We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Scottish hospitality”
Review of Ivory House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivory House
Ranked #1 of 1 Gorebridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We visited Jack and Barbera while we were attending a local wedding.

They are both very friendly and accomodating people and we would have no hesitation at all in recommending this very nice and reasonable B&B to anyone.

The traditional Scottish breakfast is virtually cooked to order and nothing is too much trouble for Jack and he bent over backwards to make our stay memorableand comfortable

We will be returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

I have just returned having spent 4 days with Jack and Barbara in their lovely home. Its a little oasis in Gorebridge, lovely surroundings and so peaceful. I arrived very late at night but nevertheless received a warm welcome from Barbara. I was there under very sad circumstances and they really helped me. There is a lovely large lounge with coffee making facilities and lots of books plus TV. I had a lovely comfortable bedroom. I would certainly recommend this b/b. They felt like friends when I left.

Mary Fraser

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We arrived in a bit of a state; we had cycled 60 miles in the worst of the September gales and flooding and looked like drowned rats; mine host was totally unfazed, locked up our bicycles, gave us hot tea and conducted us to a spacious room with a glorious high-pressure shower. When we felt human again he directed us to a good restaurant within walking distance, and we ended a difficult day in the lap of luxury. The big communal sitting room with its high ceilings, tall windows looking out over the garden (at the rain) and coffee on tap is a welcome feature. The family seems to collect china and plate, which gave the house a quirky feel. Jack is from Edinburgh but was formerly a London policeman and has many a tale to tell. His breakfasts are memorable, complete with home-made marmalade and Scottish touches (haggis, white pudding) which I'm afraid remained untouched. Ivory House is in a fairly unprepossessing area but I'd be happy to recommend it - decent value, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here in May 2010 for a wedding we attended nearby. On our return we tried to write a review on here but were unsuccessful! We had a lovely stay here with Jack and Barbara. They couldn't do more for us. On arrival we were served afternoon tea in the sitting room which we had entirely to ourselves and made to feel very at home.

We stayed in the four poster bed room which was an experience in itself. It was extremely comfortable and grand, and not at all what we expected from a bed and breakfast. This definitely is a four star B&B. If we are ever in the area again we would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had a very nice time in Gorebridge and would like to thank Babara and Jack for everything.
Both gave us all the information we needed to have a nice holiday.
I dont agree that the buses to Edinburgh were not fast enough.The fastes Bus was the Nr. 29 and took about 35 minutes to Endinburgh Princess Street.According to the costs of Parking in Edinburgh this was the best alternative.
And we really did like the Coach House.
We hope to be back next year.

Frank,Irmgard,Natalie and Rosel
Germany

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Nice comfortable rooms en-suite. Period house with lots of charm & character.
Barbara & Jack were perfect hosts & helped us plan our visit to the Edinburgh Festival for parking. They were also kind enough to give is us a Free pass to Camera Obscura which saved us over £26.

Breakfast was fantastic lots of it.

Have to say its one of the nicest B & B Guest Houses ive stayed in & would recommend to my friends & family & Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angesouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We agree fully with ChopPhooey's review back in 2007. We too found the rooms tired, the grey housing estate location depressing. and public transport to Edinburgh diabolical (we gave up after 30 minutes on a bus and no end in site -- as we found out later, there is a faster alternative, but the owner failed to disclose it even though asked). Having said that, the faster alternative is not that fast, so if thinking to stay here and visit Edinburgh without taking the car, think again.

The owner was trying to be friendly, but need to be sensitive to when guests are not interested in long personal stories.

On the plus note, it's clean and has decent amenities.

For the price point and its 4-star rating, we were extremely disappointed, and equally disappointed with the owner's seeming unconcern with our dissatisfaction. We expressed our unhappiness while staying there but the owner made no concessions or suggestions to improve our experience. Wish we'd stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo_Haque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorebridge
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,406 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
2.6 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#2 of 5 in Dalkeith
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory House

Address: 14 Vogrie Road, Gorebridge EH23 4HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Gorebridge
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gorebridge
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ivory House Gorebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing