We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable - no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les 13 Assiettes Hotel
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here overnight en route from Calais down to Brittany.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained.The welcome was friendly (although we don't like to be fussed over anyway!) We stayed in a room in the main hotel but most of the rooms are in stone built chalets in the grounds. However they looked clean and smart and certainly not like "Butlins" as someone has previously commented. The hotel is the old "Hotel de la Gare" and it is true that the railway runs behind the hotel. However this is about 200 metres away and in any case it is hardly a very busy route. We heard three trains and these were short local services - not heavy freight trains. The hotel actually has a very quiet and relaxing feel to it.
The hotel has a small covered swimming pool. We did not try it but it looked spotlessly clean.
The restaurant was excellent and very busy the night we dined there and there were clearly a lot of locals in as the number of covers easily exceeded the number of rooms they have. Breakfast is buffet style and plentiful.
Mont St Michel is about 15 minutes easy drive from the hotel so it gave us time to spend the morning there before continuing our journey to Brittany. I would certainly recommend this hotel and it is very conveneintly located for an overnight stop for anyone travelling from the Channel ports down into Brittany.

Room Tip: We stayed in main hotel (Room 201) which was very nice. Cottage rooms look slightly smaller but look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mediclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had an extra night to find a room before the Gite rented in Beauvoir through Brittany Ferries. When we arrived we were able to get a room for the 3 of us for €80 which was good value for one of the lodges built in brick. Really good wet bathroom.
Comfortable beds great TV and we were able to completely close the window blinds electrically. Absolutely brilliant with a 3 year old. Also they have a great glass-enclosed swimming pool and Amelia started swimming without additional buoyancy aids. Outside was a trampoline and other play equipment which was very popular The lunch of Fruits de Mer and a tasty steak. Remember this is an historical hotel and was the Hotel de Gare so the railway line was close but it didn't prevent us all sleeping well. In the morning, knowing about the award-winning Boulangerie in the nearby town, I drove and bought very superior croissants. There is a coffee-bean grinding coffee machine which dispenses great tasting coffee. Amelia was able to swim again in the morning. We ate there and the evening meal was good as well. My wife had a steak at lunch and I had one in the evening. She said hers was delicious and my wasn't the best I have had but I am not complaining. This is a busy hotel and La Grandmere and her daughter are very professional - it is well run and I believe has high occupancy because of its reputation.

I strongly urge you to try it and it was absolutely just right after a night on board a crowded Portsmouth-St Malo ferry.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank PeterTheGreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel was not easy to find, even with sat nav. The staff were friendly although the rooms were not made up when we arrived and it seemed to take a lot of organising to get them ready even though we had prebooked. We booked two rooms, both had very dated decor (great if you like bright orange!) they were clean but smelt of cigarette smoke. The road outside is very noisy! Bathrooms leave a lot to be desired....

The restaurant was pleasant and the food ok but not cheep. Overall a Dissapointing experience, worst standard of hotel we have stayed in during our trip though France.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Duckie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We took advantage of a special offer for dinner, bed and breakfast for one night. After reading some of the reviews we were not expecting too much however we were pleasantly surprised by the overall standard of the hotel - bearing in mind its 2* rating.

The staff were friendly and welcoming (free cocktail on arrival), the room was clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was good, if a little pricey. Breakfast was a standard serve yourself continental buffet which was enjoyable and totally adequate.

A pleasant stay, albeit only one night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley50150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The backyard chatelets mentioned in other reviews are really like small trailers. Our room was cramped, barely enough room to move around the 2 twin beds which were joined together in the middle of the room. It had a strong musty odor which we had to tolerate since the window only opened slightly, there is no fan or air conditioning. Bathroom was also cramped and the fixtures are rusting. There is plenty of noise from the nearby train tracks and busy road. Dinner is not a good value. Very average, overpriced food and wine. Breakfast is a free for all with a long wait in line for a coffee/tea. Had our reservation not been prepaid, we would have left immediately. There are many other hotels in the area. Website photos are very misleading. Look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linguistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel so we could travel around the area. We paid very little money for our five night stay which was very enjoyable. The rooms are a little small for our taste but lets face it all you really want is a place to sleep in resonable comfort. Spartlessly clean and adequate washing facilities. The food is what makes this hotel special. it is very good indeed. The staff in the main are very helpful and friendly although I have to admit with my limited French I struggled sometimes as the staff have little english. Not a critism, after all it is their country. For people who like a bit night life or a walk before or after dinner, be warned this hotel is a country hotel with very little around and no transport except your own.
There is some road noise and also train noise but this is very small.
If I had to make a bad comment on this hotel, it would be that it has no air conditioning anywhere so it can be rather hot.
That said we had a wonderful stay. Check out the market at St Hilaire just down the road a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denisanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Reading other reviews I think we were lucky to get two connecting rooms in the main hotel. The outside chalets did not look so good. We used the hotel as a stopover on the way to Brittany so the location was Ok for us, but for many people it would be seen as remote. There is literally nothing around it! We found the service good and especially liked the way they allowed our dog into the restaurant (imagine that in the UK!). Enjoyed the food, though it was a bit expensive. The kids liked the pool, though I found it freezing.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobjob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Val-Saint-Pere
2.4 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avranches
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
491 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont...
#2 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
3.0 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
HotelF1 Avranches
HotelF1 Avranches
#3 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les 13 Assiettes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 13 Assiettes Hotel

Address: Route de la Quintine | Route de la Quintine - Sur A84 sortie Cromel - Direction Pontaubault, 50300 Le Val-Saint-Pere, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Le Val-Saint-Pere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Val-Saint-Pere
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les 13 Assiettes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel*** Restaurant ideally located between Normandy and Britanny at 15 minutes from the Mont Saint Michel! 43 rooms comfortable, warmed and indoor swimming pool, garden, terrace, free private parking. 2 rooms adapted for disabled people. Hotel Restaurant with Tourism and handicap norms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Les 13 Assiettes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les 13 Assiettes
Les 13 Assiettes Hotel Le Val-Saint-Pere, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing