We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible Experience”

Review of D Day Tours B&B

The Manoir de Founcroup
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011 The gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
The Manoir de Founcroup
Wild flowers July 2011
The gardens
View from the Tower
The farmhouse kitchen
Sitting room
The Kingcome room - named after Brian Kingome a superb WWII Spitfire pilot
The Victorian room
The style of the bathrooms
Part of the greeting team - Saffron
Jaye and Saffron
Ben
Ben and his Spitfire
Ben not having a good afternoon - crashing the Spitfire!
The Cannon...
Firing the cannon - just your regular Sunday afternoon...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Picauville, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DeAnn55
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent an incredible three nights, two days staying at the Manor and seeing Normandy. This was a complete DDay immersion not a typical quick five hour tour visit. Ben, our personable and excellent guide, is also an extraordinary historian. Though his commentary and knowledge the days prior, during and after the Allied invasion came alive. While the Normandy landing was successful for the Allies we quickly realized this result could have been much less successful and even a complete disaster. At the Manor Ben's and Jaye's hospitality was over the top. Wonderful accommodations, delicious breakfasts and dinners, and exceptional conversation over drinks enhanced our total experience. For anyone even remotely interested in DDay this experience is a MUST! We travel extensively world wide and our Normandy visit with Ben and Jaye would be at the top.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great tour and equally great hospitality”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are two couples who stayed with Ben and Jaye for a two-day tour and it was the highlight of our 3-week Europe trip. Ben is not a tour guide. Instead, he is historian who happens also to be a tour guide. He showed and taught us so much about Normandy and the D-Day invasion. He had some wonderful stories and a nice collection of photographs to go along with the stories. It was fun staying in their refurbished French manor. His wife, Jaye, provided us with a full breakfast to start off the day and provided us with wonderful dinners at the end of a busy day of touring. If you are seeking the complete D-Day experience, I highly recommend that you do this with Ben and Jaye.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Many thanks for this review - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedavis2
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Being within a piece of history.”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Being in Normandy during early June 2017 was like stepping back in time. We got to see and picture what it was like during D-Day in 1944. It was amazing to be there. The history of the Normandy area is something that few people know until you have been there. We're all history lovers and being in the area that so much happened to change the course of WWII was a once in a lifetime chance. Ben's knowledge was what made it work. He is a fountain of information. Being able to stay with Ben and Jaye made the trip such a very special event. Their farmhouse is beautiful and they make you feel like you're home. After a moving day of touring the battlefields coming back to Jaye's wonderful hospitality finished off a great day. This is a trip that makes you realize what the greatest generation gave us, a chance to live free.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jludwit
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A memorable D Day experience”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Manor House very comfortable with delicious home cooking. The two day D Day tour was amazing and Ben's knowledge and detailed description of the air and sea landings were so vivid that it made us feel part of it. He was able to tell us about the interaction of French people living in the villagers and hamlets and their involvement in the war and this is what make our visit so special. Highly recommend. John and Julia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A deeply moving and personal experience”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

As an 82 year old who grew up in the U.S. during WWII, and as an avid WWII historian ever since, I was already familiar with the strategic and tactical outlines of D-Day and even much of the day's history at the small unit level. However, Ben's presentation of the D-Day events was far beyond what I had ever learned. He made the day deeply personal in the life of an individual soldier or airman and showed us where and how and why those personal events occured. I could not help but be moved, sometimes to tears. For the first time in more than 70 years, D-Day became more than a scholarly exercise for me. It was now imbedded deeply and permanently in my gut.

And as frosting on the cake, Ben and Jay's home, hospitality, food, wine and conversation were beyond parallel. A once in a lifetime experience not to be missed!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidB227...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where history lives”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was an outstanding experience and one I would heartily recommend. Ben and Jaye couldn't be more charming, witty, accommodating and knowledgeable. For two days we were followed the invasion. This was not a surface tour. It was deeply local. It was global as well. By this, Ben started 50 yards from his house with the story of one paratrooper and explained how this one US soldier was part of this grand invasion. There was no detail left out. We saw all the highlights and the smaller battles which explained how this massive undertaking succeeded. Ben tolerated our countless questions and with patience and charm showed us in words, video and pictures how and why this invasion was able to achieve its goals. It was also deeply emotional as well as he told the story of many individuals taking part in the battle, US German and French included.

The accomodations were first class, Jay's meals were wonderful and better than many meals we have enjoyed. The best part was the conversations around the table in their home. Any future historical tours we will take will always be compared to D-Day tours. It is the gold standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahmccl...
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
“Powerful tours of Normandy by a true historian, lovely manor and gracious hosts”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Following up on a stellar recommendation from a good friend, my husband, brother and sister-in-law and I spent an unforgettable two days and three nights with Ben and Jaye. It is difficult to describe the impact and poignancy of seeing the beaches and battlefields amid beautiful countryside and coastline. Highlights were meeting a local villager (a friend of Ben's) who lived through the occupation and invasion and has expressed his immense gratitude by creating a wall of remembrance for the soldiers and doctors who saved his village and his brother's life, and finding the name of and tribute to a never known uncle who died at 18 off the coast of Omaha Beach at the American cemetery. All this combined with Ben's incredible knowledge and gift as a tour guide, Jaye's wonderful cooking and gracious hospitality and their beautiful 16th century manor home made for a truly special and impactful trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Many thanks Sarah for your kind words - we thoroughly enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing