We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$96
View deal
Priceline
US$96
View deal
Trip.com
US$95
View deal
eDreamsUS$96
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
841
151
39
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
841
151
39
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big lebowski on the rocks every morning deluxe pool villa turn down service breakfast is served infinity pool sea view walking street perfect view andaman sea small island high tide our honeymoon spent nights mosquito net long tail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012


Late March: We stayed at The Box (fantastic place for the budget-conscious) for the 1st night before heading to Serendipity for the next three days. I selected this place after SO much contemplation (due to the cost), and i have absolutely no regrets! Everything was perfect. The bungalow's very spacious, laid back, rustic and beautiful. i especially adore the design of the bathroom. Sarongs, games, a water-resistant bag, torchlight, maps of the island, a phone for emergency or room service, etc, are all provided, including the kayaks and snorkeling gear which are free for use. Breakfast on the porch / swinging on the hammocks with views of the open sea have to be two of my favorite things to do.. The croissants were cold from the fridge and wouldn't fit into the toaster, so we left them in the sun for a few minutes and then they were all nice and warm heh. This also means it gets ridiculously hot in the afternoon, so if you can't bear the heat I highly suggest choosing a bungalow with air-con. We dined at the restaurant only once, but we really splashed out. The red snapper was DIVINE. So was the calamari, and the banana smoothie, and the cheesecake, and the white wine, well you get my drift.. plus we were literally dining under the stars, and with the waves crashing down below.. 

Essentially, everything about serendipity is terrible romantic. 

The only drawback is that their prices just increased, which is such a bummer for broke undergraduates like myself. :(

Whatever queries you have just approach Carl or Jay or any of the staff they're absolutely lovely! xoxo

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal-Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is the nicest hotel I ever been to,
Can't complain on anything.
All the staff were so friendly.
We stayed 4 nights and tryed to stay longer but it was fully booked.
We really had the best time On this beatiful resort, I will tell all my friends to go there.
They really make you feel like home.

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My fiance and I returned from Thailand 2 days ago, having spent our last two nights of a three week holiday at Serendipity, and as I sit here at my desk back at work, the imagines that keep jumping into my head of Thailand are all images and scenes from our time spent at Sernedipity. I just absolutely loved this resort and the stand out feature for me was indeed the bar and restaurant area and it's great location. The bar / restaurant is built into the hillside and so on the one side you can actually see the rocks against which the bar / restaurant is built. There is then also a deck with bright coloured cushions on the otherside and built over the sea. The views are absolutely amazing and sitting on this deck, having lunch and a few Chang's was a great experience and make up some of my favourite memories.

The bungalows at the resort are large and spacious and each bungalow also has it's own private deck with hammocks. We had fantastic views from our bungalow and enjoyed the space that we had. Yes, there are a lot of steps to climb but it wasn't an issue for us in any way. We felt that the steps were wide enough to be safe and I remember railings along the steps for most if not all of the way. Having said that though, I would not recommend the higher bungalows for elderly people but there are a few bungalows lower down that have a minimum amount of steps, so don't let that alone put you off coming to the resort.

The food at the restaurant was very delicious if a little pricy but I suppose that comes with the territory when you stay at a more expensive resort. Having said that though, it is easy enough to walk along Sunrise beach and we found a place a hundred meters or so from Serendipity that did a great seafood BBQ right on the beach and so there are other options for food if you are happy to take a short walk. To be honest though, the views from Serendipty as well as the prettiness and comfort of the resort make you not want to leave, and ok, so the food and drinks cost more than elsewhere, but what the heck.

Our only slight complaints about the resort are the following: 1) the longtail boats. The noise seems to be slightly worse at Serendipity than at other resorts, probably because of it's location and the fact that the sound seems to echo off the hillside. Steve (one of the owners) did tell us that it is likely that an attempt will be made to get the longtail boats to use silencers from next season and if this pans out, it would make the whole of Lipe more enjoyable. 2) The cost of the resort and the food and drinks. This might have been more of an issue for us as South Africans than for other tourists as our Rand is not the strongest and so we found the resort expensive. If one compares the resort to other resorts on Koh Lipe, it is an expensive resort but the location of the resort is divine, it is very comfortable and the staff (especially Khem) and manager (Carl) were all great and so I suppose you are paying for what you get. 3) The shower was not the best because of the weak water pressure and the fact that our shower seemed to have a bit of a defective shower head and water sprayed out at different angles but in Serendipity's defense, we never reported the problem as it really wasn't too serious. 4) The lack of airconditioning. We were at Serendipity in April which is the hottest month of the year in Thailand and the fact that there was no airconditioning was a little bit of an issue. We would have loved to have an airconditioner and at 5800THB a night, I think one could be forgiven for perhaps expecting the comforts of an aircon.

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort and if we ever travel to Koh Lipe again, we will make this place our home for the duration of our stay - we'll just have to save a little longer and a little harder! And perhaps not visit in the hottest month of the year if there are no aircons installed! Koh Lipe though is a brilliant place and it was our favourite island in the whole of Thailand and to end off our overseas holiday at this great resort on the best island was a great experience.

Room tip: For great views and lots of privacy choose a room as high up as you can, however, be mindful of the fact that there are a lot of steps and so if you have any health issues or are very unfit, then opt for a bungalow lower down.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimE223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayEkkathattanan, Owner at Serendipity Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Hi, thanks for your review and kind comments, we are very lucky with our location and want to make it the number one spot on Lipe to drink, dine and relax so your comments are very encouraging.
This low season we are planning many improvements, mostly driven by guest feedback which is always appreciated. We are making some changes to the route the steps and walkways take up the hillside to make the steps easier to negotiate and as safe as possible.
we are glad you enjoyed the food and hopefully drinks in the restaurant, Our Chef is constantly reviewing the menu to provide value and variety and we are always looking at our supply chain and the transportaion method to ensure fresh, good quality ingredients are delivered at the optimum cost.

Best Regards,
Serendipity Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our stay at Serendipity and Koh Lipe was beyond our expectations and one of our best vacations ever. We had 8 absolutely wonderful days in a paradise compare to the touristic catastrophe at Phuket. The concept, bungalows, food, beach and the personal at Serendipity is worth go back. There is only one thing who is a problem, not only for Serendipity, its for whole Thailand and especially Koh Lipe, the long tail boat make a terrible high noise so it feel sometimes that you are in a war zone and not the paradise. Hope the boat owners understand the problem and fix muffler soon, if not take earplugs with you to Koh Lipe. Julia and Mats

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatsAstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayEkkathattanan, Owner at Serendipity Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Hi Julia and Mats,

Thanks for posting your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed Serendipity. We are planning to make lots of improvements during the low season to try and make sure we exceed our guests expectations. There is talk on the island that next year longtail boat licenses will only be issued to those captains that have put silencers or mufflers on their engines.... we are investigating whether this is actually going to happen or not and will post news re. this initiative on our website. If not, we at Serendipity are considering an initiative ourselves whereby we coordinate the islands business community to sponsor / incentivize the boat captains to make the changes to reduce the noise problem. once again thanks and hope to see you guys again.


Sincerely,
Serendipity Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early March and wish it had been longer. We had one of the top bungalows [Room 9] and were fully aware of the 160 odd steps to reach the top. Anyway, after a few trips it wasn't so bad and if we went again we would chose the top because of the privacy you get. The steps and railings are perfectly safe even late at night as the paths are well lit and a torch is provided.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, from meeting us with a longtail boat at the ferry arrival, carrying our bags and organising a day snorkeling on the reefs. The beach is small especially at high tide but the hammocks near by and the snorkelling to be done always gives you other options to lying on the beach.

The breakfast provided in your room is ample for the day and we found it pleasant to be able to start our day at our leisure without having to be in a restaurant for the standard breakfast fare provided by lots of resorts. The restaurant is lovely with great food and stunning views. They do make great cocktails as well. Pricing is very reasonable and the service was great.

The longtail boats are noisy but it is all part of the island life and experience, as was the friendly tree frog in the shower. We loved it all and wish we had been able to stay longer.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayEkkathattanan, Owner at Serendipity Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thanks for taking time out to review us, it is much appreciated and lifts the team spirit when we receive (and share) such positive reviews. We are thinking of ways to enhance the top most rooms to compensate for the long walk up, the idea being that once you are up there, you don't want to leave..!

Hope to see you guys again

Best Regards,
All of us at Serendipity Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews