We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lxw
Peak District

Fantastic. Amazing. Perfect.

Review of Jack's Jungle
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Nov 2012via mobile
We have just left jacks and are a bit tearful. We had a wonderful time. The jungle is 5mins walk from everything but is slightly hidden in the trees up a slight hill for privacy. The cabins are first class: comfortable and clean. The outdoor bathroom is clean and so much fun. Jack and his wife (her name is pronounced Di) are wonderful hosts and Di's food is pheonominal and by far the best on the island. There is no reason to stay at any other place on Koh Lipe. We will be back for sure. Thank you for making our stay so truly special. We miss you all already!
Date of stay: November 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£80
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£94
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £94
0.2 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£62
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£101
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£88
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£42
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.4 miles from Jack's Jungle
Beachfront
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£98
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £98
0.5 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £85
  • Algotels
0.7 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £55
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Jack's Jungle
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • eDreams
0.6 miles from Jack's Jungle
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ko Lipe
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
44
25
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
25
8
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Cosy bungalows, restaurant and a friendly welcoming staff. The bungalow was comfortable with a small porch without a reiling, something for families with small children to be aware of but it didn't bother us. We travelled with our 3 year old son and there were never any problems. Lots of caterpillars, frogs and snails for him to explore. Mosquitos were ever present but they provide you with both mosquito net over the bed and mosquito-spirals (or whatever they're called). Bring or buy repellent though.

If your're travelling with small children don't bother taking a stroller with you. The roads on the island are not stroller friendly, specially after it's been raining. But Sunset beach is only a few minutes away and everything on the island is within walking distance. In fact one og the great things about Jack's jungle is that you get a sense of privacy and relaxation. It was great for our little family but would also be wonderful for a romantic couples vacation.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrippyTilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was a gem on Ko Lipe which is becoming overrun with resorts. It consists of several bungalows within the jungle on top of the little hill on Ko Lipe. It was a short walk from where you get dropped off on the island. The bungalows themselves are comfortable with excellent mosquito nets and outdoor bathrooms. We were a little taken aback to find a frog in our room but that was part of the charm of staying at this hotel. The owner was really helpful and was full of life. The food at breakfast and lunch was very nice.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stay in this hotel several times - and if you are looking for quite, clean accomodation with good food, I think - it's one of the best on Koh-Lipe, especially the restaraunt; there only a few good places on the island, and Jack's is one of them.
I stay at all the beaches, Pattaya - too many boats, Sunrise - too many people, Sunrise - too small and not the best for swimming. But from Jack's Jungle - you can easily reach what are want right now and come back for a silence and relax.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hromonigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Although Jack's Jungle is less than a 10 min walk from the main trawl, it might as well be an hour away. When you arrive by boat at Pattaya beach, speak to the staff at the travel shop on Walking Street. They'll call Jack's for you and transport will arrive in a couple of minutes. We stayed in a bamboo bungalow for 3 nights which was perfect for our needs and had, quite possibly, the best mosquito net we have ever encountered (closely woven soft cotton which covered the bed completely, leaving no possibility of gaps appearing when the fan was on during the night ). Mosquitoes are a problem here but they are large (so easily spotted) and a bit dozy. However, they are around 24h a day - so deet is essential. The partially-covered outdoor bathroom was lovely but, as we learnt to our cost, if you leave anything in there during a tropical thunderstorm it will be soaked through. Breakfast was really good (try the pad thai) and, although we only ate one lunch and one dinner here, the food was excellent and cooked exactly as requested.Spicy. Portions were also generous. There is no WiFi or Broadband access at Jack's, but there are plenty of cafes and bars on Walking Street with hotspots. (The mother of all thunderstorms we experienced had been preceeded by an incredible electrical storm - so internet connections were a bit hit and miss during our stay). Laundry was also very reasonable, at 60 Baht per kilo.
We also have to say many thanks to the very kind and helpful Anna (who hails from our part of the world). Her first-aid skills proved extremely useful when my husband was bitten by a stray dog on our first evening there (discussed on the Koh Lipe Forum). A visit to "Home Bar" close to Jack's Jungle is a must as well. The owner is a very pleasant and unbelievably laid back individual (but don't be fooled - he's completely on the ball) and is assisted by a delightful girl called June. It's a complete chill-out experience and, as with much of Southern Thailand, Bob Marley is an obsession. Sunrise beach is a short walk away with a long stretch of white coral sand plus beautifully clear and warm water (quite strong currents too in places - be aware if you have small children). A number of resorts back onto the beach so it's easy to pick up lunch or a cold drink. The restaurants in town serve a really good range of the freshest seafood each evening which you choose yourself before it's cooked on the bbq. All things considered, Koh Lipe was not as developed as we had feared it might be - possibly helped by a very limited number of paved roads (only built about 3 years ago). So, would we go back and would we stay at Jack's Jungle? Absolutely yes!!

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We started our 3 week Thailand trip in Koh Lipe in early Feb 2012 and despite staying in more expensive and more luxurious accommodation later on during the trip, Jacks was without a doubt our favourite.

Part of me wants to keep Jacks a secret - the other part of me wants to tell the world, seeing as I'm not a selfish guy the latter won (this is the first review I've ever written) and even whilst travelling around Thailand we highly recommended Jacks to everyone we met.

Why is Jacks special - the service is exceptional, Jack and all the staff were warm, friendly and helpful and the bungalows (we had a standard bamboo one) although a little more back to basics had a wonderful charm, comfy bed and great mosquito net. Something has to be said for shooting the frogs off the loo with the bum gun - haven't laughed that much ever - classic!!

Although not on the beach this is actually one of the benefits as the bungalows are quieter, being away from the noisy longboats and you're within an easy 5-15 mins walk of some of the best parts of the island - whether the funky Boom Boom Bar on Sunset Beach, Walking Street or even Mia Luna for those that like a late night party.

The food at Jacks, needs to be mentioned separately as this was quite simply out of this world!! Despite eating A LOT of good Thai food throughout out trip, nothing ever compared again to the way they did it - I'm salivating just at the thought.

A special mention and thank you to the lovely lady at Jacks (my life saver!) who gave us the cooling powder after I stupidly got SO burnt my back started to blister - for those that go on a snorkelling trip or decide to spend half the day in the water with your back facing the sun - wear a t-shirt/rash vest it will save weeks of pain! If you do find yourself in my situation use Aloe Vera (100% and with as little fragrance as possible) or if you can find it cooling powder with menthol even better - I'm never going on holiday again without some.

Anyway thank you, thank you, thank you to you all - We'll be definitely back.

Toby & Aggy

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noushki1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews