We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondefully romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Serendipity Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ko Lipe
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wondefully romantic”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I left the children at home and spent 6 wonderful nights at Serendipity in late January 2012. We had a great stay. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the highest of the bungalows (Number 10) meaning about 160 steps to get there but as a result we had privacy, it was quiet apart from the long tailed boats which can be heard all over the island but thankfully only for a few hours during the morning and again in the afternoon and not at night, and we had amazing views from our balcony. I really appreciated that the bungalows have been blended into the forest meaning that from the sea you can hardly see the resort. Also there were jungle trees everywhere with eagles, large fruit bats, frogs, geckos etc all around. The room was lovely - very comfortable but also simple and traditional. The island itself was more developed than I expected but Serendipity has the best spot on Koh Lipe with a nearly private little white sandy beach and lovely swimming, kayaking and snorkelling right off the beach and around a nearby island. The water is clear, the sand is white and there are loads of fish to see. The surrounding islands in the archipeligo are covered with jungle and totally undeveloped. We were there in the peak period and I would recommend going at a quieter time of year such as May when it would be more humid but much quieter. The restaurant was small and had spectacular views with lots of different comfy seating options. The food was great and reasonably priced. The Thai massages and snorkelling trip organised through the resort were also wondeful and great value. All in all a great holiday thanks to Noo, Carl and the other staff. Thanks again. Nina and Nick.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views and have pretty much the same layout although some have bigger balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    98
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
88
270
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at Serendipity for 6 nights in June 2011. We had a wonderful wonderful time! It was low season so the hotel was almost empty, only another couple was there. The island was very quiet too. But the weather was incredible the whole time we were there, and we really enjoyed the quiet.
The hotel was incredibly peaceful. We had the Big Lebowski for the first part of our stay, it was comfortable and had unobstructed breathtaking views with a large balcony.
However, the openness of the room to the outside led to mosquitoes and bugs coming in the room, and it did not have AC when we stayed there. I am very sensitive to mosquito bites so we decided to change rooms, but my boyfriend was not getting bitten and for most people it would not be an issue. The second room was a couple of floors higher but still had beautiful views, with a large comfortable bed, a sofa, an outside seating area and hammock, and a somewhat larger bathroom. And it had welcomed air conditioning... ;-)

One thing to note is the construction of bungalows that was starting up on the small beach by the hotel entrance, which may make it much less quiet and private once it is done. The beach of the hotel is very small but you can walk further on the island and find perfect spots to sunbathe and swim. One cons is the garbage that ends up on the beach from the village and boats who dump trash in the sea.

The hotel restaurant was laid back and again had beautiful views. The food was simple but delicious, exactly what we needed after a day snorkeling and swimming. Karl was very helpful and organized a couple of outings for us.

I would totally recommend this hotel, compared to other places on the island. It has an adventurous, authentic, laid back, yet luxurious feel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocochou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here for five nights as part of a tour of South East Asia, and really couldn't have been happier. When our boat from Langkawi dropped us at Pataya Beach on Koh Lipe at the immigration office, there was someone from Serendipity to meet us with a long tail boat to take us and our bags to the resort, then when we arrived, the assistant manager was there to greet us with a drink and information about the resort and the island.

We had an air con room, which was pretty much at the top of the resort (I think it was the second highest there) and that did mean a lot of steps. If you have problems with stairs, this is not going to be the resort for you - it's hard work. The room/villa when we got to it was excellent. It is very rustic, but in keeping with the area, and nicely done. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a patio area with stunning views. The bathroom was good, in that it was clean and in good condition, though the shower was a little weak in terms of water pressure (a consequence of being at the top of a hill and a worthwhile trade-off to get the view), and the water was never especially hot. While it's relatively trivial, I wasn't especially impressed with the towels either, which seemed to be showing the signs of having been washed too many times (if I'm staying at a really good resort, I'm looking for towels that feel new, and after you've washed towels a couple of hundred times, that's just not the case!) Getting the air con room was worthwhile, especially after climbing all those steps.

The rest of the resort was very nice, with extremely helpful staff (the manager and the assistant manager especially) who went out of their way to arrange and trips we wanted to make, sort out massages in our room etc. The restaurant was good, with high quality food at good prices, and a nice location overlooking the sea. When you go down to the beach, there is a very secluded beach pretty much just for the resort (it's not actually a private beach, but you wouldn't find it if you weren't looking for the resort), with good snorkeling. Around the communal areas of the resort, there are nice areas set aside with hammocks etc. though when we were staying there was a large family at the resort who typically took up all of them all day each day, which was a shame.

Koh Lipe itself was very nice, though a lot busier than I expected. Walking Street, where there are a lot of bars and restaurants was always packed, and to be honest not especially nice as a result. After a couple of walks along it, we decided that it wasn't really worth leaving the resort, what with the resort being as nice as it is. One other thing to note is that while mosquitos are not there in huge quantities, there are enough, and if you are prone to getting bitten (which I am), go armed with plenty of insect repellant.

All told this place was the highlight of a trip with many highlights. I would be happy to recommend it to anyone other than those I don't think fit enough to climb all the stairs, and would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend paying a little more to get a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here for our Honeymoon for 4 nights in an air conditioned bungalow. Our bungalow was the highest on the resort and there were over 200 steps from the beach to the bungalow, so it was quite a challenge returning to your bungalow ! However, it was a fun experience and certainly burned the calories off. The assistant manager was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, the hotel is at the end of the resort so be prepared to walk to The Walking Street where you can cut through Castaway to get there. Overall a great resort, but be prepared to climb lots of steps.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissatorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

To keep it short, this is appears to be the best resort on the beach! Stunning service, great rooms and friendly staff. They provide you with everything - snorkelling gear, kayaks, beach towels beach bags etc. A little note on the noise from the longtails though.. they do come across quite often during the daytime.. can be quite a nuisance for those intolerant to noise. But still, would not have stayed anywhere else on this island!

Best thing about this resort though is that it has its own 'private' section of a beach. Albeit a bit small, its not polluted by longtails like on the other beaches. It also offers one of the best snorkelling spots on the island - you can swim to and cirlce that little island just off that stretch of the island!

Room Tip: There's a map of the rooms on their website - the rooms are perched on a hill, so the further ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimihdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
628 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This lovely secluded echo-friendly resort is located at the end of the Sunrise beach. After arriving at Pattaya beach by ferry, we took a long-tail boat to the resort. When we arrived, Carl was waiting for us and as we were tired after a delay of a couple of hours, he immediately took us to our bungalow and served us welcome drinks.
Staff was extremely friendly and goes almost unnoticed, which is perfect if your goal is full relaxation and isolation. This seemed to be the philosophy of the resort anyway - DYI and if you need extra just ask.
We requested a scrub and a Thai massage, definitely worth the money. Food in the restaurant was also very good, even though one can find cheaper options in the village, 10 minutes walking distance.
Our bungalow was just as we expected: wonderful sea view, cosy, clean. They give a lot of complementary bottles of water, which for us was really helpful.
They leave next morning's breakfast in the fridge when they pass at the end of the afternoon to light up the anti-mosquito incense. Breakfast was quite modest for the resort prices (the basics: milk, coffee, juice, bread, cereals and pastry) but anyhow it was enough to get by and having it on the balcony overlooking the turquoise ocean it tasted like heaven.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked this mainly due to the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. When we arrived we were greeted by Carl who was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, in fact all the staff were. Nice cool drink on check-in, and then we were shown to our A/C sea view bungalow. The wooden bungalows (on stilts) have been very cleverly located on the hill above the beach amid the trees. They are very spacious inside, and outside have a really large balcony with a view of the sea through the trees. I have to say the view is easily worth all the steps! On the balcony there was a large double sunbathing bed, hammocks, seating area, table where we had our breakfast. Lots of nice touches as in fresh coffee in the room (never had that in any hotel before), a little bag with a torch, UK plug adaptor and a mobile phone to contact reception if we needed anything. We stayed for four nights but on the last night had to move to a fan sea view bungalow. This was just as nice, in fact it had a better view, and to be honest we did not really miss the A/C. We did not use the restauarnt a lot because we like to try different places, but the food we did have was very good. Only criticisms were: breakfast, quite nice having it delivered but would have liked some choice as to what we got, and the lighting in the bungalow was poor, not enough to read anywhere. Finally, I think the main point is that the accommodation is very much in sympathy with the location and environment, and not ‘ultra modern’ or western in its style (as in Idyllic Concept), and as such is very appealing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerLightening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.1 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#6 of 18 in Ko Lipe
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.6 mi away
Akira Lipe Resort
Akira Lipe Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Ko Lipe
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Beach Resort

Property: Serendipity Beach Resort
Address: 276 Moo 7 | T. Koh Sarai, Ko Lipe 91110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serendipity Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Koh Lipe Resort with secluded beach is located at the south end of sunrise beach on the idyllic island of Koh Lipe where you can enjoy magnificent views of surrounding islands with uninterrupted beaches and tropical jungle. Beautiful sunrises, breathtaking sunsets combined with white sand beaches and abundant marine life makes Koh Lipe a growing first choice for an unforgettable holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Serendipity Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Beach Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing