We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Flashpackergo
United Kingdom

Overpriced for basic accommodation

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2012
Lovely little white beach. Tends to get overcrowded, with day trippers from Pattaya beach. Good snorkelling. Accommodation expensive, considering : basic bamboo hut, no flush toilet, no top sheet, nylon bottom sheet, broken outside tap, bathroom light not working, restaurant closes at 4pm.. Over relaxed management. The little communal space there is, is taken over by them and you feel as if you are intruding if you ask for anything. The place has no soul. If it was half the price, all this would not matter but we felt fleeced, especially when we were charged extra for a few spoons of honey on our muesli!
Date of stay: March 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£62
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £62
0.9 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£91
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Pool
Beachfront
£59
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£42
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
£321
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £321
0.9 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £75
  • Algotels
0.9 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Sanom Beach Lipe Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ko Lipe
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
80
30
11
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
30
11
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed there in December for 6 Days and booked the first 3 days in advance to have a place to stay. Our plan was to have a look aroung to check if there are other nice accommodations. After our stroll we decided to book 3 more nights. There is no other place on this island for this price. The rooms a simple but what do i need more than a bed, a moscitonet and a fan?

The best thing is the beach. It is a small beach part, which is isolated from the main beach. It is quiet an most of all there is nearly no longtailboat in the water. All the other beaches on the island had massiv amounts of longtailboats in the water.

The kitchen is simple aswell but very delicious. We always had breakfast and lunch there. For dinner we went to the other parts of the island.

So in total the perfect stay in Koh Lipe. If we go there again this is the only place we would stay.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This resort is placed at a perfect spot, right at the beach front. The beach is very nice and has only a few visitors daily. Snorkeling is also very good. The staff is very friendly and the food is quite good. The bungalows are a bit austere but in this place, who cares? You are in paradise!

Any drawbacks? Well, the beds are rock hard and the restaurant is only opened until about five a clock in the afternoon.

However, if you like your own private spot with a touch of paradise, stay at Sanom Beach.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IvanBoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If your after a quiet, 'real' Thailand beach feel this is the place to go. The whole island is perfect but Sanom Beach especially is an oasis in the bustling tourist trap of Thailand.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrsWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for 5 days and enjoyed it . Was so pleased not to be on Pattaya Beach which is too busy and so noisey at night. You get a bit of 'old Thailand' here. Well worth the effort if you don't mind the bugs. Go to Sunrise and Sunset beach for variety and avoid Pattaya. Also avoid the snorkelling tours as they are very disappointing if you after good coral.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Sanom Beach is one of the places i would recommend on Lipe which becomes more and more like a target for package tourists, families and the rest of the travel circus. Most of them settle on Pattaya Beach which is by now filled with drinking stalls, massage places and the longtal boats in front of the coast waiting for costumers are giving you the feeling you sleep next to a parking lot. Sanom instead is a bit secluded but still perfectly reachable by a ten minute walk. dont expect to much for the huts though, very simple huts with a bed, moskitonet, running cold water and electricity from 5pm to 9am. yes, there are animals (frogs, rats, sometimes snakes) but the staff takes care of it when you alarm them. some of the (bungalow 1-4) have great seaview and stand directly over the stones of the beach, perfect for a hammock on the veranda. the bar at the place is ok for what you need during the day, for a propper breakfast though a little walk to Lipe Cafe or so might be better. From Sanom (as from all places on Lipe) you can always catch a longtail to other parts of the island or snorkeling trips and so on. the staff runs a bbq twice a week which is much nicer than the other bbqs at the larger beaches.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berlinmaetzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews