody should move the longtailboats to one side of the beach...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomgrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.8 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Time to Chill House
Time to Chill House
#10 of 34 in Ko Lipe
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Lipe Resort
Oasis Lipe Resort
#10 of 18 in Ko Lipe
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pitiusas Beach Resort
Pitiusas Beach Resort
#14 of 60 in Ko Lipe
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack's Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack's Jungle

Address: 120 meters from Sunset Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small nature-friendly resort on Koh Lipe, about 150 meters from Sunset Beach. We have 10 spacious and private bungalows spread out in the jungle, together with a Bar and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jack`s Jungle Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing