We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearly good but disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nearly good but disappointed”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Comfy bed let down by body odours in the bedding.

simple but effective bathroom.

tele worked if a litle pale.

breakfast voucher spent next door - do not be afraid to return your meal to the kitchen and take a refund. You are warned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I apologise that your experience was anything less than satisfactory and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Fresh, clean laundry is used ready for the arrival of our guests. I’m sorry that you were also let down by the restaurant, I will pass your comments on the restaurant manager.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    86
    81
    27
    15
See reviews for
81
81
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We chose to stay here as a group booking 5 rooms as a stopover en route to Sheffield.

Like others, the Sat Nav took us on a mystery tour and you have to ignore the no entry sign and press a buttom to gain entry. Exit back onto the M1 was easy enough. Unclear whether it is possible to exit straight off of the M1 so worth checking to avoid the detour.

We were checked in quickly and politely. Our room was on the first floor with 2 double beds and all the usual expected facilities were included, working and clean. The general decor was dated and needs a bit of tarting up. Although close to the M1 there was little noise and we could only here the TV from the next room. All reasonable good then.

My only cricism was the bed. It was very worn and one where you roll into the lower middle. When I lifted the duvet to see the base, it was two halves and both were worn and badly stained.

There is a restaurant on site or a MacDonalds a short walk across a bridge to the Southbound side. I cannot comment as we took our own food and porridge to eat in the morning.

Check out was fine.

Very reasonable priced and convenient. If you are looking for a bit extra comfort then try somehwere else but if you are on a budget and simply looking for a stop over bed then this might just do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quackers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us.
I’m sorry that the bed was less than satisfactory. I shall look into this problem and correct this. Please be assured these are not the standards we usually offer.
Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My partner & I stayed here for one night on 7th Dec. We were given room 20, which is a ground floor room set up for Disabled users, with two single beds. We had ordered a double, but never mind, we simply moved the beds together :-)
I found the room to be of a fairly good standard, with TV, shower, kettle, lights all working fine. The room was nice and clean, but I did need to ask for some loo roll, which was supplied quickly. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable.
The only issue I had was finding the place, as we used the postcode supplied by LastMinute.com. First we went to the back of the M1 Services, which had a big red gate and an intercom that was meant to connect me to Reception. I tried a few times and had no response...I then phoned the hotel's number and also had no response, so I found another postcode that had been emailed to me by the automated booking service. It wasn't until Google Maps took me to some field near a farm and promptly had a tantrum, that I checked a few other websites to find the actual postcode for the M1 Services. Thankfully it only took another 20 minutes to go along the motorway and get to the correct location.
If you are trying to find this place, my advice is just to go on the motorway and use the RoadChef M1 Services postcode DE55 5SZ.

Room Tip: DE55 5SZ is the correct postcode for the Services area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
I’m sorry that you had such difficulty finding the hotel and that this added an extra 20 minutes to your journey. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us .We will utilise your comments and try and sort this problem out.
I’m glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and I hope that we see you again soon.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A convenient overnight stop before a day dancing near Chesterfield. I had 2 problems: the bed was very springy and the walls between rooms too thin to cut out noise of family next door. Otherwise it was satisfactory for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
Im sorry that the bed was less than satisfactory. I shall look into this problem.
Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very clean room,comfortable, didnt try the services next door so couldnt comment on that.Hotel could do with a refurb looking abit drab...just want to mention the staff,ellen in particular what a great asset to days inn lovely warm welcome and couldnt do enough for us,keep up the good work.will stay again if we are over that way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for the review.
I will pass on your lovely comments to Ellen who will be really delighted.
Thank you again for the lovely review.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not easy to find using SatNav,takes you off jct28 then around lanes and village until you come to a no entry sign and you have to be asked to get in.Needs a good makeover.Room had paint peeling off,bathroom bit of mildew around edge could not leave bathroom door open as notice on wall said it sets of fire alarm from the steam..Dauvet to thin.Cups to small for a decent cup of tea.Needs more eating places on site.Bought a voucher for breakfast in eatery next door and with only about six of us to serve they forgot me.Had to wait long time.Receptionist very helpful that afternoon.Worst one i have stayed in so far.Could tell it is old as used key to get in rooms instead of an electronic card.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
I’m really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. I’m sorry that you were also let down by the restaurant, I will pass your comments on the restaurant manager.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unknown
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It starts badly as the hotel post code does not take you to the hotel - some unclassified road in Tibshelf.
The beds are uncomfortable.
We would use it again, for its location alone and the need to stay somewhere enroute. Breakfast was unavailable and the possibilities to eat of site were awful - this needs to be mentioned prior to booking it needs to be possible to get a proper meal on site or in the services next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I can only apologise for the problems you have experienced.
We do work closely with the Roadchef restaurant beside us to provide our guests with meals that offer value for money. Breakfast is served every morning from 7am. I will certainly pass your comments on to the restaurant manager. We do have several restaurants within the area which we would be happy to direct you to which are just a short drive from the hotel.
Thank you again for your review, and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tibshelf hotels

Been to Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf

Property: Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Address: Tibshelf Motorway Service Area | M1 Jnt 28/29, Tibshelf DE55 5TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Tibshelf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf Hotel Tibshelf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing