We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of staircase”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont-L'Eveque
Certificate of Excellence
Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beware of staircase”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel does deserve an above average rating despite one major caveat. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably quiet from the adjacent busy streets, and the service is friendly and efficient. The continental breakfast buffet is fine. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, and the food was OK, but then discovered a great little place just 50 meters up the street, the St. Melaine restaurant, which is considerable more interesting.

The caveat about the hotel concerns the steep and narrow staircase connecting the sitting area (where the bathroom is also located) with the mezzanine sleeping area in many of the larger rooms, including the one we had booked, with a rickety handrail to help you negotiate the stairs. Many guests will undoubtedly find this kind of arrangement uncomfortable or even dangerous.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadieren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    337
    86
    28
    17
See reviews for
47
603
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel while visiting Deauville and Honfleur, which are both about 15km or 20min away. We got a very warm welcome when checking in, and the lady escorted us to our room. (Room 2) The room is large, with a separate bathroom and toilet, both clean. A good hard bed, but the pillows were a bit to soft for us. We also visited the spa, which cost €20 per person for two hours. It's very stylish and clean, with an L-shaped pool, infrared sauna and hamman. Perfect to relax in the evening. In the morning we took the breakfast (€12pp), which didn't had English options (bacon, eggs, ...) but everything else. We really enjoyed it. A perfect night followed by an excellent breakfast, recommended!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RoelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here for one night on our way down to our final destination.Hotel is set on a roundabout near the middle of town, however traffic noise was not a problem even though our room was on the street side. Our duplex room was nice and clean although the stairs up to the bedroom were über steep. The bed was fine if a little soft for my personal taste. The spa was a little disappointing, the pool was L shaped and about 2m wide and 10m total length,however, the sauna and steam rooms were excellent. Breakfast was very good with everything you would expect. Although a short sharp visit, everything was very good and would have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forgelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here in July 2012.
Good size room and bathroom and very clean. Bed a little on the firm side and only standard double size.
Although situated by busy roundabout in centre of town, traffic noise was not a problem as rooms are at the rear of the courtyard.
Private car park.
Excellent breakfast and reasonable value at €10 with freshly pressed orange juice available.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
For €90 room rate, it was good value.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brentstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Although we stayed in Pont L'eveque for only 1 night, my wife and I were surprised to find such an excellent hotel. The town is typical for a small French city with hotel conveniently located to shopping and the varied activities that are found there.
Everything was perfect from the welcome we received when we checked in, the room itself (we had a small duplex which was more like a small apartment!), and the food.
International travelers should not be concerned about language issues and all the services you would expect in a major business hotel are available (wi-fi, spa, meeting facilties, etc). Plus there is onsite free parking which is often a rarity in France.
Definitely keep this place on your radar if you plan to be in Calvados or Normandie!

Room Tip: Ask for the small duplex. It is charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey_Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Good sized room, well kept, great position for exploring Pont l'Eveque (you must try l'Epi d'Or). Room very clean and cool even at 35C outside.

Food very passable and fair value. Try Le Bouchet for a great dinner.

Staff friendly and hospitable.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivreGeorgesBrassens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The rooms at this hotel are unusual - sitting area, bathroom and toilet downstairs and bedroom upstairs. the stairs are wooden and quite steep and also there are lots of steps in the hotel generally - so may not be suitable for elderly or disabled people. I am not sure whether they have ground floor rooms - but worth asking if stairs are a problem.
The hotel is located near the centre of the small town - and does not have a restaurant. Reception happy to point out options - but not many places open on a Monday evening. We did find the Auberge de la Touques which was open (isn't usually) which was excellent.
Hotel is close to an Intermarche supermarket which is handy. Breakfast was standard - bread/croissants and home made jams which were nice, yoghurt and fruit. Fair value for money in comparison to other hotels

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussexmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pont-L'Eveque
14.6 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
6.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
7.3 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
746 reviews
7.0 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Eden Park
Hotel Restaurant Eden Park
#2 of 2 in Pont-L'Eveque
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or

Property: Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
Address: 8 Place Saint Melaine, 14130, Pont-L'Eveque, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Pont-L'Eveque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont-L'Eveque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d Or Hotel
Hotel Et Spa Le Lion D'Or France/Normandy - Calvados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing