We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amstelveen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Certificate of Excellence
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“nice place!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice place to stay in Amsterdam. Excellent service, parking lot just round the corner,sufficiently quiet place! Big rooms with veeeery big bathroms! Staff very helpful & girls, who serve breakfast, look like models). Only 25 minutes to the Amsterdam's downtown(straight bus to the Museum Square) and one and half hour to the Sea. Next time in Amsterdam I will stay there without doubt. I recommend this nice hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    141
    53
    19
    12
See reviews for
47
91
17
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Ash Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty standard hotel in Amstelveen. The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is too hot and uncomfortable, yes you can adjust the radiator in the room but all areas are just uncomfortable. Rooms are very roomy and the beds are comfortable.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great Hotel, nice and quite, big rooms with very large bathrooms and separate loo.

If I had one Niggle the "cooked " part of the breakfast buffet not to good. But the rest of the buffet was great lots of choice.

Great staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A long way out of Amsterdam if that is where you are visiting but easy to get to bus stop right outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and once again we were not disappointed . The staff were very friendly the room was massive (have done another review last year with pictures ) . This time we were placed at the front of the hotel with a balcony . The hotel is on a main road but to be honest it did not bother or interupt our sleep or resting time . The hotel breakfast was lovely with a selection of meats , cheese , rolls , croissants , eggs , fruit and also sausage and beans . The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and every morning there was a pot of coffee on the table and tea on request with fresh pure orange available . The hotel is approximatley 35 minutes away from Amsterdam central but to be honest it is an experiance seeing all different town in between the hotel and city center , one in particular was Amstelveen . The metro was about a ten minute walk from hotel which is a straight walk . For those who dont mind a little walk it lovely . Buying a GVB ticket was the best thing .. We payed 16 euros each but it gave us unlimited travel on the metro and trams so the metro from the hotel was fantastic cause we could go backwards and forwards as and when required and they run every couple of minutes . All said and done this hotel is lovely and this once again was not a disappointment

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Average hotel if you are in business trip, otherwise is not well connected. I wanted to have dinner outside, and only one restaurant was outside, managed by the same property (I guess), with acceptable food, but extremely slow service. Me and my friends spent 3 hours for the dinner.
Far from the airport or Amsterdam city center, were you need to spend 40 euros for any of those destinations.
If you are in business meetings around then it is OK.
The room was enough, but a bit low average, and the view through the balcony was awful, facing a yard with rests of wood and old machinery.
The bar in the hotel is very small, and very short in offering. This is very bad considering there is nothing around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

It takes 10 minutes to walk to the metro and then 40 minutes to Amsterdam. No Airport Shuttle Service. Actually there is a bus stop right in front of the Hotel but who wants to go by bus? The Hotel is dark and old fashioned.
Our room was with balcony full of weeds and view over a construction area.
They say they are a business hotel but which business can be done without WiFi? There was the possibility to get acess but it was quite expensive.
We have been there with a large group so we got Breakfast in a special room. It was not good at all, only toast and few cheese and sausage. But we saw the breakfast room for the other guests where they offered a really good breakfast with croissants and other good stuff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidente Prudente, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I love this hotel. It´s perfect!! It´s so comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. (I miss that)
When I go to Amsterdam certainly I´ll stay in this hotel again! The room service is very good, the
employees are very polite and they speak English very well! And the city... It´s amazing!!! I wish to bach there!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amstelveen
3.0 mi away
ibis budget Amsterdam City South
1.7 mi away
Alp de Veenen Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
4.4 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,430 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amstelveen

Property: Grand Hotel Amstelveen
Address: Bovenkerkerweg 81, 1187 XC, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amstelveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amstelveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Motor Hotel located in suburban area, close to Aalsmeer flower auction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelveen Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing