We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but there are a couple of considerations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forra Dive Resort - Sunrise Beach
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The bungalows are nicely spaced out on a quiet patch of Sunrise Beach. They are very picturesque, being made completely from bamboo, and the rates are very competitive for Koh Lipe. The common area / bar / restaurant is also very good with some excellent relaxing seats and hammocks etc. They also serve very good food.

If you’re thinking about diving, then it is probably the place to stay as they arrange it very well, and you get 25% discount for the days you dive.

The town area is just a short walk – around 5 to 10 minutes.

There are some down sides though. The bungalows are not comfortable. The steps are made from bamboo, and are quite steep (they are more like ladders than stairs). The beach front common area is on the non-sunset side of the island, so the views are not great, and it also get hits by strong breezes late in the afternoon.

A note in general about Koh Lipe; I found the local people to be the most unpleasant in all of Thailand, the only “industry” on the island is tourism, and I felt in a tourist trap from the moment we were dumped off the ferry. Over the tears we have left money tucked away in bags in the hotel room while they have been cleaned etc… I have never had a problem in Asia, but here the cleaner went through our bags and stole some. Of course, I am not blaming the resort (we were offered a safe at reception), but for me it demonstrates the nature of the locals on Koh Lipe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Its a good option if you want to be located next to the beach and you want to experence diving on Andaman's sea. Mercedes is the spanish manager of the place, really friendly. She makes you feel like home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxicuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

It was my 1st time travel solo to Koh Lipe.

Stayed: 6D5N with Forra Bamboo @ Pattaya Beach

The Bungalow:
- Is nice for me, as it remind me when i was young staying in a village.
- There is only 2 unit Bungalow facing the beach, so book early to avoid appointment
- The staff especially "Adreana" is a friendly women that will recommend you where to get good food & etc.
- Price is worth because i do get a good deal because i'm diving with them

Forra Dive:
- I did my Advanced with them, the instructor did a good job by explaining to me in details of though out the course.
- All the staff are friendly & do have the kindness to help out if you need any assistant
- Equipment is in good condition & i do feel safe diving with them.
- Their service is very professional

Looking forward to stay with them again.

Regards,
Joe Lim

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeLim113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My friend and I stayed at Forra on Pattaya for 5d4n. Our experience there is not too terrible but a lot of things stood out.

The positives.
1. Pretty chill area on the beach.
2. Adrianna and DM Cat are warm and friendly. Our dives with her were great.
3. Big boats that can take a big group and the lunch provided were good.
4. Instructors and DMs can speak a variety of languages.

I pretty much agree with most of the negative feedback here.
1. Bungalow is basic and big but it's dimly lit, has rats, no toilet roll, gecko droppings on the mosquito net. The beds are hard but the pillows are nice.
2. Other staff are not friendly.
3. The dive equipment are not maintained properly. I had to use two different BCDs and they both had some issues.
4. On our last day of diving we had a different DM, Stefan who is grumpy all the time and didn't seem to show much interest during the dives. The briefings before and after dives are short and seemed like an inconvenience to him. The were 2 other less experienced divers with us and he doesn't really monitor them.
5. Prices are expensive. The prices were given in Baht for deposit but paypal charges was in Euro, which were higher due to currency exchange.

I wouldn't recommend them as I'm sure there are better places with better prices and service.

Room Tip: The bungalows go further and further back. If possible, ask for the ones nearer to the beach or just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thaumos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at Forra Bamboo Resort on Pattaya Beach in January only for one night. We had to do some work durign our stay in Koh Lipe and there wasn't a suitable place so we moved to a different resort.

The bungalows are good price but very basic. Absolutely nothing in the room for your clothes, not a chair or small table, only cold water in the bathroom, no rails for towels, nice porch but no steps (as pointed out by another reviewer you've got to yank yourself up), no common area or outised space attached to this resort. We visited the other Forra resort on Sunrise and althoguh we liked less the beach the resort seems to be better with a very nice outside common restaurant/bar area with large comfortable seating.
The staff at Pattaya was great. Andreana, the resort manager, is lovely, professional and extremely helpful. Although we moved to a different resort I stayed with them for the diving and it was great. Lots of experienced, professional, passionate and safe guides, always small groups, large comfortable boats, lots of fun. Instructors and dive masters come from everywhere, so virtually all languages spoken. Many thanks to Cat, my great dive master and buddy for her competence and cheerfulness and for making enjoyable also my four otherwise disappointing dives (mediocre reef quality, poor visibility and strong current).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaninaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A wonderful week. Owners are welcoming you just like if you were old friends. Easy,, just so easy. Simple, so far away from the regular hotel welcoming !
Leave the comfort away and enjoy the simplicity. It is really relaxing when everything is so simple.
Take a dive and you will even relax more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Forra Bamboo resort both have bungalows on Sunrise beach and Pattaya beach. These two beaches offer quite different experiences. We stayed one night at Sunrise beach and 4 nights at Pattaya. Both places have the same simple bungalows, which are very good and clean and have everything you need. For the price this is a very good resort

These are the pros and cons of the two places.
Sunrise beach
Pros:
- More quiet beach
- Nice restaurant/bar attached to the resort
- Castaway resort next door which serve excellent food and drinks and has good wifi
- Very nice views of the small rocky islands off coast
Cons:
- Beach can get very windy and during hightide the beach is very small
- The bungalows are situated a bit back and none of them have seaview

Pattaya beach
Pros:
- Situated in the far end of Pattaya in a quiet spot (though still more lively than Sunrise)
- Some of the bungalows have seaview
- It is possible to connect to the wifi of next door Mali resort
- Beach is excellent
- Daya resort next door serve up excellent seafood barbeque and a nice local restaurant/bar right next to the resort serves excellent mojitos
Cons:
- The seaview is not as nice as on Sunrise
- More longtails boats on this beach
- A bit more noisy (but nothing than can prevent a good night sleep)
- No common area/restaurant/bar

All in all we had an excellent stay here and also did diving with Forra which was another great experience. By staying at Forra you furthermore get an easy and unique possibility of easily switching between Sunrise and Pattaya beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.4 mi away
Zanom Sunrise Resort
Zanom Sunrise Resort
#29 of 60 in Ko Lipe
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adang Sea Eco-Lodge
Adang Sea Eco-Lodge
#16 of 60 in Ko Lipe
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Family Song Bungalow
Family Song Bungalow
#3 of 60 in Ko Lipe
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Forra Dive Resort - Pattaya Beach
0.6 mi away
Bayview Sunset Resort
Bayview Sunset Resort
#30 of 60 in Ko Lipe
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Bed and Bakery
Harmony Bed and Bakery
#24 of 34 in Ko Lipe
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forra Dive Resort - Sunrise Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forra Dive Resort - Sunrise Beach

Address: | Sunrise Beach, Ko Lipe 91000, Thailand (Formerly Forra Bamboo Resort)
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range: £32 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Forra Dive Resort - Sunrise Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forra Bamboo Resort on Sunrise Beach was opened in 2006 and is comprised of 13 well-designed, spacious bungalows, built mainly from bamboo and natural materials by craftsmen from northern Thailand.Since january 2011, a new diver's resort has opened on Pattaya beach.This resort will be comprised of 15 new well-designed and special bamboo bungalows following the same concept as Forra bamboo resort on Sunrise Beach.The 2 resorts have been designed to take consideration of the natural environment and to leave as much space between bungalows as possible, to give maximum privacy.Forra Diving is renting big bamboo bungalows at a reasonable price for its divers so that they can enjoy their stay on Lipe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Forra Dive Resort - Sunrise Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forra Bamboo Hotel Koh Lipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing