We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Anturio(Huajuapan de Leon)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
4
9
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
9
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel del Portal. We chose the Malinalli Suite named after a former Mixtecan king and this set the tone for what was an adventure in Mixteca culture. The two story suite had a large living room and pleasant bathroom on the first floor and a charmingly decorated, large bedroom upstairs featuring a giant and comfortable bed and a large flatscreen tv.
The hotel is located directly on the main square of Tlaxiaco and as soon as you step out of the main door, you are in the middle of a vibrant and bustling market that operates till late in the evening and that can't have changed all that much since Malinalli held sway over the surrounding country.
The service at the hotel is excellent and, in no time, you feel part of the family. There is a large secure parking lot at the rear of the hotel. The hotel represents excellent value for money.
The hotel is organized around a large central courtyard in which lies the excellent El Patio restaurant. The menu features many traditional Mexican dishes and the speciality is Cocina Mixteca.
Tlaxiaco lies in a charming part of rural Oaxaca. If you want to get a sense of what Mexico is all about then a trip to Ciudad de Oaxaca (don't miss Monte Alban) and a side trip to the Hotel Del Portal in Tlaxiaco offers you more than twenty trips to Cancun!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We called in advance to reserve one of the suites in the front, older part of the property. When we arrived, the room we had reserved was not available and did not become available during our 4 day stay. So we were sent to occupy one of the motel-style rooms in the rear, surrounding the parking lot. We probably would not have made the trip from Oaxaca City to Tlaxiaco if we had known we'd be put in one of the rear rooms. These rooms in the rear are immaculately clean and have clearly been renovated in the past few years. The rooms have few redeeming features and are very basic, like a roadside motel anywhere in Southeastern Mexico. No wall decor at all, so just a basic Navajo White paint and tile job throughout. The beds are harder than I can deal with--would be ok for younger people but not for anyone who requires some level of comfort. There were extra blankets in the closet so we put those over my mattress and I slept on top of them in order to soften up the mattress...it worked out fine. Bring your own memory foam if you live nearby and travel by car to this hotel. The interior courtyard that serves as the parking lot is noisy, more so if you are in a ground floor room where both the noise and car fumes are very close. The upper floors (there are 3) are quieter.

We did have a chance to view two of the suites in front and they are much nicer, carpeted, and the bed I sat on to test it was quite nice. The Presidential Suite (about $40 dlrs a night when we visited) is excellent and has one king bed only. The bedroom is up some stairs in a nice loft, with a living room and bathroom downstairs. We have mixed feelings about the restaurant as well. Gloriously, it specializes in regional food from Western Oaxaca, all of which is very good and the menu includes many dishes that even the most seasoned Mexico hand is unlikely to have come across previously. The food is all well prepared, served quickly and tastes good. We found to menu to contain really a lot of meat-based items and most of them tended toward brown or tan colors. If you're thinking about California cuisine with lots of veggies and colors on the plate, then this won't be your favorite restaurant, but testing all those local dishes is a bonus. We had some discomfort with cleanliness on the part of one of the wait staff but the rest of the dining room operation reassured us on that topic.

The hotel faces the market plaza and its day is Saturday although on this visit, we found the market filled with stalls and very busy all day Friday as well. The market is only slightly focused on regional crafts, but their hand-made pottery is delightful, well made and has those wonderful black fire marks in places over the beautiful tan clay. These pots, which are fairly large, are made hand without molds so each one is slightly different from any other. The Tlaxiaco pottery is really a form of fine art.

We liked the front porch where simple chairs and tables are set out mainly for use by customers of the bar-coffee house which has a wide selection of excellent coffees and alcohol items. It's a great place to watch the market and the citizenry from.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GringoOnEarthFilming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I give this hotel a 4 star as it is one of the only hotels in this remote area of the Oaxaca Sierras. It is right on the main plaza and has a large decent restaurant. We were with a tour group and first room offered was in the back, "newer" 3 story section. There are ashtrays in every room and this room had wall to wall carpets and it appeared to hold more smoke smell than normal. We asked to be moved and were offered a bigger room in the back "newer" section for the same price or for a small increase in the rate ($3.50 USD per night) a room in the front colonial section. We took the colonial room. It had 2 double beds, lots of towels and a good shower. There was a small window onto the dinning area in the middle courtyard. Noisy till about 9 pm then very quiet. Our room was #103. Great location for the weekly Saturday market...which is just outside the main door!

Room Tip: any room in the older colonial area would be my choice
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

If you are traveling in this part of Oaxaca there are not a lot of options. We have stayed here with groups doing research in the area and have seen that local groups also have their meetings here in the conference rooms. The hotel is in a large building built around a courtyard, where the restaurant is located. The restaurant serves a great breakfast with local and international choices. The 'Texano' is hot cakes, eggs and bacon. On Sunday evening the restaurant does not open, so be warned. There are a few rooms in the main building and others in the back. Rooms have all the basics and there is always hot water. It gets cold in the evenings.
The parking is a big plus.
A walk through the market is interesting as there is regional produce and crafts that are different from other parts of Oaxaca. Tlaxiaco is the big city for the region.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are bigger than the ones in the back by the parking area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maguey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

During a recent road trip through Oaxaca, we stopped in Tlaxiaco for Saturday market day. The Hotel del Portal is very reasonably priced, has many rooms and parking available. The hotel is actually quite large and the room was quiet despite the Market festivities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bgagosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews