We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brasserie”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buckden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel & Brasserie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a lovely atmosphere and ambiance, and the meal wasn't too bad either! Had a lovely meal from a well balanced menu; was spoiled for choice from starter to main course to dessert. Quiet and efficient service in lovely surroundings, a lovely evening that we all said we would repeat at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: Only used the brasserie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a fantastic night away at The George. The service was outstanding from the moment we called to book the room, throughout dinner right through to checking out. Being vegetarian, we asked if they would be able to cook dishes not on the menu and this was done brilliantly with outstanding food. The room was lovely and overall it was amazing value for money and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hanover room which was wonderful and spacious. An excellent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I went to The George for a catch up lunch with my mother. The food was excellent, I would even say that the chips are worth the visit on their own. However, the service whilst polite and pleasant did let the kitchen down. We had to ask three times for water, twice for a glass of wine, twice for the bill and an empty glass sat on our table for the duration of our meal. When this was pointed out a very charming member of staff did apologise and removed the cost of our tea and coffee from the bill so they did recognise it could have been better but I would have preferred to have paid for the drinks and given a glowing review.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Shoegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went to the restaurant on Saturday. There were 13 of us. Everything was perfect. The service was first class and the meal was well presented, hot and interesting.

We couldn't fault the place at all. It's not the first time we've visited and each time the standard is consistent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Helpful staff,, no problems booking a table. Lovely three course lunch for five, no one had anything adverse to say. Service may have been a little slow if you need to rush off but it was friendly, smart and attentive when needed.
Total price for 5 for 3 courses, coffee and drinks including wine was £130 which round here is excellent value.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A lovely place to stay and the food was just amazing. the staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming. I just wish that we lived near enough to eat there more often. I had to be up early to do an event on the Sunday morning and they brought me up a pot of freshly brewed coffee at 6 am which was very welcome. Far better than a sachet of instant and a kettle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We recently got married at The George and words cannot describe just how incredible it was, I have NEVER been looked after like it. Cynthia and herr team couldn't have made our day any more magical if they tried. The place itself is beautiful, the service is breathtakingly amazing, the food superb. I will be going back as often as I can. Oh and you must stay as the room was amazing and breakfast is delicious!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckden
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
323 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
3.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
443 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
4.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel & Brasserie

Address: High Street, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel & Brasserie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George, Hotel and Brasserie, is situated in the historic village of Buckden just off the A1 between Huntingdon and St Neots, & a stones throw from the A14. For hundreds of years it has been a resting place for travellers making their way between York and London along the old Great North Road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel And Brasserie
George Hotel St Neots
The George Hotel & Brasserie Buckden, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing