We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet side of island with nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe
Ranked #2 of 30 Ko Lipe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at the Mountain Resort Koh Lipe in December 2013. The resort is a series of villas on the quiet side of the island away from most of the rest of the development on the island. There is a truck that gives free rides to the main walking street, but it gets crowded and stops running a little early. The villas are decent size with decent furnishings. The bathrooms are connected to the villas but are outdoors with somewhat limited privacy (someone could have been in the adjecent water storage building and watched us taking showers. There were many mosquitos in the outdoor restrooms but they did not seem to bite. The view from the restaurant is very nice and there is a small protected beach that is used mostly by the guests of the Mountain Resort. Among our group of six we debated on the rating between 4 and 5 with benefits being the view and the reasonable price for what was a very busy weekend on the island (between Christmas and New Year's), but due to its location away from the main part of the island and the outdoor bathrooms we concluded a 4.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoHiddenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed 7 nights in deluxe sea view nr 11. The room it self was ok,quietly expensive ill say,good size bathroom,nice balcony with stunning view,close to restaurant with same amazing view and for some reason very windy during evenings and nights only around sea view rooms.
Beach around is a best beach i ever been,color of water is just magical,white sand,not crowded at all,simply beautiful.
Resort it self have lack of soul,a lot of same in a rows bungalows,a lot of construction happen at the back so avoid that area to stay.
Other wise koh lipe is fantastic place to stay,no matter where.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chef-Arczik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 8 nights in Mountain Resort over Christmas 2013. Having been to Koh Lipe before and also had lunch in the Restaurant a couple of times during that trip (2011/2012) we decided that on of the three weeks in Lipe this time would be at Mountain Resort. We are not too impressed over all. The resort is clean and looks nice and the bungalows are spacious and well kept, but the place has no soul. It's way too big for an island like Lipe and the staff feel indifferent. The hotel has access to one of the best parts of the Lipe beaches and the Restaurant has an overwhelming view, but that together with the nice rooms does not make the overall expectations being met. Mountain Resort feels like hotel industy. Far from the personal, friendly thai style hotels and bungalows you'd expect on Koh Lipe. And to be perfectly honest, the breakfast is sad, and very boring. We are a family of four, quite travel experienced and we would probably not recommend Mountain Resort to friends. So why recommend it to TripAdvisor friends..? And no, it is not cheap either. Positives - Location and room size, cleanliness and shuttle service, Negatives - The rest, almost...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delavira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Main point-they have a very nice view of the andaman sea. And u can enjoy it from the breakout area/restaurant.

Quiet beach and not so crowded with people or even the long tail boats.

Get the new wing for nice room with aircond and cable TV. Wifi was ok.

Pricey indeed!!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xanthus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The only good thing about this place is the location and spacious rooms. In my opinion it is not worth the price you pay for and here is why:
1) Service is really average - no proper management and staff cannot understand English so expect very minimal/basic service and facilities provided to you.
2) This resort lacks charm/character can seem "cold"
3) The breakfast is average and not at all satisfying
4) There is no proper deck/chilling spot on the beach for you to laze

But I must compliment their shuttle service. Very frequent and easy to go to walking street but god forbid if u ask them to go anywhere else on the island as they will say OK but not take u where u want to go…i think this is because of the language/service breakdown

Where I would recommend:
1) Serendipity - if you want high end. Super location and rooms. Service is good too
2) Wapi Resort - medium end. Great staff, service and food. Also best chilling spot on the island

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophye21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It was my first trip to Koh Lipe and my wife organized the Mountain Resort where we stayed in a Beach Villa the first night and Mountain View villa the second & third nights. Both rooms were comfortable and clean. As this is a new property they are building new rooms and seem to be over looking some details that could make the experience better. This is a beach resort, so there will always be lots of clothes drying - having extra racks to dry clothes would be a huge help to snorkelers, divers, and beach goers.

The Staff was very friendly and helpful. I was always greeted with a smile.

I will definitely plan on going again and staying with them. I really liked the property and the land and sea around it was simply amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysondroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Unfortenately I can no longer recomend this place. Three years ago I would've but they completely ruined a place that was some what ok yet pricy. Today, unfortenately I must say it is only pricy. Bad service. Bad cleaning. No working wifi (go to harmony bakery or pooh or Castaway instead if wifi is important ro you) and thet managed to transform the place to a sterile concrete nightmare. Cars, stench, trash that noone takea care of (attracting bugs) etc. Worst of all is np sercvice, noone cares what you think - you already paid so they're good. Instead go to pitiusas or any of the other friendly resorts. Take care of koh lipes environment!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Eco_emc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.6 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.9 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
0.5 mi away
Akira Lipe Resort
Akira Lipe Resort
#4 of 18 in Ko Lipe
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Resort Koh Lipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Resort Koh Lipe

Address: 57 Moo 7, Sunrise Beach | Koh Sarai, Ko Lipe, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lipe
Price Range: £50 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Resort Koh Lipe 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Resort located on the end sunrise beach where is the best view point of sunset on this Island but, you can get the view of sunrise from here also. We are only one resort that has private beach, moreover in front of the resort still has the hard coral where you can snorkeling and enjoy with aquatic animal.Mountain Resort provide both of Fan and Air-condition bungalows. Our concept is "Clean and Private" but you can walking to walking street with in 10 Min, if you don't like to walk. We provide free buggy-car for transport. We are newbies in this hotel business and all of your comments and reviews always helpful to us. We will make the best holiday for every tourist. Thank you very much. :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Resort Koh Lipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Resort Koh Lipe Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing