We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended but preferable if you have a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Bon Accueil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Au Bon Accueil
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Highly recommended but preferable if you have a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Au Bon Accueil is a wonderful B&B with very comfortable clean rooms, a very good breakfast, lovely hosts who love to chat and have a wide knowledge of the cities and sites that surrounds the lovely village of St. Marcan. If you are travelling without a car however, it is not that easy to get around. Paul will drive you to and from the train station as well as to Mont Saint Michel (and probably other sites) but you must remember that Saint Marcan is a small village and many services are closed on Sunday, particularly taxi services. Because we were leaving by train on a Sunday at 13h37 and we had to vacate the B&B at 10am (and the fact that the train station was closed), Paul dropped us off at the McDonald's about 1.5 km away from the station. We were pleased to use the WiFi but we soon discovered that the local taxi services were closed on Sunday and we had to walk with our very heavy packs all the way to the station (our children are 9 and 11). Now we made it and we were proud of our children but I must warn other tourists. Now this doesn't take anything away from the wonderful B&B, only that a car would have made the experience even better and given us more flexibility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    30
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
49
56
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently stayed two nights at Au Bon Accueil and thoroughly recommend this as THE place to stay in the Mont St Michel area. The owners, Jane and Paul provided a warm welcome to their charming Chambre D'Hote and are very knowledgeable and helpful in advising on places to visit.
We were pleased to visit St. Malo, Cancale and Dol de Bretagne as well as Mont St Michel all at Jane and Pauls suggestions.
The place is spotlessly clean and all the rooms are ensuite and have been tastefully updated, not easy in a 230 year old property. .
Breakfast was very good and was served in a bright and cheery dining room.
All in all, fantastically good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at Au Bon Accueil while traveling the northern area of France and visiting Mont St. Michel. Our stay was absolutely amazing! It could not be a more friendly atmosphere, Jane and Paul are the most amazing hosts. For example, Jane was asking us about our travel plans for the rest of our trip (over some delicious tea she had made for us) and I mentioned that I was going to try and find my great-grandfather's grave as he has died in WW2. She asked me where he was buried and I told her I had no idea, Jane went out of her way to help me find the exact location in the cemetary that he was buried in. Without her help I never would have found him and I would have forever regretted it. There is no "star" rating for that kind of service! Beyond this, they provided transportation to and from the train station as well as to Mont St. Michel. There are some wonderfully unique dining spots (albeit only 2) but they are fantastic! Jane and Paul could not have provided us with a more hospitable experience, I felt like I was in paradise! Our room was absolutely spotless and adorable! We couldn't have asked for more, you absolutely must make this part of your trip to Mont St. Michel, it adds another element to the trip that you cannot pass up.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top/back of the house overlooking the garden, amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Offley, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We still have a few more nights here and it is a wonderful place to stay. Jane and Paul could not be more accommodating. The room is spotless, light and airy and breakfasts are delicious. The town makes a very good base and Jane and Paul have been a mine of information on the local area, the best beaches and what to do.

I could not recommend Au Bon Accueil more highly, we have had such a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked this on the strength of other trip advisor reviews, we was not disappointed, what a find.
Welcomed with hot and cold drinks as we arrived, we booked for only one night on a pass through visit to mont st michel, made to feel very welcome at check in with an informative chat on the local area, couple of down to earth bars in the village (don't expect the ritz) but good atmosphere.
Would recommend to anyone as a base for the area or just like us passing through for the visit of mont st michel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnerBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redon, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Jane and Paul went out of their way to give us great suggestions about where to eat, what to see and how to get there . . . including a lovely backroads drive to Mont St. Michel that avoids a lot of traffic. Our room was comfortable and very clean, but be aware that the stairs could be a challenge to folks with bad knees. Breakfast included fresh, warm bread, a hot pot of coffee and (good timing) fresh cherries from a neighbor's orchard. Overall a lovely experience in a location near St. Malo, Cancale and Mont St. Michel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilaineriverwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

An adorable B&B! Our room was clean, airy, with lovely decor. The owners were helpful and gracious. The breakfast was simple but delicious. A good location for visiting Mont-St-Michel. Definitely stay here!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samanthamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Marcan
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Montgomery
5.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Auberge de la Baie
Auberge de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Ardevon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.0 mi away
Les 4 Salines Hotel Restaurant
Les 4 Salines Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Roz-sur-Couesnon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ferme Saint Joseph
Ferme Saint Joseph
#1 of 4 in Beauvoir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Bon Accueil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bon Accueil

Property: Au Bon Accueil
Address: 5 Lieu Dit Colombel, 35120 Saint Marcan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint Marcan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Saint Marcan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Bon Accueil 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer family run B&B, chambre d'hote, accommodation in the bay of Mont St. Michel. All rooms are ensuite and have been refurbished. Free WiFi - that actually works!. Free breakfast. We are just 15 minutes by car to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Mont St Michel. 5 Minutes to the nearest beach at Cherrueix - which offers the best views of the magnificent Bay of Mont St Michel . We are also only 35 minutes from St Malo which is a fantastic destination in its own right and should not be missed when in this area. Au Bon Accueil has its own private car park. For guests arriving by bike or motorbike or bicycle we have safe storage. If you are walking the GR34, we are ideally located. For 2016, the Marathon de la Baie takes place on the 29th May, and the Tour de France commences at Mont St Michel on July 2nd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Au Bon Accueil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing