We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly outstanding! Best tour I've ever taken.”

Review of D Day Tours B&B

The Manoir de Founcroup
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011 The gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011
The gardens
View from the Tower
The farmhouse kitchen
Sitting room
The Kingcome room - named after Brian Kingome a superb WWII Spitfire pilot
The Victorian room
The style of the bathrooms
Part of the greeting team - Saffron
Jaye and Saffron
Ben
Ben and his Spitfire
Ben not having a good afternoon - crashing the Spitfire!
The Cannon...
Firing the cannon - just your regular Sunday afternoon...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Picauville, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick P
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly outstanding! Best tour I've ever taken.”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My son and I spent a wonderful three nights and two days with Ben and Jay Trumble of the D-Day Tour Company. The hospitality was incredible and the Manoir is awesome! Jaye is not only a great cook but a very lovely lady as well. Ben is extremely knowledgeable about WWII history, especially the Allied invasion in June 1944. He did not need a prepared script. Rather, he spoke from a deep base of knowledge about the American and German forces, their weapons and tactics. I recommend this tour most enthusiastically.

My son was a platoon leader in the 505th PIR of the 82nd Airborne Division. And after reading the on-line reviews, we had high hopes for the content of the tour, but Ben went far beyond our expectations. It was total immersion in the best sense of the phrase, starting with a great historical overview the first morning followed by trips to La Fiere Bridge and St Mere Eglese where the 82nd fought so fiercely. The second day included Omaha and Utah beaches, Pointe du Hoc and the American Military Cemetery. The visit with Lucian will always be very special to us and a photo of his "wall" commemorating the American GIs is now my computer screen-saver.

Everything was taken care of. Ben met us at the train in Carentan and waited with us for the return train to Paris. We immediately felt like close friends with Ben and Jaye when we sat outside their beautiful home for drinks before dinner the first night. Ben took numerous photos of my son and me during our explorations.

I've traveled a lot, especially in Europe. These accommodations were among the best. The food was delicious and the meals were most pleasant experiences. We started every morning with fresh fruit, pastries and croissants along with eggs from the chickens who roamed the property. Dinners always included long discussions about what we had seen that day as well current events. I can't think of a single thing that Ben and Jaye could do better.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ben and Jaye
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayski344...
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Wounderful Adventure!”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Traveled with my two brothers and a Cousin to visit Normandy and the crash site of our uncle's plane. Our uncle Joe Kowalski was the co-pilot on a c47 that was shot down on d-day.
Ben and Jaye of D Day tours made this trip a great Adventure. The stay at the historical manoir and Jaye's cooking were exceptional. They made us feel like part of their family.
Ben has a great knowledge of the history of the D-Day invasion. You feel like you were there to witness the events.
This is a must stay if you are ever planing a trip to Normandy.
11/13/14

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the short time there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O
1 review
“The only way to see Normandy - a memory to last a lifetime!”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

In France they have a saying "It's the meeting that's most important!" and this certainly applies to meeting Ben and Jaye Trumble for our beautiful stay at Manoir de Founcroup. If there is an optimal way to see this beautiful and historically moving part of the world this is it! Ben is passionate and extremely knowledgeable of all things DDAY - from flying his own spitfire to the most personal and impactful details of the greatest invasion of history. Every aspect of the tour was beautifully managed and organized. Jaye is a superb cook and most welcoming host that makes you feel at home immediately. Finally the Manor is a piece of living history yet modernly equipped, warm and welcoming. If you make the effort to visit Normandy you owe it to yourself to stay at the Manoir - Guaranteed to exceed your highest expectations!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the welcoming nature of this private Manor and couple
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer - We'll be back!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandKEdmo...
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First class for American content”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Ben and Jaye, as other travellers have indicated, are superb hosts. Ben's knowledge and ability to tell stories of Utah and Omaha landings that he researched made history come alive. We travelled as a family of 5: myself, my parents, sister and teenage nephew. We had asked for the two day tour, and had wanted one day focusing on Canadian efforts at Juno. The first day was superb, with Ben relaying in depth tales of various battles and occurences that happened in areas close to the manoir. My father, a retired social studies teacher, was very impressed with his knowledge and delivery of details. With day one being so positive, we had similar expectations for day two. The majority of Ben's clients are American, and with his location being in the heart of the 101st Airborne drop zones, it is natural for him to have the most intimate knowledge of this region. He did admit to us that it had been about a year since he had been in Arromanche, so his content was not as in depth for the Canadian efforts as it had been for the American portions. In hindsight, I think our family should have done two days with Ben with his usual tours as he is SO thorough, and then tacked on a third day with another operator based out of Bayeaux for the Canadian Juno beach area.
From an accomoadations perspective, the manoir is immaculate and the upstairs bedrooms are spacious, with large ensuite bathrooms that are well designed for privacy with showerheads to die for! All of us found the bedding to be a little too warm, as we are used to cold Canadian winters, but we were able to sleep with windows open on two of our four nights. We loved the meals that Jaye cooked, they were hearty and satisfying, and the aperitifs at "wine-o-clock" were enjoyable around the fireplace.
Thanks to both of you for a most memorable four days/nights, we all have a better understanding and appreciation for the sacrifices that were made by so many during the Normandy battles:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural quietness and the beautifully restored manor home
Liked least: Finding the property in the dark
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1968Crowd...
Clinton, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great D Day Tour with superb hospitality!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our experience in the Normandy countryside with Ben and Jaye was extraordinary. The meals were delicious home cooking, a needed change after Paris restaurant fare. The manor house is elegant and comfortable with large bedrooms, views of the gardens, and a lovely living room. We give Ben A++ for the D Day education (and we thought we knew a little something). The tour days were packed full of history, background, and beauty. We would love to return! Thanks Ben and Jaye!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
335earlh
1 review
“Ben & Jaye - special people for a special experience!”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

If you are planning a trip to Normandy,France and you want a special experience, Ben Trumble's DD1944 Tours and hospitality is your destination. Ben's knowledge of Normandy WWII events is exceptional and not only covers the famous beaches, but also leads you to some special WWII sites. Ben and Jaye's manior house is centrally located and very comfortable. Jaye's meals are a delight and the dinner table conversations only added to our once in a lifetime experience. There were six in our party and we all agreed that if we returned to Normandy, DD Tours with Ben and Jaye would definitely be our choice.
Earl and Peggy Hagler, Knoxville, TN

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kustom56C...
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Astounding, pleasurable and emotional!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Went with wife and four close friends and had the most interesting experience imaginable and during the 70th anniversary of 'D' Day! Our hosts Ben and Jaye were experienced in the history of WW II and presented it in a fashion not told in history books alone. We were kept busy morning till night and fed some of the best food ever prepared and served in a loving fashion.
This will be a place we shall visit again and highly recommend it to anyone and everyone interested in the history of the D-Day Invasion in Normandy and how the Germans were defeated in spite of being more powerful and well prepared for the US Invasion of troops and allies. Thank you Ben and Jaye for such a marvelous adventure! Sincerely, Gary & Pat Chambers, Knoxville, Tennessee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cordial and well informed hosts!
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing