We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“surprisingly reasonable”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night with my 2 young sons. visiting family locally. staff were lovely. We had a family room which was surprisingly spacious and well equipped for budget hotel. kids beds were already made up on arrival and room was a little tired in places, but clean, with TV, tea tray, plenty of towels, hairdryer and bodywash. Nice and quiet as well (until my horrors arrived anyway! ). Major disappointment was the food at the services. We popped in to get the little one a warm milk from Costa before bed, but didn't realise until the morning when I went to throw the cup away that there was a mouse poo stuck in the lid of the cup. . YUCK!! We bought a voucher for food- £7.50 buys £10 worth of food and was surprised that we got 2 kids eat free vouchers. . After the mouse poo incident I was reticent to eat there but didn't have much choice at that time. £10 does not get you far at those prices as everything is an extra and kids drinks were not included in their voucher. overall I would stay at the day's inn without hesitation, but would avoid the services if I could.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sausagenmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review
Please contact the hotel and speak with myself so that we can fully investigate and resolve the issues that you have mentioned.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    90
    85
    28
    16
See reviews for
82
87
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were generally pleased with our room but one of the twin beds was appalling and needed replacing and the other bed was of poor quality. Neither of us had a good night's sleep so we would avoid Days Inn in future because of this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank JandI4852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
Please be assured we have resolved the issues with the beds.
I do hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the family room and appreciate the fact we can have our two dogs with us, as we attend a championship dog show at Clay Cross nearby every year. We needed to go out for dinner to a local pub and the receptionist kindly gave us directions to a couple of ideas - we also needed to know how to get onto the south bound motorway from the north bound Days Inn, so further directions were given to us. It would be very helpful to guests if this type of information could be typed out onto a fact sheet of local information, as it is very difficult to take in verbal directions to more than a couple of queries. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Food in nearby service area not good - I had to return my cooked breakfast on our previous visit as it was cold and inedible, so we bought a packet of sandwiches from Smiths - would have preferred a decent cooked breakfast. The food area lacks life and there is little attention paid to customers' requirements - could be a lot better. This is no reflection on Days Inn, but the quality of the food does not support their good efforts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review
I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that the receptionist could direct you to nearby restaurants. I’m sorry that the restaurant within the service station let you down on this occasion, I will pass on your comments to the restaurant manager.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you and your two dogs back soon
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nn11 0tq
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice sized room, comfortable, and good value for money. Wi-Fi not the best. The rest of the service area was limited with it's facilities.

However, The Crown, in the village of Tibshelf, is an excellent eating place (approx. 1.5 miles from Days Inn through back gate). Good quality large portions, with small prices. Staff are very friendly and attentive 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Top floor room reccommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review
I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do have a number of restaurants with in the area that we are happy to direct guests to.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hykeham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room was very good and that staff was excellent, the only downside was that it was a bit noisy regarding other room users and as a light sleeper it did annoy me slightly. Overall we all enjoyed it. Many Thanks. Mark, Natalie and Owen (child) in case you get the wrong idea : )

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review
I’m sorry to hear you had difficulty sleeping, I hope this didn’t spoil your stay with us.
I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff
I do hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Chesterfield (Tibshelf) soon and thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nice comfy rooms, friendly and helpful staff, surprisingly quiet and peaceful. My only problem is sometimes waiting for the barriers to cross to the southbound side and vice versa, would be easier and a lot quicker if the code was given at check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank CBR600Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff.
I’m sorry that you had problems with the barriers, I do hope this didn’t spoil your stay with us.
I do hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the Days Inn recently alone for a business trip. After a long drive I was hoping for somewhere to sit, relax and have a drink and maybe a bite to eat....no such luck. Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful the hotel itself was a disappointment. It is basically just a room - a motel if you will. Mine was a double room, but I ended up with a massive family room. The beds were lumpy and uncomfortable and there were stains all over the divan....not nice.

After realising there was no bar/lounge I headed to the services next door.....everything was shutting down at 8.30pm.....so no relaxing drink to be found there. Quietest services I think I've ever encountered.

The location and price brought me to this place, but I would not return. I have stayed in Days Inns before, but this was poor in comparison to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle R, General Manager at Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Please be assured we are doing everything we can to resolve the issues you experienced.
Unfortunately due to our motorway location it is illegal for us to serve alcohol, but we can always recommend local supermarkets if you wish to purchase alcohol to drink in your room.
Thank you again for you review
Kind regards
Michelle Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tibshelf
0.0 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
539 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
238 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
222 reviews
14.3 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
245 reviews
10.7 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf

Property: Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
Address: Tibshelf Motorway Service Area | M1 Jnt 28/29, Tibshelf DE55 5TZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Tibshelf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tibshelf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf Hotel Tibshelf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing