We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amstelveen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great Hotel, nice and quite, big rooms with very large bathrooms and separate loo.

If I had one Niggle the "cooked " part of the breakfast buffet not to good. But the rest of the buffet was great lots of choice.

Great staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A long way out of Amsterdam if that is where you are visiting but easy to get to bus stop right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parosgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and once again we were not disappointed . The staff were very friendly the room was massive (have done another review last year with pictures ) . This time we were placed at the front of the hotel with a balcony . The hotel is on a main road but to be honest it did not bother or interupt our sleep or resting time . The hotel breakfast was lovely with a selection of meats , cheese , rolls , croissants , eggs , fruit and also sausage and beans . The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and every morning there was a pot of coffee on the table and tea on request with fresh pure orange available . The hotel is approximatley 35 minutes away from Amsterdam central but to be honest it is an experiance seeing all different town in between the hotel and city center , one in particular was Amstelveen . The metro was about a ten minute walk from hotel which is a straight walk . For those who dont mind a little walk it lovely . Buying a GVB ticket was the best thing .. We payed 16 euros each but it gave us unlimited travel on the metro and trams so the metro from the hotel was fantastic cause we could go backwards and forwards as and when required and they run every couple of minutes . All said and done this hotel is lovely and this once again was not a disappointment

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Average hotel if you are in business trip, otherwise is not well connected. I wanted to have dinner outside, and only one restaurant was outside, managed by the same property (I guess), with acceptable food, but extremely slow service. Me and my friends spent 3 hours for the dinner.
Far from the airport or Amsterdam city center, were you need to spend 40 euros for any of those destinations.
If you are in business meetings around then it is OK.
The room was enough, but a bit low average, and the view through the balcony was awful, facing a yard with rests of wood and old machinery.
The bar in the hotel is very small, and very short in offering. This is very bad considering there is nothing around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llepafils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

It takes 10 minutes to walk to the metro and then 40 minutes to Amsterdam. No Airport Shuttle Service. Actually there is a bus stop right in front of the Hotel but who wants to go by bus? The Hotel is dark and old fashioned.
Our room was with balcony full of weeds and view over a construction area.
They say they are a business hotel but which business can be done without WiFi? There was the possibility to get acess but it was quite expensive.
We have been there with a large group so we got Breakfast in a special room. It was not good at all, only toast and few cheese and sausage. But we saw the breakfast room for the other guests where they offered a really good breakfast with croissants and other good stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I love this hotel. It´s perfect!! It´s so comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. (I miss that)
When I go to Amsterdam certainly I´ll stay in this hotel again! The room service is very good, the
employees are very polite and they speak English very well! And the city... It´s amazing!!! I wish to bach there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Feels good when you're there for business purposes, but only for that. All costs otherwise extra, but do exist. Internet, print service etc..
You live too far away from everything if you're not by car. It takes 10 minutes to walk to the metro and then 40 minutes to amsterdam. It takes 30 minutes to the airport. As staff said in turistonformationen at the airport "you live far away from amstedam" and that is true. In addition, I received incorrect information from hotel staff regarding 48 hour card for public transport "it does not exist anymore" - it is not correct - it is really still there.

Room Tip: Nice rooms, cleaning is perfect. Location is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmoustgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is a brown 70's building but the price was OK. Until I found out that they didn't have a shuttle from the airport. The taxi cost 40 Euro each way and 80 Euro is worth an extra $110.00 which is nearly the same as the room rate.
A luggage trolley at the front door gave us the clue that we carry our own luggage to the room.
Aha... 3 star service.
The staff at Schipol airport were smiling, friendly, helpful and we decided that we like Dutch people so when we went to the checkin counter and found an uptight young woman who tried to be nice but failed in her obviously stressful attempt, we wondered what was her problem.
Once in the room, I remembered that we needed a 7.30am taxi so went back to checkin.
The young lady told me that i should've done the booking when i checked in; in a manner of controlled hatred. What the hell?.
So i went to the little bar for a beer and found it full so i went to sit at a table and a waitress appeared and said "Don't sit there!!" . OOPS so I found a stool at the bar and when the waitress appeared, she asked me if I wanted xxxx beer or yyy beer which I didn't know about so I pointed to a light beer that another patron was drinking and said "One of those". She said "You can't have it!". OOPS. Turns out it was the shape of the glass so I said, I don't care. She scowled at me and complied. But all so angrily!.
Next morning we woke early and were moving about the room when I said "The wakeup call will ring about now, so don't get a fright" to my wife who was putting on shoes next to the phone.
No wakeup call!!. When we checked out, we mentioned this to the Receptionist who again showed the controlled fury and produced a book with our Room No, time of wakeup call and a signature. She had the signature so we were obviously lying. Horrible horrible horrible.
I've since seen that there is an airport hotel of low cost AT the airport where people transiting can stay without officially entering Holland. Next time... next time...
Oh, as we had 20 minutes before our taxi arrived, we went into the breakfast room for coffee and somethng quick. I went straight for the coffee pot but an older lady insisted that she serve it and chased us off to a table. She proceeded to fuss over us swiftly and efficiently and within a minute had produced a classy, tasteful breakfast on a platter and her young (smiling) assistant had produced the coffee and some extras. I love these women and wish them a long and happy life. But they cannot undo the anger of all of the other frustrated staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieRossWoyWoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amstelveen
3.0 mi away
ibis budget Amsterdam City South
1.7 mi away
Alp de Veenen Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
3.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Address: Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Motor Hotel located in suburban area, close to Aalsmeer flower auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelveen Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing