We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivory House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dalhousie Castle(Bonnyrigg)
US$284
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$82
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$123
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
26
6
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
6
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We arrived in a bit of a state; we had cycled 60 miles in the worst of the September gales and flooding and looked like drowned rats; mine host was totally unfazed, locked up our bicycles, gave us hot tea and conducted us to a spacious room with a glorious high-pressure shower. When we felt human again he directed us to a good restaurant within walking distance, and we ended a difficult day in the lap of luxury. The big communal sitting room with its high ceilings, tall windows looking out over the garden (at the rain) and coffee on tap is a welcome feature. The family seems to collect china and plate, which gave the house a quirky feel. Jack is from Edinburgh but was formerly a London policeman and has many a tale to tell. His breakfasts are memorable, complete with home-made marmalade and Scottish touches (haggis, white pudding) which I'm afraid remained untouched. Ivory House is in a fairly unprepossessing area but I'd be happy to recommend it - decent value, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here in May 2010 for a wedding we attended nearby. On our return we tried to write a review on here but were unsuccessful! We had a lovely stay here with Jack and Barbara. They couldn't do more for us. On arrival we were served afternoon tea in the sitting room which we had entirely to ourselves and made to feel very at home.

We stayed in the four poster bed room which was an experience in itself. It was extremely comfortable and grand, and not at all what we expected from a bed and breakfast. This definitely is a four star B&B. If we are ever in the area again we would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had a very nice time in Gorebridge and would like to thank Babara and Jack for everything.
Both gave us all the information we needed to have a nice holiday.
I dont agree that the buses to Edinburgh were not fast enough.The fastes Bus was the Nr. 29 and took about 35 minutes to Endinburgh Princess Street.According to the costs of Parking in Edinburgh this was the best alternative.
And we really did like the Coach House.
We hope to be back next year.

Frank,Irmgard,Natalie and Rosel
Germany

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Nice comfortable rooms en-suite. Period house with lots of charm & character.
Barbara & Jack were perfect hosts & helped us plan our visit to the Edinburgh Festival for parking. They were also kind enough to give is us a Free pass to Camera Obscura which saved us over £26.

Breakfast was fantastic lots of it.

Have to say its one of the nicest B & B Guest Houses ive stayed in & would recommend to my friends & family & Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angesouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We agree fully with ChopPhooey's review back in 2007. We too found the rooms tired, the grey housing estate location depressing. and public transport to Edinburgh diabolical (we gave up after 30 minutes on a bus and no end in site -- as we found out later, there is a faster alternative, but the owner failed to disclose it even though asked). Having said that, the faster alternative is not that fast, so if thinking to stay here and visit Edinburgh without taking the car, think again.

The owner was trying to be friendly, but need to be sensitive to when guests are not interested in long personal stories.

On the plus note, it's clean and has decent amenities.

For the price point and its 4-star rating, we were extremely disappointed, and equally disappointed with the owner's seeming unconcern with our dissatisfaction. We expressed our unhappiness while staying there but the owner made no concessions or suggestions to improve our experience. Wish we'd stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo_Haque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews