We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”
Review of Anda Resort

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anda Resort
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I would disagree with a former review and would say exactly the opposite : good staff, poor bungalows.
Basically the bungalows are "nice" BUT with poor equipment, and bad maintenance : the door handle would fell down every 5 minutes and I would need to report it to finally have it fixed (how could noone else notice before...), the taps are rusty and loose, the A/C leaked during the last night, waking us up to move out all our stuff already wet...
The rooms/bungalows are clean, but the bathroom is not : spider-webs averywhere, small insects nests installed in some corners for weeks/months/ever(?) without nobody taking them out, ...there is a clear lack of standard and supervision in what is done. Eventhough the owner is hanging around all day, he doesn't seem to care on checking those kind of "details"...
The sides and back part of the bungalows are not "decorated" wih wood panels, they are left with rough ciment, which bring a very poor feeling (not nice at all). Depending where you stay, you may face those walls each time you are inside your room...
The "resort" is under developpement, so you'd better check where will be your room before otherwise you may end up in the first part of the resort, a bit far from the beach (which is still not far) but where you will face the construction work (and this is bad...)
The surrounding of the resort, that you MUST walk through each time you enter or exit the hotel, is really dirty. A pity. That is where some staff live, but the area is totally "abandonned" and no care is shown to keep it clean. Owner's problem to me, not caring at all of the place and his staff.
The worst part though is if you have a room on the first floor. Then you won't sleep before your neighbour on the second floor have gone to bed, because each one of their step will prevent you to sleep ! Same in the morning, you'd better be up before them, or the single of their step will wake you up ! 100%. Believe me.
The staff was VERY nice, especially Tan and one guy from the housekeeping which took a special care of our family and I thank them again for that.
Food is good, breakfast as well.
December visit : wind everyday on that beach, in that case you would go to another beach, Sunset beach, 20mn from here.
Kids were all in all very happy, we could manage the room even with its shortcomings, but considering the price, it is really overpriced for what it is. If we'd go back, we'd try another place.

Room Tip: avoid the first part of the resort (the part far away from the beach) ; avoid the first floor for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    38
    38
    28
    28
See reviews for
25
74
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were there during low season in Aug. 2012 with about 20 family members and it was a wonderful experienced. The boat ride to get there was very rough, since its a low season and the weather changes everyday. But once we arrived, the weather became better and even got very hot the next 3 days. In front there are a wonderful place, a small island to snorkel, you don't even have to go far. But we did anyway, we went to the far island (ko pheung, hin son, ko mai phai), great snorkelling trip with 2 longtail boats, we rent for 1600 bht each the whole day.
We were very happy with the girl name Yu, who helped us with the rooms (cost from 2000-3500 bht during low season) which is worth it, including breakfast.

Overall, Anda was wonderful. Next to Idyllic and Castaway.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view is very nice (# 1,2,3), and the superior Bungalow # 6 (where you can see the ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

After walking from the Ferry drop off we finally found this place which looked beautiful and had spacious comfortable rooms. The staff seemed to be unavaiable most of the time, all relying on the one english speaking receptionist for everything. The rooms are large and huge four-poster beds with nets very comfortable but because the walls are basically glass windows, they feel very dark as for privacy the curtains need to remain closed. Lovely open air bathrooms are the highlight! Breakfast limted and disappointing but adequate before a days diving. We paid about 150usd per night which seemed rather steep considering the lack of facilities and lack of service but accept that a remote island like this is paradise and worth it!

Room Tip: Back row bungalows have more privacy allthough less sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our first time to Koh Lipe and what a beautiful island. We checked out most of the resort on the island before we decided on Anda. During low season many of the resorts and restaurants are closed. Being on the sunrise side of the island was a good choice in July, because the weather come from the other side and we were kind of sheltered from most of the wind and waves. We had a beach front bungalow with a perfect view. And I agree with other reviewers, the semi open bathroom is not of the same standard as the rest of the bungalows, even though some of them comes with a Jacuzzi. I didn't quite get the idea of the square hole in the "floor", other than animals from outside had free passage. (We did have a toad in our bathroom). All of the 5 bungalows we stayed in had the same concept. And there is too little light in the bungalow, also in the bathroom. We were a party of 11 people (3 families) and had the entire resort by ourselves almost all the 5 nights we stayed there. The front and side walls of the bungalows are slide windows, so you can practically open the whole bungalow in 3 sides and have a feeling of lying in bed in the middle of the beach. Unforgettable.
The couple cleaning the rooms made fantastic creations of the towels every day. Just for that, is worth staying here.
The restaurant served good food, but due to the season there was a lot of "No have". E.g. chicken cashew nuts without cashew nuts :-). And we often have to wait for about an hour before all of us have got food on the table.
They have free WiFi, but the speed was so bad that no one could really use it. And all of the internet cafes were closed for the season.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and gave us the service we needed.
Almost without any exceptions, all the long tails made terrible noises, starting from 7 am. The must do something with their engines (or exhaust pipes). Almost all the long tales in e.g. Phi Phi have silencer on their engines.
I would certainly recommend this place and would love to come back

Room Tip: Front beach bungalows are 2 meters away from the sea at high tide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Everything about this resort is perfect, maybe except the price. We thought we came to paradise. The staff is so helpfull in nice. Room was so romantic and clean. We were impressed by the outside Bathroom.Eating breakfast on such a beautiful beach is really great. The only down side is the noise of motor boats, that are driving around all day. But our bungalow wasn't a beach front, so this wasn't such a big problem for us. I was really impressed by things you get in hotel. You have an umbrella in the room, they have kayak's, snorkels, sun hats, bags for the beach and all is included in the price for the room. Maybe they could have massages later in the evening, but you can go in the centre of the island. The centre is a 5 minute walk from hotel, through a little dirt, but this is Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a really terrible start with Anda, after staying a glorious 4 nights at Serendipity Resort, which in our opinion is the best hotel on the island.
While we were still at Serendipity, we decided to take a little walk along the beach and check out what was going to be our next resort on the island for the second half of our trip. We introduced ourselves to the manager, and explained that we had booked with Agoda, a sea-view/beach bungalow.
To our surprise, the pictures of Anda's accommodations on the website, did not reflect the room that was assigned to us. As we tried to explain the mix-up, they replied by saying that this was a problem they have been facing recently with Agoda, but that in the end "wasn't their problem". Now it seems as though Anda and Agoda have sorted out their website issue, but in the meantime, we were stuck with an expensive accommodation which did not live up to our expectations.
Make sure when you book online you know what you are getting!

The redeeming qualities of this hotel was the beautiful beach with sunbeds and the clean and luxurious bungalows.
The service was poor - with little to no professionalism and no english, which in general wouldn't be a problem but in an expensive resort like this, should be required, at least to the bare minimum.
There was a lot of "hanging around", looking extremely bored right in front of our bungalow.
The outside bathrooms were decent, with a big jacuzzi tub - but there was a gaping hole where I guess a garden is meant to be planted.
It seems like there are great intentions with this place, they just haven't figured out how to tie the loose ends and put the finishing touches.

Overall, for the value it is definitely not worth what you pay. With that price, you expect a certain level of service. However, there is no disputing that it is one of the best locations on the island, and the bungalows are quite luxurious with A/C, big 4 poster bed, t.v., jacuzzi-tub, safety box, and great view.
Being that Serendipity & Anda are relatively the same price, there is no doubt in our mind that we would choose Serendipity over Anda - especially if service matters to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Moved here from the HORRIBLE SERENDIPITY RESORT next door, and it was a gem, the room was excellent and the A/c worked well, the resto was just next door, and the breakfast was hot and freshly made, Was right on the beach with maybe 5 meters into the water. The staff specially YU was very helpful at anything even helping us out pick food at Walking street. Overall a marvelous experience.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that are on the beach itself if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zanom Sunrise Resort
Zanom Sunrise Resort
#23 of 57 in Ko Lipe
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 57 in Ko Lipe
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
Cabana Lipe Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Ko Lipe
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lipe Power Beach Resort
Lipe Power Beach Resort
#26 of 30 in Ko Lipe
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bundhaya Villas
Bundhaya Villas
#4 of 57 in Ko Lipe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Anda Resort

Property: Anda Resort
Address: Moo 7 Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anda Resort on sunrise beach at Lipe island.With accommodation Bali Style and full facility in the room.We have location opposite U-sen island and various islands is same your holiday dream.With walk on solf white sand and swimming in the sea is cristal clear water under blue sky and solf wave sound.If you are the one love seaside, snockeling,talking sunbath by the sea,and staying at comfortable, quite, and personal accommodation, Hear...the Anda Resort will be the exact answer which will dafinitely satisfy you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing