We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at the club, pleasant quiet motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howlong Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howlong Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howlong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jerrabomberra
Level Contributor
413 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Great food at the club, pleasant quiet motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The golf course is very pretty and the motel is OK.
It was quiet and we had a very good sleep.
We stayed two nights and attended an excellent Morris Wines degustation dinner.
The food was great and the company better.
Staff were very helpful and friendly at both the Club and Motel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the golf club itself are quieter and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandMaryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    27
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

2 nights, very comfortable, large room, great shower.
Breakfast one morning was good, though limited options
I say standard Aus motel because of not very nice brick walls in room, standard appointments, rather characterless; does boast 2 bathroom sinks and a third in room.
Air con/ heater was wall based and has little effect in bathroom
Picky but TV almost too small for distance from bed

Room Tip: All about the same I would think, tho 1 to 11 I think look over lawn rather than next door golf club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brushie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here two nights when hubby participated in a remote member golf comp. Very compact but private complex with 25 room motel and beautiful 18 hole golf course. All the rooms front onto a square carpark area with pool and the golf club is a short walk (20 seconds) behind the motel. However, there is no obvious noise from the club even in the evenings. On Saturday night, the club has a very generous Chinese buffet (prawns/mussels, usual Chinese options + dessert) for $30 per head. We paid only $20 per head as members of the club.

As a non-golfer, I was concerned that I would be bored whilst hubby played. I was very surprised. Howlong is a lovely little town with some shops, two pubs, bakery, cafe and a museum. This country town is on the banks of the Murray River and Rutherglen and Albury are only 30 minutes away. The people in Howlong were incredibly friendly and there was no sign of bored teenagers or graffiti.

This was a wonderful town and motel to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourmaline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good rooms, friendly staff. Club was excellent in a lay back way, nice and relaxed which is what I needed. I think you would enjoy this one. Really good food in town at the pub on the left as you drive into town. Just amazing given the slightly out of the way location of Howlong

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezerart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, very clean and spacious. We stayed over night on way through from Melbourne to Canberra, not much around but good Chinese restaurant at the golf club and a nice bar with lovely view of the golf course. Has free wifi which is hard to come by in Oz and it worked really well. Would recommend this hotel if you are travelling and want a day off from everything.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the motel for three nights in December and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and spacious.
The motel is next to the golf course and away from the main roads, so is very quiet in the evenings. In the morning one hears the calls of the Superb Fairywren, Common Blackbird and Blue-faced Honeyeater.
Some good restaurants in Howlong and at the golf Course, such as Damicos Italian Restaurant.
Howlong is a good base for visiting local wine farms, such as Rutherglen, the Murray River, the forests of Chiltern and Albury Wodonga.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have stayed at the motel every year for the past 12 years and are returning again in November. The motel has always been good but the current managers John and Margaret have made good improvements. Nothing has been too much trouble and they look after our group very well, with no complaints. The rooms are clean and spacious, with a short stroll to the club and golf course next door. The pool, bbq and gardens are always kept clean and tidy.
Would recommend the motel and golf club to anyone for a group trip away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howlong
11.4 mi away
Koendidda Country House
Koendidda Country House
#1 of 2 in Barnawartha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
14.6 mi away
Statesman Motor Inn
Statesman Motor Inn
#1 of 12 in Corowa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Motor Inn
16.6 mi away
Quest Albury
Quest Albury
#2 of 7 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlong Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlong Golf Resort

Property: Howlong Golf Resort
Address: 186 Golf Club Dr, Howlong, New South Wales 2643, Australia (Formerly Howlong Country Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Howlong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howlong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howlong Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped lakes and gardens provide the perfect backdrop to the tight challenging Howlong 18 hole Layout. Howlong is a pleasure to play, whatever the season and is situated on the banks of the majestic Murray River, 29 km west of Albury, within the renowned Rutherglen gourmet food and wine region. You will share the warmth of Howlong hospitality when you stay at The Howlong Golf Resort. The Resort overlooks the golf course, bowling greens, tennis court and pro shop. There is also an in ground pool, sauna, outdoor spa, kids play ground and a tennis court - not to mention we are just 50 meters from the Club with two great restaurants open seven days a week. The Howlong Country Golf Resort is The Howlong Golf Resort is the 2011 Jack Newton Junior Golf CLUB OF THE YEAR, the 2012 Golf Australia CENTRE OF THE YEAR, the 2014 Highly Commended Winners from Clubs NSW, the 2015 Community Awards Finalist from Clubs NSW and hosts the renowned Top of the Murray and Murray Masters Tournaments. Stay, Play, Relax and be Entertained at Howlong on the Murray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Howlong Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing