We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buckden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel & Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

New Years Eve at the George was a roaring twenties success. Lots of champagne, delicious food, good service, great fun, great atmosphere, good value. I Would highly recommend without hesitation. I will be seeing in 2015 there!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gillianharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIP R, Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank-you for your positive feedback and choosing to see in the New Year at the George. The evening was a great success and was enjoyed by all that were part of the evening and the 20's spirit! The Champagne was indeed flowing - see you very soon at the George hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having travelled from Calais on the way home to Grimsby we were just about to give up on finding anywhere to eat when we passes a sign on the A1. We asked if it was possible to have a table for 4 even though it was getting on to 2.30 in the afternoon, we were asked to taxe a seat in the bar for ten minutes where we enjoyed a lovely glass of wine ( coffee for the drivers ) and were taken to a table within ten minutes. The meal was absolutely delicious and the service second to none by all. we enjoyed it so much that we are thinking of staying overnight on our next trip to France.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithadams21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIP R, General Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are glad that we were able to offer you the perfect opportunity for a great Sunday lunch and a much needed rest! We look forward to seeing you back at The George for an overnight visit - Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Having grown up just down the road I've known The George for a long time, and although I've eaten there before, this was my first overnight stay.

The atmosphere at The George is relaxed, and that makes for a really welcoming environment in a small, smart hotel like this. The bar, restaurant and hotel reception all flow together and are covered by the same team of staff. We were booked to stay in "Orwell", but on arrival were told that we were being upgraded to "Hanover" - a nice bonus.

The room was comfortable, and well decorated - the rooms are themed to some extent, but in a subtle and understated way. We could perhaps have done with some armchairs or a small sofa, but coped without. The bathroom was lovely - and a really good size. It was, however, the cause of the only major problem we experienced. The hot water disappeared after a single pre-dinner shower... and was luke-warm the next morning. To give credit to the staff, they offered us the use of another room to shower in and took some money off the bill when we checked out.

In fact, the staff were fantastic throughout our stay. Helpful, personable and engaging - without being stuffy or formal. There is a great team working at The George, and a lot of other boutique hotels could learn from them.

We ate in the restaurant - lovely meal with good, reasonably priced wine - and had breakfast in our room the next morning, again with good quality ingredients.

Despite the issues with the hot water, I am confident that you would struggle to find a hotel in the area which matches up to The George in terms of service and quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIP R, General Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank-you very much for your kind words and positive feedback regarding your overall stay with us at the George. We aim to achieve the highest standards throughout the hotel through our team and glad that we were able to provide you with such over the festive period. May I apologise for the difficulties that you have encountered with the hot water supply in your room - this is being dealt with by our maintenance here.

We look forward to welcoming you to the George in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for a family celebration and was not disappointed. We had a private room for the evening meal which made it extra special and the service was very good. The evening meal and breakfast were both lovely. Loved that all the rooms are named after a famous George and are themed. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIP R, Manager at The George Hotel & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank-you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the George. I am pleased we were able to make your family occasion that extra bit special ! We look forward to your return visit very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our party of four had dinner in the Brasserie on a Saturday afternoon. We had a superb experience; the staff were warm, welcoming and efficient. The atmosphere pleasant, relaxed but 'smart'. Food was top notch and, quite frankly, unbelievably good value. Food is modern European, beautifully presented and delicious. The standard of food compares very well with the best London based restaurants and hotels. Thank you and 'well done' to all involved.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank challenger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed DB&B at the George for one night to celebrate an Anniversary. Service from all staff was almost impeccable - friendly but professional. Dinner : great menu choice - food was unbelievably well-cooked and presented, and no doubt used top quality ingredients. Breakfast was equally good quality food - full English was the best we've had since Cork 1996 (then of course a full Irish). The room (Eliot) was quaint yet spacious - Beautiful furniture, and room fittings. Only slight negatives were: 1) traditional bedsheets and blankets took some getting used to when you normally have a duvet 2) mattress was too soft - if they asked, Premier Inn could advise on that one 3) the drench shower over the bath sounds nice - but for us a shower with hose in a good size cubicle would always be our preference.
Common lounge areas are a delightful place to while away the morning with the papers, and freshly brewed coffee,.in the company of my lovely wife.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldnotmyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We eat out very regularly and are often disappointed. However, we ate at The George this week and we had a fabulous meal! We just had a starter and main course - the food was imaginative and very tasty! The portions are not huge and we ate everything on our plates but it was sufficient. The service was good and the atmosphere very Christmassy! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckden
0 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Buckden
350 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
4 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
696 reviews
7.9 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#1 of 4 in St Ives
108 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel & Brasserie

Address: High Street, Buckden PE19 5XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buckden
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel & Brasserie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George, Hotel and Brasserie, is situated in the historic village of Buckden just off the A1 between Huntingdon and St Neots, & a stones throw from the A14. For hundreds of years it has been a resting place for travellers making their way between York and London along the old Great North Road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel And Brasserie
George Hotel St Neots
The George Hotel & Brasserie Buckden, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing