We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special people, special place.”
Review of Jack's Jungle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lipe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jack's Jungle
Ranked #15 of 32 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Lipe is an island that is definitely going through some growing pains. Many new resorts are opening with their eye on making money from all of the tourists. Small parcels of land are being maximized with as many bungalows as possible and in some cases, the resorts feel very impersonal.
But Jack's is another story. First of all, Jack and his staff are all happy people. Their sincere smiles and warmth are infectious and guests of the hotel are all happy too. The gardens are beautifully maintained. It's an oasis.
The rooms are spacious and clean and private. Jack could easily add 30 more bungalows on the property because there is so much space, but he
prefers to keep it intimate and peaceful.
The restaurant is so very nice and the breakfasts were very good. But once again, it's the personable staff that made the restaurant exceptional.
There is one downside to the resort which is the mosquitos. The jungle does not get the breeze like the beach so the mosquitos love it. Bring bug spray. The resort provides mosquito coils and perfectly new mosquito nets.
I'm from Canada and we take very special care of our dogs and cats here. Thailand generally has a different attitude towards pets and you will often see animals who are scared of humans and in poor health. At Jack's, the animals are loved and so well cared for. They are very good people at Jack's.
Thank you, Jack and your employee Ann for a very nice week.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank ward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I turned up at Jack's quite late, having lost my way, all hot and sweaty. Check-in was as instant as the staff handing over the room key! The outdoor concept bathroom was something very new to me, but I loved it, and I had long forgotten how good a cold shower felt!

I am hopeless with directions but I am assuming that Jack's jungle is right in the middle of the island, however, every beach is a short walk away - 5 mins to Sunset, 10 mins to Sunrise and 15 mins to Pattaya. My first night in the bamboo hut bordered on the freakish: I've never slept in such an 'open' concept place before, but I got over it and fell in love with my hut over the days.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the cafe/restaurant is a good place to chill if you feel lazy (the wooden chairs are super comfortable). I absolutely loved the Jack's Fried Chicken, so please be sure to try it when you are there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanDulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Jack and team really helpful. I was stayed here for 3 days and it is really awesome. Even though, the hotel location is a bit far from Walking Street but do not worry. There are lot of other tourist walking around at night (do not forget to bring your torchlight). We also borrowed Jack;s bike to Walking Street.

The room was awesome with natural feel. However, please remember to bring insect repellent. Mosquitoes were big and hungry :)

Room Tip: Bring torchlight at night and mosquito repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrisZahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a great place to go for a retreat. We stayed in one of the White Bungalows for 7 nts & some warm water would have been nice after travelling through stormy waters but soon after that the sun came out and the cool water of the natural bamboo showers in the al fresco bathrooms was wonderful after a relaxing day at the beach. Sunset Beach is close by & quiet whilst Sunrise is about a 10 min walk & a bit busier but not crowded. The staff at Jacks including Jack himself were all super friendly and made you feel part of the family whilst the food at the restaurant is sought out by other island goers - it is that good!! The fried chicken, breakfasts & pad Thai were all firm favourites. Secluded jungle hideaway in natural surroundings. Just fab! The one downside is the building work taking place between Jacks & the main walking street bar / restaurant. No noise but watch where you step as the lighting is terrible. Better yet take a torch or ask for taxi (a scooter with a side-car is the best you'll get on Lipe). Shame we didn't discover this place 5 years or more ago. Then it would have truly been heaven on earth!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Jack's jungle, for those who prefer a quiet place to rest between the trees, is just the perfect location. 5 minutes walk to Sunset beach and 15 minutes to the walking street, everything is near yet you feel completely isolated in the middle of the small jungle that surrounds the guesthouse. The atmosphere (and the food) feels great. Highly recommended!
If you want to see how beautiful this little island is, check some pictures here!
http://gonzalobroto.blogspot.com/2013/10/weekend-at-paradise-island-koh-lipe.html

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonzalo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A great place tucked away from all the bustle of the beaches and bars, with funky bungalows that make you feel like you are living in the jungle - with a few lizards and frogs to keep you company! Its not the place for you if you only like hotels but for the more adventurous its a great place. The staff who run it are super friendly, giving good advice on the area and helping to carry bags etc. The food is also really good, with superb views from the terrace. Everything is also really nicely kept and is of the highlights on our trip to Koh Lipe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennina_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Jack’s Jungle i the most wonderful resort in the Koh Lipe if you are looking for a relaxed, friendly and laid back place. The bungalow are just fabulous - basic but fabolous - with open air outdoor shower. It’s just a short walk to the two best beaches on the island, Sunset and Sunrise beach, and also near to the Walking street…but far enough from the bars for a good and quiet sleep at night.

The restaurant is great - lot of different choices on the breakfast-menu which was served all day long, actually until closingtime at night. The other food on the menu was also great, especially their BBQ chickenwings…YUMMY!!!

GREAT STAFF and GREAT OWNERS!!! They were so helpful and so nice, they even took us to see the fireworks at the beach on New Years night. What a treat – You are so great, all of you!!! Thanks for being a huge reason to why our vacation at Koh Lipe was such a memorable time!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.8 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.7 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Ko Lipe
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack's Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack's Jungle

Address: 120 meters from Sunset Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small nature-friendly resort on Koh Lipe, about 150 meters from Sunset Beach. We have 10 spacious and private bungalows spread out in the jungle, together with a Bar and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jack`s Jungle Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing