We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

One night stay recently as we were seeing friends who could not put us up.
Had one of the rooms with a 4-poster bed, which was OK, if a bit soft for our liking. The room was also above the bar, so was a bit noisy when we returned. Strange to have used this room when they were not full and there were probably quieter rooms available. Roll-top bath in the bathroom, with a shower attached. I found it difficult to get in and out of, and claustrophobic with the shower curtain around me. The lighting in the bedroom was poor, making it difficult to read. I tried to connect to their wi-fi, but without success. Nothing came up asking me to create an account with Cloud.
We didn't eat in the hotel as we were seeing friends for dinner, so can't comment on the food, but the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    139
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
47
111
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have just had two night stay at the Lion Hotel at Buckden, excellent value for money with good Adnams Ale served at the bar by a friendly landlady , good evening meal of locally sourced sausages and mash followed by decent red wine all well priced and served well , this is an old coaching house well situated by the A1 , the décor is olde worldy as you would expect , not pristine but fine at an affordable price with good community feel in the bar .
I hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is good, Room 8 has a little traffic noise but nothing to worry about , Drink the Adnams
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richy1186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stopped here because it is very handy for the A1
When I arrived it was clear that this was something special in that it dates from 1492 and has many unique features.
There are mseveral places to eat locally however I decided to eat in and found the food to be good, the real ale was also of a high standard.
My room was comfortable and I enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the local road however there noise is not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had heard of the Lion situated in Buckden and when friends suggested we stayed there, we looked at the reviews prior to committing ourselves. We wasted our time in doing so. Upon arrival, very friendly people met us. Checking in was easy. Having settled in we sought afternoon tea, it was similar to a banquet, beautifully presented and maybe a little too much on the plate but better to leave an amount of food rather than leave with an amount of disappointment.

The room was spacious, very clean, plenty of tea and coffee and a very comfortable bed.

Later in the evening, a group of 10 sat down for dinner, and again the food was tremendous and still no option to leave hungry!

Checking out the following day was easy, but no feeling of 'you've paid, now leave'.

Overall, we were made very welcomed and yes, we would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teef1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberlour, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times, mainly because of it's location. However I will not be staying there again. The whole place is in desperate need of renovation, and requires a thorough "deep clean". It is very obvious that nothing is being spent on this hotel in the way of maintenance, and the whole place is run on a "shoestring". The rooms give a feeling of grubbiness----the carpets and bed-covers are dirty, there is mould around the bath edges, and the showers don't work properly.
My last stay was for two nights. When I returned at the end of day one, the room had not been made up ( a couple of towels had been placed on the dirty carpet outside the door).
The staff (with one notable exception) were fine, but the "notable exception" needs to go on a course to learn how not to treat your guests---even a couple of polite words such as "good morning" would be a start!
I did'nt have dinnner here, so can't comment, but the breakfast was average, despite the pot of tea being luke-warm. I did'nt want to incur the wrath of the "notable exception" by asking for another pot of tea, so I drank my orange juice and left vowing never to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Two words: Basil Fawlty. Not really sure why someone with an evident lack of any empathy with his customers would want to run a business in the hotel trade. I booked two twin rooms a couple of months before. Four of us arrived after cycling 90 miles, to find that we had only one room booked. Apparently " if I had booked two rooms I would have been given two booking references" And I'm meant to know that how exactly? No apology of course. All the other staff are very nice- but their boss manages to outweigh all their best efforts. You may strike lucky and have a nice stay here- the risk is yours.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impossibletochoosena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is the first time I have ever felt the need to write a bad review about a hotel. People very nice, food in the restaurant good, but room very poor indeed . Toilet dirty (poo), hairs/dirt and mold in the bathroom , bedroom very tired and just not clean. We checked in in the afternoon and thought we would suffer it for one night, we ate in the restaurant the food and service was very good. We returned to our room and decided we would drive back to kent rather than sleep in the room. I had already paid as I booked online but for the sake of £60 I am glad we left. I took the key to reception but there were only junior members of staff available whom was very nice albeit a bit embarrassed . They made sure the management had my details before we left , I did not expect anyone to contact me as they already had taken my money, i was right. Please don't book a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paxo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckden
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel & Brasserie
4.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
3.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Property: The Lion Hotel
Address: High Street, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lion at Buckden, Cambridgeshire, one of the oldest coaching inns in England. Dating back to 1492, we continue to retain much of our wonderful charm, character and atmosphere. Whether you are looking for a quiet drink with friends, a Sunday lunch with the family or a place to rest weary legs we would be delighted to see you. You can rest assured your time at The Lion, however long, will be very enjoyable. Located in the heart of Cambridgeshire, Buckden is a small village just off the A1 giving you excellent access to London and The North not to mention all the local places of interest including the historic Buckden Towers. If you are dining or staying with us, we recommend a reservation however this is not a requirement so please feel free to drop in at any time for a bite to eat, a place to stay or just a refreshing drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Buckden, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing