We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb and enlightening tour augmented...”

Review of D Day Tours B&B

The Manoir de Founcroup
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011 The gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
119 reviews
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011
The gardens
View from the Tower
The farmhouse kitchen
Sitting room
The Kingcome room - named after Brian Kingome a superb WWII Spitfire pilot
The Victorian room
The style of the bathrooms
Part of the greeting team - Saffron
Jaye and Saffron
Ben
Ben and his Spitfire
Ben not having a good afternoon - crashing the Spitfire!
The Cannon...
Firing the cannon - just your regular Sunday afternoon...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Picauville, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan D
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb and enlightening tour augmented by gracious hospitality”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ben is a knowledgeable and articulate guide , and Jaye is a gracious hostess and fine cook. The combination is unbeatable. Not only do you save a lot of time travelling the area with Ben, but you learn a lot that is not in the guidebooks, and the price is very reasonable, particularly considering that it includes a large room, breakfast, lunch, libations, full-day tours and nightly discussion of what was seen during the day. We even met a neighbor who was nine years old on D Day and witnessed events first hand. Altogether special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray_PamN
Wylie, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“DDay History Brought to Life!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our group of four thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Manoir de Founcroup in June. Ben and Jaye were delightful hosts, the food was superb, the manor was all we had hoped for. My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary while staying with them and really appreciated the special "salute"! Ben provided two days of guided tours that far exceeded our expectations - all of the historical facts shared were, of course, interesting. However, what set this guided tour experience apart from many others is the way Ben brought things to life, helping us to walk where history occurred, to see and hear, through the individual stories, what happened. He helped us feel what it might have been like to be a paratrooper landing, unsure of his location, searching for comrades. We will not forget. This is an experience that we would recommend to everyone; we hope to repeat again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Gracious hosts who made us feel like family
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatF68
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Absolutely Outstanding!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Highly recommended. My family of four (wife and two teenagers) spent two days of touring with Ben. His in depth knowledge was incredible. Not only did he take us to the well known areas of Normandy but included side excursions that really made the trip special (especially the chateau in the back country). Ben even tracked down a piece of barbed wire on Utah Beach that my son has on display in his room. Jaye and Saffron were tremendous hosts for breakfast, dinner and evening drinks. The manor is an amazing place to begin and end your day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi M
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“History Lesson at its BEST!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I had wanted to visit Normandy for years. When we planned a business trip to France, we decided to add three days to visit this historical location. On the referral of a friend, we contacted Ben at 1944 D Day Tours. Ben kept in constant contact with us prior to the trip and even met us at the train station to carry us to his chateau. Every detail I could have wished for was accomplished by Ben. From the first evening meal at a historic restaurant, to our first briefing our first morning, to the day he wished us a fond farwell, we felt the magnitude and historic importance of this area. While most tourists go to a few of the main sites, Ben took us to spots where the crowds were thin, but the message of the battle was THICK with feeling and importance. Ben rebuilt the chateau with centuries old brick he gathered from other sites and filled it with comfort and military memoribilia. The rooms were quite comfortable with lovely views of the garden and estate. Breakfast was in true French style with fabulous pastiries, butter and cheese. Each night we returned to wine tasting and a gourmet dinner. I could go on and on. As I talked with others back home about their trips to Normandy, none could compare with ours. Most felt like they really missed out by not knowing about 1944 D Day Tours. It was AMAZING!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USExpat1n...
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Amazing 2-Day Tour of WWII Sites and Beautiful Accommodations”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Originally we were going to tour the Normandy battle sites and beaches unguided, but I am so glad we didn’t! I found Ben’s website and the sample tour was just what we were interested in seeing. Ben is extremely knowledgeable regarding the American involvement in the Battle of Normandy and brings the history to life. We visited places and heard stories that we would have never known about if we had toured ourselves. We saw the main sites such as Sainte-Mère-Église, Omaha and Utah Beaches and Longues Battery, but we also saw La Fière Bridge where with Ben’s storytelling, we could imagine the fierce fighting that occurred over 70 years ago. One of the highlights was meeting Lucien, a local who was a boy of 10 on D-day. He has created a very moving wall of remembrance which we would not have seen on our own.

While the two day tour was more than we could have hoped for, the accommodations were also fantastic. The cost of the 2 day tour included 3 nights’ accommodation in Ben and Jaye’s 16th century manor house, breakfast and dinner. After a long day of touring, it was nice to come back and have drinks by the fire before enjoying a wonderful home cooked meal around the kitchen table. Ben and Jaye are very welcoming and make you feel like you are visiting family friends.

The peace and quiet of the French countryside will have you looking out your bedroom window in the early morning expecting to see paratroopers walking through the fields.
The bedrooms are all very spacious with ensuite bathrooms. The shower is fantastic! Right outside of the bedrooms, Ben has quite a few items from the war that are very interesting including a prop from “Band of Brothers”!

Just a couple of notes – make sure you dress warmly as even on a sunny day it can be cold and windy at the beaches. It is a jam packed two days of touring; you will see a lot! If you are the type who likes to spend hours in museums, then I suggest adding on an extra day or two to explore the museums on your own. There are quite a few in the area!

If you are disappointed after your tour and stay at Manoir du Founcroup with Ben and Jaye, then you must be very hard to please! All four of us had an experience we won’t soon forget!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G
1 review
“Excellent tours, fantastic meals and great accomodations!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family arrived home Sunday after spending an amazing time at D Day Tours Chambre de Hote. And, this past Monday was Memorial Day in the U.S. While there are picnics and parades, the purpose of Memorial Day is to honor and remember those who gave their life in service to our Country. I must admit that this day was even more meaningful after the moving experience we were given in Normandy by the Trumble's. Thanks to both of them very much for the amazing time they created for our family! We truly experienced excellent tours, fantastic meals and great accomodations!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our tours, our accomodations and our meals!
Liked least: Everything was great!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Like Traveling with a Friend !”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I along with three other couples have just returned from France , which included a three night stay with Ben and Jaye at their lovely French Manor home. . My wife and I are no strangers to traveling and a visit to the beaches and battlefields of Normandy were high on our list. We have used guides before , in Spain and Italy and while for the most part they were very good , we left at the end of the tours, just saying good bye!.
Not so with Ben and Jaye. Upon arriving , we immediantly engaged in a delightful conversation over a glass of wine on their terrace outside their home in the beautiful Normandy country side. Jaye then served a wonderful French country dinner before Ben briefed us on the events of the next day. The accomadations were delightful and we went off to bed feeling at home and anticapting the next days.
Not only is Ben an excellent student of the big picture history and events of D-Day , he brings the stories down to the personal level of a individual paratrooper or pilot. He wove a very complicated story into a narrative that I will forever carry with me.
When it was time to depart , I did so with much deeper connection to the past than I had hope for. In part , this is because I had traveled and stayed with my friends Ben and Jaye!
It would be difficult to imagine having had this experience with anyone else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Ben , Jaye , their dog Saffron
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing