We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
83
50
34
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
50
34
27
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in January. I paid 1900thb per night for a fan room. When we went to check in our room wasn't ready that was ok BUT then we went back in the afternoon and we where told that the people that was suppose to check out haven't done so. We where giving room 1 which was awful. At 1st it looked ok but then when we got in the smell have horrendous! The was some fungal smell and a damp smell.

We were then were told that we were not staying in this room and that we will be given our room which we did get. The room was nicer and not smelly BUT after the first night we began to smell sewage in the bathroom at first I thought it was normal as it is Lipe, then we realised that it was actually coming up into our bathroom. As we just had 2 nights left we decided just to go to bed late as the smell was awful. On the last night the smell was so bad it woke me up. I couldnt even pack my bags the next morning as I couldn't stay in the room. When I went outside I realised that our next door neighbour had the exact problem and they where outside too.

We brought the cleaners into our room to smell it and they had to hold their nose.....Yes how about sleeping in it!

Our room wasn't cleaned while we stayed there we had to ask for clean towels.
On the outside the rooms look nice but there is much better rooms for the price we got charged!

I would recommend Baan Kasirin 1 where we stayed for one night prior to out stay at the box. The room was not smelly, it had a TV, comfortable bed and provided shampoo and shower gel and it was only 1200thb.

I was actually really looking forward to stay here for our last 3 nights but what a mistake.

Tip - Harmony Guest House around the corner looks really nice.

Room tip: Try Baan Kasirn 1, its close to the beach and cheaper.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jabisanz, Owner at The Box - Lipe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Hello Dear Keith g.

I am jabier owner of THE BOX

I would like know more info about your booking because from the info i get from here i cant know how are you and also the room you stay.

Any way for what i read in your first review as member on TripAdvisor is something really offensive because that was just a problem for a few days and also is coming because some guest put the toilet paper into the bath and that make block the septic tank and become smell.
So really apologies for that and any inconvenience caused in your stay.
Also i will like to tell you something about the price. If you pay 1,900 Bath per night as you say. We don't have any Standard room with this price just the A/C room.

Thanks

Sincerely greetings from THE BOX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Second time around staying at The Box ,Lipe in less then 2 months! Is one of those places that if you dont pay attention to the line of little shops it will slip pass your muggle eye ( non magical folk) ( Harry Potter moments ) Tastefully build mimicking a tree house , very cozy ambiance. less then 5 mins walk to the beach and everything else. Thats all you do on Lipe actually. walk. In the room, do not expect a TV because that's the last thing you will need on Lipe. There is just to much to see out there. Be ready for an invitingly comfortable room , hot shower, friendly dogs and lovely people. Jabi is who you should look for . He will give you all you need for a perfect trip.On the side, Nee Papaya is a great place to dine in Lipe. Yummy till the last drop. Word of advice when your in the box ,if you have clumsy friends , refrain from playing cards on the deck. The tables are wooden with gaps in between, and the floors are also wooden with random small gaps in between. What are the dds of a card slipping thru the table and down thru the boards?! Well we lost the "4 of clubs"

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreidaFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jabisanz, Owner at The Box - Lipe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hello Dear
Usually people just make bad reviews and it makes me hurt my feelings but when I read a review like yours fills me full satisfacion
Thanks so much
Hope to see you again
King regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The BOX LIPE is a really nice accommodation. Stylish zen concept and friendly staff made our vacation ae the same time really cool and relaxing. In the very heart of LIPE Walking street, you can feel all the emotions of this wonderful island: beautiful sea, many shops, bars and restaurants and something like an hippy atmosphere. Jabier, the owner, is very kind and his mojito is the best of LIPE. We were with kids that really enjoy our holiday at THE BOX.

Room tip: The rooms in the back are more quiet.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florindagalli1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2013

To be honest, I am really surprised about the excellent reviews of this hotel. We stayed here just for one night, and we could not wait to move out the next day.

The first time we saw the hotel from the outside, we were actually quite happy. The whole „natural“ look made a good impression and the owner himself seemed to be quite nice and friendly. But that was just about it.

It is hard to describe the feeling when we entered the room. To describe it in a few words – it was old, dirty and smelly. For the price we paid I would never expected this kind of quality.

Absolutely everything seemed to be old and dirty. The bed was stone-hard and you could feel every single string when lying in it. The floor looked so untidy, that we did not trust ourseleves to walk barefoot. The bathroom was literally rotten. I have no idea how anyone who has taken a shower standing on a rotten wooden grille holding a shower head in one hand (as theres no hook to attach it to) could actually say it was enjoyable?! The overall look of the bathroom was so horrible that we just tried not to touch anything unless we really had to.

Another thing about the room was the air in it. It felt hot and high-humid like in a tropical rainforest – you literally could not breathe in it. The fan on the wall was not really much of a help. After we came back from our dinner in the evening and opened the door – inside was about 10 degrees more than outsite – which is really hot considering Koh Lipe is a tropical island.

Overall, I think it makes only sence to book this hotel if you have no intention whatsoever to stay in the room – just store your luggage and sleep on the beach. But even in this case you can find a far better place for this price. Price-value ratio unacceptable.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelista2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jabisanz, Owner at The Box - Lipe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hello Dear

As the owner of THE BOX. Sorry because you don't enjoy your stay.
The price of the room in the days you went maybe the price on these days this equated to its value but you have to understand that at that time all the hotels raise their prices because there is no room on the island.

I understand your dissatisfaction and I promise you that as soon as possible we will get to work to solve these problems

Thanks for your opinion

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The staff are friendly and helpful. The layout of the hotel is awesome, it's a very cool design. The rooms are spacious and clean. The place has a great vibe and the owner is really helpful. It's a short walk to the beach and close to a tonne of bars and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews