We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pucklechurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fern Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Pucklechurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hi Sue and Pete, thank you for making our stay so lovely and memorable. The 5 of us had a great time and have fond memories of our stay, your breakfast is the best we have had in Europe so far. The portions were generous and Sue even gave us the recipe to the muesli she makes! The beds and rooms are very comfortable and have all amenities of a 5 star resort. Thank you again and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenAnthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
236
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Fern Cottage. From the minute we booked, we knew we were going to enjoy staying there. Sue and Pete were lovely people - very approachable, friendly, nothing was too much for them (they even got up early for us on 2 days for an early breakfast!), and everything was with a smile. They knew the surrounding areas very well and it was clear they loved what they did. If you like wildlife, they had a lovely array of wild birds that you could watch while having breakfast. Our room was lovely, very clean and a nice, comfy kingsize bed, and you could sit in the porch with a glass of wine, or venture into the lovely garden and enjoy the sunset (and a handful of fresh damsons straight off the tree)! We slept like logs every night! Locationwise, it was easy to get to and travel around from. Excellent value for money too - no hesitation in staying at Fern Cottage again, in fact, I've recommended this place to a few friends. Thank you Sue and Pete for making our holiday so lovely in every way. Angie and Neil :)
ps. You absolutely HAVE to try out Sue's homemade Granola, jams and baked eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After 14 days being spoiled on Cunard's Queen Victoria we were amazed at the high standard of service at Fern Cottage. Greeted by name on arrival with home made scones, jam and organic clotted cream was just the start of a fabulous three days. Thanks Sue and Pete for all the hard work you put in to make your guests feel very special.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Fern Cottage. Our hosts Sue & Pete could not have been more friendly, genuine, welcoming and committed to making each guest's stay as positive an experience as possible, with Pete's tips and advice very much enhancing our travel and sightseeing plans within the area. Perfect location for trips to Bath, Bristol and surrounding villages and attractions. Unique, very tasty and extensive breakfast options, with very special extra touches such as delicious home-made scones on arrival and home-made chocolate chip cookies every day. We've stayed in many B&Bs over the years and Fern Cottage truly was a home from home with exceptional service and probably the best value for money B&B we've ever stayed in to boot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truly_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Sue and Pete really know how to welcome there guests. We arrived at Fern Cottage late afternoon and been offer a nice cup of tea and homemade scones and jam! This never happened to us before and it was a very nice start for our relaxing weekend! Then, we settled in our lovely cottage very well presented with high intention to details that make all the difference: carafe with filtered water, large selection of teas and coffees, and even homemade chocolate cookies! The furniture is high quality and the bed so comfy; I promise you will sleep like babies. The most important part now: breakfast – home cooked with fresh ingredient so tasty and well-presented, very good food.
We strongly recommend Fern cottage and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having read an article about Fern Cottage B&B in a Danish newspaper, we quickly agreed that this was something we had to try. We were lucky to get a room for 2 nights during our stay in UK, and from the first contact was made, everything was absolutely perfect. We arrived late Sunday afternoon and were welcomed by Sue and Pete and warm scones and homemade jam. While we enjoyed it, we went through the very difficult task of choosing, what we would have for breakfast the next morning. We had a wonderful stay: Fern Cottage is perfect for sightseeings to Bath, Bristol and the Cotswold, and Sue and Pete are very helpful, if you need help with places to see and how to get there. The rooms, the garden with several places where the guests can sit and enjoy life and the food are simply fantastic.
If we should mention one - small - negative thing, it will be that it is not possible to walk down to a pub or a restaurant to get something to eat, which is why we have rated "Locations" as "Very good" in stead of "Excellent".
Otherwise we think that the rest of the ratings speak for themselves, and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a long weekend and had a great time. Sue and Pete are very welcoming and made our stay perfect. Breakfast was so good. Try the hot tub if you can, it was wonderful relaxing and watching the hot air balloons fly past.

Would I stay again- 100% yes

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonmillwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pucklechurch
5.0 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
366 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
3.0 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
9.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fern Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 188 Shortwood Hill | Bristol, Pucklechurch BS16 9PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Pucklechurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pucklechurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Award Winning Fern Cottage Bed and Breakfast is set in 2 acres of delightful gardens within a designated conservation area - 15 minutes from the City of Bath and the vibrant Maritime City of Bristol. We are very proud to have been re-graded by EnjoyEngland and received a 4 STAR GOLD Award in March 2016. The GOLD Award is presented for exceptional quality of accommodation, customer service, food and hospitality. We have also received the Highly Commended Award for Bed and Breakfast of the Year from VisitEngland after attending the prestigious VisitEngland Awards for Excellence 2013 in Manchester on 20th May. We are very proud to be in the top 5 bed and breakfast businesses in England. We have now received 20 Awards for customer service, hospitality and our home made, home grown and local food. We have cooked for Gary Rhodes and Michael Caines in the UKTV Local Food Hero and received Finalist for the whole of the South West. We are also the only Bed and Breakfast in this area to have received a GOLD Award for Green Tourism for the 7th year running. Three rooms are in our beautifully converted stable block with panoramic views overlooking fields and the fourth room is situated at the rear of the cottage overlooking the rear garden. All rooms have their own entrances, so guests can come and go as they please. We have put together a unique breakfast menu using only local, home made and home grown produce. Baked eggs, devilled kidneys on hot buttered toast, local naturally smoked haddock with home made potato cakes, fresh herb omelette using our own delicious eggs from our hens and of course our own South West full English breakfast, using locally produced maple cured bacon specially prepared for us, old English sausages, potato cakes with home grown chives, a taster portion of devilled kidneys, grilled local tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing