We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located!”
Review of La Jacotiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Jacotiere
Ranked #1 of 7 Ardevon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Loved this B&B! The hosts are very friendly, and email communication was quick and helpful. It is well located for either walking to catch the shuttle bus or just walking the causeway to Mont St Michel. There are a few good restaurants within walking distance also. The price made it a perfect value. The rooms were comfortable with adequate space. Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    51
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
109
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

All in all, Mont Saint Michel is a very touristy place to visit. A bit tacky as lonely planet put it. But the charm of arriving by car at dusk while the lights lit the abbey and surrounding village paid off. The B&B is run by an extremely kind couple who manage to help you in every way. They will do their best to suit whatever need you might have. Room was clean, spacious, silent. Breakfast was complete and tasty. Even french toast! Parking on the back of the building is convenient. For us, the only drawback was that the place is a bit isolated, and in not so good weather the walk to the bus stop or the nearest restaurant was unpleasant. No rooms with a view. Besides that, great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motocicleta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

La Jacotiere is a very close to the visitor information center and free shuttle bus station, just a few seconds walk. If you are going to visit Mont St. Michel, it is not necessary to park your car in the public car park, because it is very expensive, EUR12 per day! You just park your car in La Jacotiere, and catch the shuttle bus to Mont St. Michel. Before arriving to La Jacotiere, you will see a forbidden sign on the road, just ignore it, and go straight.
I have stayed in an "apartment" for one night, it is okay. There is a small kitchen with various cookwares available. I would recommend this B & B because it has a good view of Mont St. Michel. Also the owner provide deserts for the customers in the evening

Room Tip: I stay there in October which is not high season. La Jacotiere was fully booked for several continuo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location, convenience and accommodating owners of this delightful chambre d'hotes were the best we've encountered in Normandy. Gerard and Alicia (the owners) went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were most attentive to our every need. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable and the breakfast was delightful. The walk to the shuttle for le Mont St. Michel was very short. The dinner recommendation for the nearby Auberge de la Baie was most appreciated as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levi4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herk-de-Stad
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The B&B is at walking distance of the shuttle services to the Mont Saint Michel (don't bother about parking at the expensive car park of the visitor's centre, just park your car at the hotel) and offers a great view on the Mont. Only pitty that the view is only visible from the rear of the hotel and the rooms are at the front. Rooms are fine for a short stay, service is very friendly and the breakfast is what it shoudl be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familietoerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed a La Jocotiere on our first night driving through France. What a way to begin! To start with, the location is perfect for visiting Mont St. Michel. You are just a couple of hundred feet walk from the causeway and the shuttle so there is no need to deal with driving and parking. The view of Mont St. Michel from the b&b is beautiful. On top of this, the b&b itself is excellent--large room, great breakfast, and charming owner. Although Claudine's English is limited, she went out of her way to make us welcome and to answer any questions that we had. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjpatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Location, Location, Location! This B & B is within walking distance of everything we needed or wanted! The new visitor center is very close. The walkway to the Mont is just a stone's throw away, and the buses to Mont Saint Michel are close by too. The grocery store was near the bus stop ( Actually that bus stop was closer than the visitor center bus stop.) We visited the Abbey in the afternoon, rode the bus back to the grocery for picnic supplies and picnicked on the lawn of La Jacotiere, on a lovely wrought iron table while viewing Mont St. Michel across the farm fields. This is the absolute closest B & B to Mont Saint Michel.

In addition to a great location, our room was fabulous and spacious. We had a little window overlooking Mont Saint Michel with a little step and platform to look out and see it across the field. The beds and bedding were comfortable and the room was lovely. The room was en suite with the shower and sink in one room and the toilet separated in another room, making this a perfect situation for a family to get ready in the morning.

The hostess, Claudine, was gracious, helpful, and prompt with correspondence. (She speaks and writes English very well.)

Breakfast was served in a tastefully decorated room and the table was set for the exact amount in our family. The food was a typical french breakfast with pastries and jams, cereals, etc. I think the pastries and the jams were home made and were certainly delicious.

A couple reviews mentioned that it was difficult to find. Well, not really, except that for a few feet, you have to drive on a little road that is designated for service vehicles only or something similar. You are always in view of the B&B. Just follow EXACTLY what Claudine tells you and don't second guess it. Follow her direction explicitly and you will have no problem. Without any hesitation, if we return to Mont Saint Michel, this is the place we want to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShurleyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardevon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge de la Baie
Auberge de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Ardevon
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vert
Hotel Vert
#4 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Digue
La Digue
#10 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Relais Saint-Michel
Le Relais Saint-Michel
#7 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jacotiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jacotiere

Property: La Jacotiere
Address: 275 la Jacotiere, 50170 Ardevon, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Ardevon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ardevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just in front of the Mont Saint Michel, Gerald et Alicia warmly welcome you in their stone farmhouse "La Jacotiere". Six immaculate, modern rooms and great views of Mont-Saint-Michel from their garden and picnic area. You can access by foot (3 minutes) to the free shuttle that will bring you to the Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Jacotiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jacotiere Hotel Ardevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing