We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Clos des Fontaines
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jumieges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We spent one night here during our recent visit to France, as it was close to Caudebec-en-Caux, which we wanted to explore but we couldn't find any reasonably priced rooms in Caudebec-en-Caux so we chose Jumieges. We are very glad we did stay here - we were in Kyoto room, which is ground floor, set off from the main building and very peaceful so we had a great night's sleep. The room is cosy, with exposed wooden beams and incredibly clean with a comfortably sized shower and good toiletries. The hotel has a pool and a spa - so remember your swim wear! We lounged by the pool for a couple of hours in the evening as it was lovely and warm outside.

Only hitch was that we had no bathroom door (although I think other rooms do have one) - we had a funky little screen that we could draw across the door, but when you want to use the toilet it's a bit too much information for your better half!

Nevertheless, we would definitely go back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whoknows12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our holiday from lOndon as a family of 4. I was a little worried about my booking at this hotel because the drive was slightly out of our way, and the price was the top end of our budget. But I wanted to start our holiday with a bit of luxury and I have to say clos des fontaines absolutely hit the spot. The beds were so comfortable and the location peaceful that it only took one night and a morning in the pool and jacuzzi to make us feel like we'd already been away a week. All four of us (including a 4 year old and a baby) were made to feel at home. Others have said it all. But I do want to reiterate how lovely the staff were, very accommodating of the children and their needs. I really love that - when you stay in an ultra swish place, and yet no one minded when my son jumped in the pool with an inflatable turtle and Ben 1O armbands!

Like others who have reviewed I would have Preferred a restaurant on site. But the hotel recommended a lovely place on the seine, it was well worth the very lovely 15 min walk. Next time I'm staying two nights, even if it means making a few sacrifices elsewhere to afford the high season rate and suPplement for children!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raji n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Nice little place in a charming village near to the Abbey. No restaurant, and options nearby are limited so advise you take the staff up on their offer to book somewhere at their recommended restaurant - we didn't, it was fully booked, and the alternatives were not great. Note also that this is not a "full service" hotel, so don't expect to wander back late in the evening and find the bar open!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellermuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We used this hotel as a stopover on the way back to UK. It is in a good location in the very picturesque village of Jumieges. The hotel is very quiet and is located on the edge of the village close to the historic abbey – parking is no problem. The hotel buildings are set around an attractive courtyard and are all relatively new but designed to match the local architecture. Our room was comfortable and adequately equipped.

The outdoor swimming pool was an added attraction on a hot day - and as a bonus towelling robes and pool towels are supplied.

Breakfast was fine but not sure if it justified 15 euros.

The hotel does not have a restaurant but kindly recommended and booked us into the Auberge du Bac – an excellent restaurant on the banks of the Seine (around a 15 minute walk or short drive from the hotel).

A nice hotel – perfect for a stopover, but you could easily spend a few days exploring this very attractive part of France.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent our 24th anniversary at this charming hotel. Our room (Fez) was beautiful and comfortable, the innkeepers were charming and helpful (their restaurant recommendation was top), the spa was small but uncrowded, and the massage with apple oils was devine. The village and its abbey ruins were well worth the visit, as well. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Check their website for pictures of the rooms - all decorated differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Croissydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived in pouring rain to find that the car park was a reasonable walk to the reception , but this was compensated for when we were informed that we had been upgraded to a junior suite with jacuzzi bath and the setting of the hotel and its surroundings. Just what the doctor ordered. Unfortunately the jacuzzi wouldn't operate, and neither would the Wi-Fi. Not to worry, reception had made a reservation for us at a nearby restaurant, which was very nice. On our return, somewhat tired, after a long day on the road, we found that the people in the room above appeared to have bought some new clogs and were road testing them!

For 180 Euro we expected something better but were slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Wonderful spot. Nice room. Nice people. Heated pool. Two minute walk to the Abbey. Fascinating place. A little far out from Rouen to make a quick jaunt back, so we never made it. Perfectly satisfied to stay put and enjoy the little town of Jumieges.

Room Tip: We had a very nice junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jumieges
12.2 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
12.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
11.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
406 reviews
23.6 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
250 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos des Fontaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Fontaines

Address: 191 rue des Fontaines, 76480 Jumieges, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Jumieges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jumieges
Price Range: £95 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Clos des Fontaines 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Girded by the majestic loops of the Seine and set amidst the apple orchards, Domaine Le Clos des Fontaines reserves a gracious welcome for all its guests. In the unique quality of light cherished by so many painters, the typically Norman half-timbering, mellow brickwork and dressed stone meld perfectly with the idyllic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Clos des Fontaines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Fontaines Hotel Jumieges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing