We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An abbey in ruins - but worth the détour!”
Review of Abbaye de Jumieges

Abbaye de Jumieges
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Jumieges
Certificate of Excellence
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“An abbey in ruins - but worth the détour!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Unlike the abbey of nearby St. Martin de Boscherville, which for a large part has been restored and still is functional as a church, Jumièges is a ruin - but well maintained, and with a beautiful park around it. Even with a rollator, you fairly easily can gain access. The visitor's shop at the entrance gives highly adequate information.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    125
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Historically important”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Although ruined, there is enough of the Abbey left to get a feel for how it used to be. It was a very important, huge Abbey, with the Abbot accompanying William the Conquerer to Hastings.
You are able to borrow iPads that you can point at parts of the building that recreates how it was - fascinating.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Abbaye de Jumieges”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great ruin and should be a must see if you are in the area. Used the 3D iPad which you can hire and shows you what the Abbaye looked like when it was complete.

Visited June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit and stay in Jumieges”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were travelling in our motor home and had decided to visit Rouen, we knew of this camp site just outside the city in a little town called Jumieges. After previously experiencing some bad service at this site we thought we would stay one night and then move on. We were pleasantly surprised when the owners greeted in a friendly manner creating a really nice atmosphere.

It was hard to believe this was the same site we had previously stayed on, the facilities and pitches were spotless and what we saw of the Chalets and static caravans was impressive and not too expensive. True testement to the site was us not moving on and staying for the full holiday.

Jumieges Abbey was lovely and was a treat even for my wife who is not especially fond of old churches etc. An art exhibition in the old Abbots residence put the icing on the cake, apparently exhibits of various kinds are a regular feature through the year. When we finished at the Abbey we went to a restaurant which was very close to the Abbey, this was pleasant and friendly but not expensive.

From Jumieges we visited Rouen this was a 40 minute bus ride and cost a standard Haute Normandie charge of 1.5 Euros per person. We have been to Rouen previously and it never fails to impress. Full of history and loaded with good restaurants it is one of those cities that is not too large but large enough. We had lunch and visited a few attractions not least the Cathederal and the Gold clock above the road. Later on returning to Jumieges (our base camp) for a beer and a chat with the owners at the camp site.

An all round great holiday and a lovely place to stay.

Visited April 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
690 reviews
457 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“The most romantic ruins in France”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

It was totally unexpected for us to find ourselves so close to the 11th century ruins of the Abbey: we just wanted to book a nice hotel close to Rouen where we can park a car and stay within close driving distance to the city. What a nice surprise was to see the Notre Dame ruins! They are spectacular! We went there in the morning and just could not leave this amazing park and the ruins. One can only imagine the grandeur of this beautiful church and the cloisters in the past. It was a good idea not to restore it: you are just going back in time looking at this magnificent edifice. Take a lot of pictures!

Jumieges is a lovely Normandy village close to Rouen and a great place to relax after visiting one of the most beautiful cities in France. Driving to Rouen from Jumieges is so relaxing: you can enjoy the beauty of Normandy countryside with lush forests, the brightest flowers, and very nice country restaurants.

Visited May 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbaye de Jumieges also viewed

 
Saint-Wandrille-Rancon, Seine-Maritime
Saint-Martin-de-Boscherville, Seine-Maritime
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing