We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A really good one night stay hotel, extremely helpful staff, Ellen is very helpful .
Good value for the money, we also found a good Cauvery only a couple of miles away.
Spacious room double bed, and a good English Breakfast at the services, if you want a stop half way up the M 1 then this is it.
Paul and Joan Bennett

Room Tip: Get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for the great review.
I will pass on your comments to Ellen who will be thrilled with the lovely feedback.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to give us this great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Days Inn Chesterfield in the near future.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Extremely pleased with the room, especially the fact that the twin bedded room was included giving us a real bed for our son instead of the usual sofa bed. Thanks, this arrangement made the booking excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review.
I’m really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We hope to see you soon
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for three nights in a family room (two double-beds) with my daughter - visiting friends in the area. Room was speacious and clean. The staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. One concern was the overpowering plug-in air freshener smell in the corridors and stairwell. Surprisingly, seeing as we were on the motorway, it was very quiet through the night and there was no road noise at all. We did hear a baby one night but it was a family in the room adjacent to us, which was understandable.
We paid for breakfast vouchers to use in the motorway services next door. Day one we had to pay £5 on top of the voucher value (the child's voucher will pay for a basic breakfast - bowl of cereals or three cooked items - but doesn't cover a drink!), day two we paid an extra £3. Day three we managed to get it within the value of the vouchers - by sharing a bottle of orange juice!
Yes, I would stay here again, in spite of the annoying miles you spend on the motorway if you want to get to Derby. I would, however, make my own arrangements for Breakfast and not go for the most 'convenient' option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review
I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff and thank you for commenting about how quiet the rooms are, as we are situated quite away from the motorway noise is not a problem.
I do apologise for the problems regarding breakfast and I do hope that this didn’t spoil your stay with us. We do have several restaurants within the area which we would be happy to direct you to which are just a short drive from the hotel.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Tibshelf Days Inn is a little difficult to get to if travelling from the north on the A1(M), having to pass through 2 intercom controlled gates and cross a bridge. The fire alarm went off 4 times during the night - neither for a test nor for a fire.
The one member of staff we met was kind and helpful. The bed was comfortable. The room was more spacious than most motels. WiFi was free and easy to access. TV had alot of channels. Couldn't hear other guests.
The nearby RoadChef had a limited menu of non-descript food and dirty cutlery.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review.
I apologise that your experience was anything less than satisfactory. This problem has been rectified. I also apologise that the restaurant let you down on this occasion, we do have several restaurants within the area which we would be happy to direct you to which is just a short drive from the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for a night as nowhere else nearby had a cheap room. Paid £40 and got a double bed with another room off shooting it with 2 singles for our kids so the room was huge. The booking was slightly tricky as the website was confused about how many kids you can have in a room. Got tea and coffee in the room and free wifi all night not like the other budget hotels.
There was no noise from outside at all so it was great but I agree about the carpet smell which was very off putting but only in the corridors. Overall a good night and we'll consider Days Inn again when looking for somewhere cheap to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumbersideCatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review
I am pleased that you have commented on how quiet the rooms are, as we are situated quite away from the motorway noise is not a problem.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon
Regards Michelle Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Considering this is a dated Motel, the location felt secure as you had to be a customer to get access through barriers.

I did not see many staff but the service was friendly , efficient and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Discounted food vouchers for the services made a useful saving on inflated motorway service prices. There are lots of nice places to eat in the rural surrounds , with access direct via a local road exit. I was not affected by traffic noise.

The rooms are very tired indeed, sparsely furnished but spacious with about the same storage capacity of a premier inn. The bathroom we had seemed to have been modernised recently in contrast to the room itself.

Good value for £40 for a twin room for one night in an area that was almost completely booked up. Not one affordable double room to be found.

My only issue was the disgusting smell of the corridors from the watermarked ageing carpets , that stank of mould , dust and decay and the residue of the days of smoking rooms. Despite valiant attempts to keep them clean and mask the smell with air freshers the musty aroma goes straight for the senses, in my case causing much sneezing and a need for antihistamines. This makes it look and feel dirty when the hygiene standard seem to be very good.

I have stayed in worse places for much more. We had a no frills comfortable overnight stop for easy access the next day to our outdoor activities.

The staff are an asset to this Motel.

Room Tip: probably avoid upstairs where the corridor carpets smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologise that your experience was anything less than satisfactory. Please be assured these are not the standards we usually offer at Days inn Chesterfield and the situation has been rectified.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at Tibshelf. Although on the motorway between 2 junctions it is also accessed from local roads via the service entrance, so access to all areas is easy. It is located away from the M1 so we heard little motorway noise. The services themselves are small with WH Smith and Costa open 24 hours. We had breakfast in the restaurant using voucher from reception. Staff at hotel were friendly and the room OK - plently of space and tea and coffee provided. Lights are a bit bright. Only downside is there was only one chair for 3 of us and black mould between bathroom tiles on floor and wall and around bath. Also black mouid around the window frame. I have marked the rating down to 4 because of the mould and because the room wasn't serviced - when I mentioned the lack of servicing at reception the lady apologised and offered to service it for us then and there, which was fine. I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you have commented on how quiet the rooms are, as we are situated quite away from the motorway noise is not a problem.
I am sorry that your room was not serviced during your stay here, Please be assured these are not the standards we usually offer for our guests. I will look into this to ensure the issues you raised are addressed.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tibshelf
10.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
549 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
256 reviews
12.6 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,641 reviews
4.4 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf

Address: Tibshelf Motorway Service Area | M1 Jnt 28/29, Tibshelf DE55 5TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Tibshelf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Price Range: £29 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf Hotel Tibshelf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing