We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buckden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel & Brasserie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunchtime visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a cold monday in november to find a warm welcome
we had not booked so ordered a drink at the bar before a
member of staff found us a table for two in the bar restaurant area
the lunchtime menu had just the right amount of choice
and did not disappoint the service was excellent as was the
food we were in no hurry which is the best way to enjoy this
establishment and the bill very reasonable so top marks to
The George

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    66
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
101
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This review relates only to the restaurant. I have used the restaurant on a number of occasions and the food, service and atmosphere are always very good. Last night was no exception. I do however get irritated when wine lists quote a particular vintage and serve another. The Barolo I chose was quoted as 2008 and they served a 2009. Now I haven't got a clue which was a good vintage and rely on the restaurant to serve good wines. However, on checking afterwards 2008 was considered to be a good year while 2009 was generally felt to be a poor year for Barolo. I think the New Zealand St Clair Sauvignon was also a year later than quoted but I was not so concerned about this as they are generally good drunk young. When paying £30+ a bottle you are entitled to get what you pay for. Either serve the wine on offer, keep your wine list up to date or don't quote a vintage.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our party of ten had Sunday lunch in the private dining room. The food was very nice just a couple of things would have made it perfect. Nice bread arrived but the starters of mackeral pate & smoked salmon should have had extra bread as on the menu.Pointed this out & bread arrived but not enough for six!! We were then brought more so not a major problem. The main courses were lovely as was the pudding. One of our party was taken ill & the staff were just wonderful found her a room to recover in & were very concerned. She was fine & we all still had a very nice lunch. The hotel is lovely & the private dining room is very special. So all in all fantastic!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We dropped in unannounced on a busy Saturday night. Waited for a table for 90 mins which we were happy to do given we hadn't reserved a table (and gale force 8 winds outside). Very organised and the head waiter very attentive. Just a couple of niggles. Ordered wine and waited 10 mins before reordering as they had forgot and the lovely warm olive bread was delivered on a platter with an empty small dish. We waited expect ion oil or something akin but nothing arrived. We stopped a waiter to ask what was missing to be told,oh it should have had butter. We said it came empty to which he said it must be slimming butter! Sense of humour 10 out of ten... But didn't do anything about it!
That said the issues were quite trivial just a shame as everything else was worth the 90 min wait.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We went as a party of 5 for afternoon tea today, as a treat, having been there earlier this year and thoroughly enjoyed it. However, it was disappointing to find the standard of the food and presentation of it far inferior this time. The first time, as well as the pots of tea, we each had a plate stand containing our own choice of sandwiches, two scones and a selection of small cakes. This time, the sandwiches were all plated together so my one choice of egg mayonnaise was part of the general selection so were shared between everyone. Also, having the food shared in this way meant a lot of passing of plates around to each other. In terms of portions, these had reduced. Three small sandwiches each and the small cakes were had shrunk to bitesize and were not nearly as light and tasty as previously. At just over £12 each, this wasn't really value for money. The service was good though once we had been served, no-one came to check how things were and we had to get up to find a waiter to supply some water. On the plus side, it was a very relaxed atmosphere and surroundings and we weren't hurried.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having booked a 2 night stay, 24/25 October, we checked in at a small friendly reception area by a charming lady, which set the tone for the rest of our stay. OUTSTANDING is the only way to rate this family run hotel.
Our room (Washington) was spacious and spotless with a large bathroom, fluffy towels and great bath and shower toileteries, very large bed and so comfortable, the cream on the cake for us was if we wanted tea/coffee in our room, just call call reception and a teapot and coffee pot, piping hot, were deliverd to you room with sparkling cups and saucers plus biscuits! with a smile. With no charge to your room rate.
Morning call was asked if needed at reception and duly at said time a knock on your room door was followed with a tray of said tea/coffee and a newspaper. Superb service.
Breakfast, well if you wish for the finest smoked salmon with freshly scrambled eggs, book a room! Service was superb with no request greeted with a no. A cappuccino was requested and gladly served. I have stayed in many 5* hotels and they insist on a charge for this on top of the breakfast charge (tut tut).
Every member of staff deserves a medal for their smile and 1st class of service.
This was our first visit BUT in will not be the last.
The restaurant food in the evening, I will review on its own as it is stunning and deserves a seperate review.
This hotel knocks spots of maNy 5* hotels and is a credit to ALL.

Room Tip: just book and be suprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186342Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked a table here and we had a brilliant evening. The service was outstanding and the food divine. Will definitely come back here and will be recommending to our friends and family :-D

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyBoxy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckden
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
311 reviews
3.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
431 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
3.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel & Brasserie

Property: The George Hotel & Brasserie
Address: High Street, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel & Brasserie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George, Hotel and Brasserie, is situated in the historic village of Buckden just off the A1 between Huntingdon and St Neots, & a stones throw from the A14. For hundreds of years it has been a resting place for travellers making their way between York and London along the old Great North Road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel And Brasserie
George Hotel St Neots
The George Hotel & Brasserie Buckden, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing