We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green View Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A+++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at Green View Beach Resort for 4 nights in March 2012. The Italian manager was really helpful, when we checked in he gave us a map of the island and told us restaurants to go to/avoid, and told us about snorkelling trips and things like that. The "bungalow" was a bamboo walled hut with an add on bathroom which had a western (i.e. flushing) toilet. The Wifi wasn't that great but come on, you're in beautiful Koh Lipe!! The location was really good, Pattaya Beach has a lot of nice chilled out bars and restaurants. The only thing that let it down was a big boat that was there for about 2 days collecting rubbish.... but I wouldn't let that put me off.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaLa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    78
    61
    45
    32
See reviews for
36
155
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Green View is a cluster of bamboo bungalows and a small, open reception area located on Pattaya Beach.
We stayed in one of the beach front bungalows for 7 nights, with mixed feelings.

Our bungalow was all-bamboo including walls, floors, ceiling and the front facing balcony/terrace. All the other bungalows looked similar from the outside.
The bathroom was an attachment at the back, close to European standard with tiled floors and western toilet. As is the case with much of the island, there was no hot water available in the shower or taps. That wasn't really a problem, and was easily remedied by going for a quick dip in the ocean first if the water felt too cold. Though, after a while we started longing for a long, hot shower.
Also, unless you want to put your used toilet paper in the bin, brush up on your hosing skills as GV uses a septic tank so you can't put toilet paper in the toilet.

We picked this resort partially because it advertised free WiFi. Our experience was that although there technically was Wifi available, it very rarely worked and when it did it was extremely slow and unstable. This despite being in the bungalow located closest to the reception where the modem was located.

Because of the shortcomings of the advertised Wifi, we resorted to paying for internet access at either Varin or Bundhaya resorts just a short stroll down the beach. (Bundhaya 100BHT for 3 hours, Varin 300BHT for 24 hours / 100BHT 1 hour).

As our bungalow was located slightly behind (or in line with) the reception area, not only did we have a view of the beach, but also a clear view straight into the reception area where the manager and his staff spent their time smoking and bickering.

Although the reception area was open to guests, it is rather small and it felt like we were unwelcome guests in someone's living room.
Any attempt to talk to or get any help from the staff was futile. The manager was downright rude and unhelpful from the minute we checked in, and did not seem to care much about his paying customers at all.
Check-in consisted of a grunt and a key slapped on the counter. No thank you, smile, or even eye contact was given upon checkout.
From what I could see, most of the time the reception was either unstaffed, or manned by non-english speakers and children.

Worth noting is that if you choose to stay here and for whatever reason have a bad experience, please be careful to post any critical or negative reviews or you could risk facing threats of legal action against you from the manager, like I did.

The overall customer service was among the worst I have ever experienced, but if you can look past this, Green View does offer nice accommodation in a prime location. Please be aware that you can find bungalows in a similar proximity to the water at a much lower price if you just ask around the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Preben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwRKohLipe, Owner at Green View Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Hello everybody,
I need to inform the readers that this revision is totally untrue because is due to personal anger of this custumer,and not rappresent me and Green View Beach Resort.
I'm very friedly with all the custumers,but certainly behavior that this guest shows are not wellcome in this resort;Respect to other hotel guests,child included and also to the hotel staff are conduct rules
well known by civilized and educated people....
I'm sorry if you no fell well accepted on green View small(48 square meter) reception,betwen other guests chill out ,look tv and surf the internet......but probably was your and your friend behavior that has not been accepted from other hotel custumes ...and no want to speak more.
I'm sorry if my staff not speak good english,but they not studied at Oxford English School!!!

For better explain I need to underline that this revision was originally posted with 3 points rate,but contain defaming comments on my person and so removed by Tripadvisor....
The second version is posted with 1 point of rate and many more false affermation ....wow...very fair from you!!..thanks for bad advertising.

In my resort i no advertise speed internet or adsl internet...just internet...
...here we are in a small island 64 kilometer offshore....internet works slowly..obviously...like
obviously you can not put toilet paper in the toilet....all people knows it!!
I must say also that Hotspot 1 is located on the reception and is used by many people that lay down on the beach and on the reception,during the day,so is very crowded and slow...but Hotspot 2 and Hotspot 3, that are betwenn the rooms, are less crowded and more fast.

Thank you everybody
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lipe hotels

Eygalieres, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Greenview Resort is for me: Paradise location .Bungalow with a lot of caracter, made of bamboo with a classy comfort and the very kind owner Angelo who cares a lot about enviroment ,nature and animals which made my stay complete. Just imagine, in the morning, step out of your bed, 50 steps and you lay in the most incrededible clear sea. After that have breakfast next door of tropical delights and then nice beach walk or island discovery. or just lay on the beach beds of greenview. Everything is so easy going in and around greenview no worries about the way you dress,or what you do. I enjoyed every minute of my stay at Greenview and cannot wait until my next visit,

Ineke

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piet_de_boer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a little cluster of about 15 beach huts. They are all located directly on the best beach in Koh Lipe. The location is perfect. We spent a week on Koh Lipe and think that these bungalows are ideally situated.
They are very, very clean and very well looked after. Some of the best bungalows i've seen in Thailand. All bungalows have an en suite bathroom. They all have a mosquito net over the bed.
The only downside to these bungalows ( and any other bungalows on Koh Lipe) is that bugs and creepy crawlies will get in. We found a green praying mantus, several cockroaches and a few ants in our bungalow. You will also need to spray yourself in mosquito repellent before going to sleep. You are on a tropical island and any other bungalow would be the same. If creepy crawlies don't bother you then i highly recommend staying here. If bugs are a problem then stay in a concrete place

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberrylolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We love this place. We've been there three times already. The wonderful bungalows are quite big. They are made of bamboo and have attached bathrooms which are up to date european standard. Better than many around. We love the romantic mosquito net above the huge bed, the bed linnen from Italy. The boys just love your bedsheet with the fishes on the additional bed. We enjoy sitting in front of the bungalow, read and look at the amazing garden around, shade, greens of all variations and lots of colourful flowers.
Your place is perfect and we will be back as soon as there are less boats on the beach and once they all have silencers!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makaluflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Quite cheap accommodation but very very nice.

The bungalows are real bungalows - no brick houses but mostly made of bamboo. Only bathroom is made of bricks and it's good as it has glaze walls and even when simple - it meets western standards (but it's also covered in bamboo outside so the whole house looks nice like wooden). The bungalows are in a nice garden and you have only few steps to the beach.

There are wooden deck chairs on the beach for guests (and you can put them in shade of the trees) and restaurants are nearby. A shop with canned drinks and beer is just few steps away.

The bed is very comfortable and it has a four-poster mosquito net so mosquitos aren't a problem at night.

I read several bad reviews about the Italian owner before we went there but I simply cannot agree with them! The owner is really nice and helpful and very talkative (well, he's Italian). He's a really nice guy. He kindly asks to follow some ecologic rules as the whole resort is ecologically-themed - you can see that he is truly concerned with preserving the environment.

The internet connection is pretty bad and I couldn't really do anything online.

The location is excellent just in the middle of the Pattaya Beach and close to the Walking Street where more restaurants and shops are located. Keep in mind that the beach is crowded with longtails and even if there's a designated swimming area just in front of the Green View it's not the best place for swimming. The longtails also make some noise during the day. But it's not this single resort issue - it's whole Pattaya Beach. The best thing is to go on a one-day snorkeling or diving or beach relaxing trip during the day and return before the sunset to relax.

Room Tip: Garden view bungalows are perfectly fine. Beachfront bungalows are two times more expensive but hey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b79pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

a relatively cheap option given our bungalow on the beach front (about 15 metres from the water). reception dude is a laid back italian guy who seems cold at first glance, but really is a decent man after a chat.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Butterflybry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.2 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.1 mi away
Z-Touch Lipe Island Resort
0.5 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green View Beach Resort

Property: Green View Beach Resort
Address: 80 Moo 7, Ko Lipe, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lipe
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lipe
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green View Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green View Beach Resort is located derectly on the beach. Our spacious traditional Thai Style Bungalows are specially handcrafted with eco-friendly material: bamboo,wood, earthen tiles and granit. This special design allows to catch the marine breeze,and ensures that cool air is fully circulated, making it comfortable even without a fan. Western-style bathrooms, have clean water showers and water-saving flushes. Respect for the environment in an eco-friendly place. Our bungalows are very spacious,starting from 28 to 32 square meters. Hi-Speed Wi-Fi connection is available in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Green View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green View Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing