We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and homely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivory House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivory House
Ranked #1 of 1 Gorebridge B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cosy and homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were moved to Ivory House at the very last minute, as the hotel we originally booked nearby had some plumbing issues. We certainly weren't any worse off for it. The house is a beautiful property with lovely gardens. The welcome we received was great and felt very warm, this continued throughout our stay. The landlord Jack has some great chat and that really enriched our experience.

The breakfast is certainly hearty and very tasty. Bring your appetite! In addition, Jack and Barbara were more than happy to cater for me as a vegan.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinkeane_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked three rooms at the Ivory House yesterday for an overnight as we were attending a family birthday event in Gorebridge. Rooms immaculate, breakfast delightful and family owners couldn't have been any more helpful. Would highly recommend this 4 star guest house!!! Thanks so much to the owners.

Room Tip: Daughter and son in law stayed in the 4 poster room but all our rooms were excellent and spotlessly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Was made very welcome on arrival and given a little history and geography lesson about the area and hotel by big jack the landlord.me and my partner thought was really pleasant and interesting and added to the experience in a positive way.
The breakfast was top notch and the four poster was amazing too. Had a great nights kip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is the third time my family has stayed with Jack and Barbara at Ivory House, and it will definitely not be the last. From their great hospitality to Jacks stories and lovely breakfast nothing is missing.
We took a trip to Edinburgh by bus which was a little long (one hour), but that's nothing to stop me from staying at Ivory House.
The house and garden is packed with historical things worth a mention, and if you ask Jack, he'll be sure to tell you the stories.
Both Jack and Barbara make you feel very welcome, and my friend who I brought along this time found it all excellent as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Friendly, spotlessly clean, Attention to detail in rooms with nice toiletries, tea and biscuits on arrival, Huge well kept lovely gardens to sit out in with wonderful views, A big thank you to the hosts,
from sue and Linda
Doncaster and Mansfield

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Barbara and I travelled to Scotland to attend a wedding of some close friends. The wedding was going to be at Dalhousie Castle so we wanted a place in close proximity to the wedding venue, but far enough away to be able to do our own thing and explore this highland paradise. We found Jack and his wife Barbara very warm and accommodating when making some plans to visit sites around the area including Edinburgh. Jack was a plethora of knowledge and stamina and quite commanding when he spoke from his 6 foot seven frame. I am sure he was a Duke of some sort having blue blood in his veins. The room was excellent complete with four poster bed that would wrap you up at night and make it difficult to leave for breakfast, which of course was full Scottish fare with all the trimmings. The bed was over a century old and had been refurbished by veteran service members whom were disabled due to their active military service. An excellent place to stay whether seeing the sights or just relaxing at Wilmo's the local Pub enjoying a pint of the finest poured by John.

Kevin & Barbara Furlong

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsden Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We visited Jack and Barbera while we were attending a local wedding.

They are both very friendly and accomodating people and we would have no hesitation at all in recommending this very nice and reasonable B&B to anyone.

The traditional Scottish breakfast is virtually cooked to order and nothing is too much trouble for Jack and he bent over backwards to make our stay memorableand comfortable

We will be returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorebridge
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
3.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#2 of 6 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory House

Property: Ivory House
Address: 14 Vogrie Road, Gorebridge EH23 4HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Gorebridge
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gorebridge
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ivory House Gorebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing